We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest place on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Friendliest place on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 days in Victoria for our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier with the service at Marco Polo. From planning out the day, sightseeing ideas, places to eat and personalized service it made our honeymoon perfect. The innkeepers are friendly and always strive to make your stay one you will never forget, Liam even drove us to a few places so we wouldn't have to spend money on a cab or wait for one. Located in a quiet neighborhood, it's only a 10$ cab ride from downtown. My wife and I plan on going back for every anniversary!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
175
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary by treating ourselves to 2 nights at the Villa Marco Polo Inn B&B in Victoria.

Check in is between 3pm - 5pm but since it was the long weekend we had made reservations for an earlier ferry from the mainland. We were going to park at the harbour and explore until we could check in. While on the ferry I received a phone call on my cell from Liam (one of the owners of the B&B) who, after finding out we were on the ferry, said that our room is ready and we could head straight over.

Once we arrived at the B&B, we were very impressed with the beautiful exterior of the home. Inside is as equally impressive with period furniture and decorations. Very high end and classy yet very homey and comfortable. Liam is a very friendly, professional and unobtrusive host.. Like an old friend welcoming you into his home like a valued houseguest. He will offer suggestions on what to see and where to eat etc.

We stayed in the Alexandria room. Like the rest of the house it is very tastefully decorated and has a fireplace, lovely sitting area and a beautiful bathroom complete with a two person jetted soaker tub and separate shower. The room was spotlessly clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Breakfast is served with the other guests around a large table in a room overlooking the beautiful garden. At first I was a bit apprehensive with sitting with everyone else as I am a bit on the shy side but that quickly subsided as everyone was very friendly and it was really neat to chat with guests from different parts of the world while we waited for the next course to be served. We even got travel tips from another guest for another trip we are planning in the near future. The food was absolutely delicious and made by a very talented chef.

Check out was quick and smooth and left us plenty of time to get to our ferry.

We cannot wait to go back to Victoria so we can stay at the Villa Marco Polo Inn again. This is the perfect place to go for a little quiet time. Thank you, Liam, and the rest of the staff for the amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelingfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We're at the Villa Marco Polo for perhaps the 15th time. As always, the setting is exquisite, the old mansion building glorious, the rooms impeccable, the grounds spectacular, the breakfast varied and interesting, the hosts welcoming and helpful. We're B&B veterans and this is simply the best one we know.
Sydney and Don Braid,
Calgary

Room Tip: They're all nice, but the Persia is our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Marco Polo for the following reasons...

1. Very welcoming and yet unobtrusive hosts with fabulous local knowledge

2. Stunning rooms with every thing you could wish for

3. Delicious, interesting, enormous breakfasts served round a communal table where you can meet really fascinating fellow travellers!!!!

Prospective guests should note it is a 30 minute walk/10 minute drive from the "city centre". We think this was a bonus as the villa was blissfully peaceful and we thoroughly enjoyed our walks. Recommend very strongly!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

A night at the Villa Marco Pollo was gifted to my husband and I even though we live in Victoria (Colwood) and it was a an utmost wonderful vacation away from home! We were greeted with the most charming hospitality and promptly cared for the entire evening we were at the villa. The room we stayed in was decorated so romantically stunning you felt as if you were staying in a far far away land long from any stress or everyday headaches. We immersed ourselves in the decor, our comfy robes, the outstandingly delicious breakfast, and a stroll through the quaint but robust gardens of the late Spring season We enjoyed every minute of our romantic Victorian stay-cation and would recommend other locals or tourists take a night to themselves and embrace the same wonderful experience we had in our own city, a pleasantly historic area that they may have not had the chance to yet enjoy. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!!

Room Tip: we were given a choice of rooms at the time we stayed as they were vacant and you wouldn't be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

The villa is beautiful...the gardens, the common areas and the suites....amazing. Our suite was so lovely. The beds are extremely comfortable and luxurious. Every detail was perfect....from the lovely robes to the turn-down service complete with delicious chocolates on our pillows...every thoughtful touch made our experience so special. By far, Villa Marco Polo exceeded our expectations. The neighborhood is quiet and beautiful and it is only a short drive to the center of downtown Victoria. Liam and the staff were so helpful to suggest and arrange any special activites such as whale watching or tours of Vancouver Island. Give it a try and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the Villa Marco Polo Inn for a romantic Valentine's Day getaway. The inn is beautifully decorated and located in a quiet residential area surrounded by other historical homes.

The breakfasts were absolutely amazing and our host was so service-oriented! Breakfast is usually served at a large dining room table with other guests but there was another couple who were quite unpleasant. Our host quietly addressed the issue by allowing us to eat at a table for two in the breakfast room. He also packed us a breakfast-to-go on our last day since we were leaving early to catch a flight.

The location of the inn is perfect for visiting downtown Victoria or exploring the surrounding area. There are also pleasant common areas including an upstairs lounge with complimentary brandy!

We would definitely stay at the inn again and would highly recommend it to other travellers. Just remember to be nice to your fellow guests!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SansSouci11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Beaconsfield Inn
#9 of 93 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marco Polo Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing