We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, NS
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I recently had the chance to stay at the Villa Marco Polo for my Brother's wedding and I couldn't have ask for anything better. Never before have I stayed somewhere so welcoming and friendly. The people and the place itself made this special event perfect!

I hope I have the chance to return to this wonderful place often. The food, the service, and the rooms are some of the best I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy!

  • Liked — The home and the service were wonderful. They were so friendly and accommodating.
  • Disliked — The inn keeper - he truly new what good service and great hospitality meant. I felt like I was staying with a friend.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigskysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
183
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

My husband and I had an enjoyable stay at the Villa Marco Polo. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, although it was unfortunately not cleaned at all during our 3-day stay, which is not what I would expect from a room that costs $325/night.
The breakfasts were good, but not great. We had one great breakfast out of the three, but found the others mediocre, and pretentious --- somewhat tasty, but suspiciously similar to the Barefoot Contessa line, and minimal in size.
The grounds are beautiful and provide for a very relaxing afternoon of reading. Liam is very kind and accommodating, happy to offer any suggestions as well as to make restaurant reservations for you in advance.
The bottom line is that it is a very nice b&b, but not worthy of its price point. If you are looking for value, there are many fantastic b&b's in the Victoria area that offer a greater value.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — our room was never cleaned, no printer
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank traveler0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Spacious, beautifully decorated themed rooms are featured at the Marco Polo Villa, a former mansion. Each room has a king-size bed, an airy , light sitting area, and its own bathroom with shower and spa tub with heated tile floors!

Service was excellent, and the rooms spotlessly clean. Our sumptuous three-course breakfast was beautifully prepared and served in the sunken indoor garden-view dining area.

The Villa is a scenic 25-minute walk through one the more upscale neighbourboods of Victoria to its downtown, or just a 10-minute drive. We enjoyed a short jaunt and visit to the very nearby tourist attractions: the Victoria Art Gallery and the famed Craigderroch Castle as well as working off breakfast with a brisk walk to the many attractions in downtown Victoria.

We also indulged in his and her massages in the Villa's newly renovated attic spa area. The high setting of the spa afforded us a lovely view of Juan de Fuca Strait to the towering mountains of the Olympic Peninsula. The Villa's expansive gardens are a wonderful place to relax and have a cool drink on a hot summer day especially after a long return walk to the downtown!

We had a splendid stay at this lovely B&B and strongly recommend it for a luxurious and restful visit to Victoria.

  • Liked — Quiet luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

We arrived to fresh baked orange polenta sugar cookies and Persian Tea.....our dinner reservations were arranged and our soaker tub filled....as we requested in an email earlier.
A slice of Heaven in Victoria!
Our breakast the foollowing morning was amazing, and my husband cooks! Fresh blened tropical smoothies, hand prepared fresh fruit. Parmesan and procuitto souffle and candied fench toast....
The new spa on the top floor is going to be a total pamper palace oolala simply devine, I can't wait to return!!

  • Liked — service, food, rooms
  • Disliked — having to leave the Villa!!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dteatreauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2007

The food is delicious and a work of art. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are especially comfortable. From the library, to the other common areas and the grounds we found rest in an aesthetically pleasing environment. The Villa Marco Polo is one of the finest Bed and Breakfast establishments we can imagine.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jdconsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We fell in love with the inn on their website, and found the reality even better. The house and grounds are gorgeous, our room was even more beautiful than the photos online.....comfortable, spacious and spotless.
Breakfast was divine. Each morning the guests would happily compare notes on their days activities and dining experiences, most of which were arranged or suggested by Eliza and Liam.
The perfect place to stay in Victoria!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank gplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
446 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We have stayed at many B and Bs throughout the world and rank Marco Polo among the very best. To begin, the friendly staff helped us with all restaurant reservations, featuring only local places of high quality and reasonable prices. The inn itself was spectacular. Every detail finished to an impeccable standard. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. The mattress was firm and very comfortable. Common areas were spacious and well appointed. Outside featured a well attended garden. Breakfast could not have been better. Each course prepared and presented to perfection.... an absolute delicacy each time. We traditionally have used Karen Brown as a source for our accomodations. This is one she (missed and) would love.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marco Polo Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing