We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Marco Polo Inn
Ranked #6 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington
1 review
“Winter Sunshine”
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Ah, Villa Marco Polo a warm, inviting, comfortable retreat.
This is my fourth visit to the Villa, and my first mid-winter stay. Who would have thought that I could come north from Washington state leaving rain and fog to find brilliant sunshine warming the rich earth-tones of the sumptuous interior of Villa Marco Polo?
The garden is neat and tidy for the winter; a few bulbs are just showing, and a splash of color appears here and there from sweet primroses in bloom. Interesting geometric shapes of thin-as-glass ice shimmer in the reflection pool, and the gerry oak trees that anchor the edges of the property, reveal their beautiful, strong branch structure which frames the water views from the Villa's upstairs suites.
What a wonderful place for my mid-winter respite! I could hardly tear myself away from the penthouse spa area; distant views of the Olympic Peninsula, a warm fire, and a window seat perfect for curling up with a book. Why leave? I did get out, however, because the walking, jogging and exploring in the old neighborhoods is always fun, and the downtown is so accessible-- and, as always, I enjoyed delicious, thoughtfully prepared food both at the Villa and in town. The host, Liam, has great suggestions for all outings and dinings!
If you can get away this winter, I would highly recommend the Villa Marco Polo as the perfect spot.

  • Liked — Location, ambience, Inn keepers
  • Disliked — too short of a stay
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonHelianthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
183
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2008

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon here and our stay was more than I ever could imagined. We felt so welcomed and pampered. The room was beautiful and had fresh flowers that smelled wonderful. The breakfast each morning was quite an event and some of the best food I've ever had; they were even able to accommodate my gluten free needs. The villa and grounds are amazing; it is located outside of the downtown area in a nice residential neighborhood.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jengro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Villa Marco Polo was, hands down, the most wonderful place we've ever stayed. Every detail was perfect, from our lovely room (the Zanzibar) with it's sumptuous bed, warm fireplace and a bathroom that made me feel like I'd stepped into a Victorian drawing room to the beautiful common areas and lovely garden. The library was warm and cozy and had the most comfortable couch I've ever sat on. The living room, with it's crackling fire and soft lighting, was just as inviting. The breakfasts were delicious, my favorite being the salmon and avocado benedict. Liam, our host, was helpful and kind. When we'd get back from a day of sightseeing, we'd come in to soft lighting, music and homemade cookies and tea waiting for us in the living room. It was beyond luxurious. Two days definitely wasn't enough so we'll be back soon.

  • Liked — Our room, the library, the breakfasts, the neighborhood
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kate1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the beautiful and luxurious Villa Marco Polo Inn. Eliza and Liam were gracious, welcoming and thoroughly remarkable hosts. We were greeted with delicious tea and cookies in the magnificent livingroom, and felt immediately spoiled!
We stayed in the Alexandria Room, and were pampered like royalty. Our room, like the entire inn, was magnificently decorated. There was great attention to detail. Lovely fresh flowers adorned our room as well as other rooms throughout the villa. The outside gardens were as impeccably designed as the interior of the inn.
During our stay, Liam arranged dinner reservations, and helped us with any questions we had about our plans in Victoria. He even drove us to our whale watching excursion early in the morning! Consideration was given to our likes and dislikes to accommodate our breakfast choices. Eliza prepared the most elegant, creative and delicious breakfasts! They were a visual and culinary treat. The breakfast room was elegant and cozy, with lots of light.
We were spoiled with sherry in the evening, as well as decadent chocolates placed elegantly on our turned down bed. We had a refrigerator with cold drinks and a computer in the library at our disposal.
Eliza and Liam were fantastic hosts, who readily extended their friendship and hospitality to us. We had difficulty leaving the beautiful inn and our warm hosts.

  • Liked — Magnificent inn, fantastic hosts
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Samos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I recently had the chance to stay at the Villa Marco Polo for my Brother's wedding and I couldn't have ask for anything better. Never before have I stayed somewhere so welcoming and friendly. The people and the place itself made this special event perfect!

I hope I have the chance to return to this wonderful place often. The food, the service, and the rooms are some of the best I have ever had the pleasure to enjoy!

  • Liked — The home and the service were wonderful. They were so friendly and accommodating.
  • Disliked — The inn keeper - he truly new what good service and great hospitality meant. I felt like I was staying with a friend.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bigskysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

My husband and I had an enjoyable stay at the Villa Marco Polo. Our room was absolutely gorgeous, although it was unfortunately not cleaned at all during our 3-day stay, which is not what I would expect from a room that costs $325/night.
The breakfasts were good, but not great. We had one great breakfast out of the three, but found the others mediocre, and pretentious --- somewhat tasty, but suspiciously similar to the Barefoot Contessa line, and minimal in size.
The grounds are beautiful and provide for a very relaxing afternoon of reading. Liam is very kind and accommodating, happy to offer any suggestions as well as to make restaurant reservations for you in advance.
The bottom line is that it is a very nice b&b, but not worthy of its price point. If you are looking for value, there are many fantastic b&b's in the Victoria area that offer a greater value.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — our room was never cleaned, no printer
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank traveler0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Spacious, beautifully decorated themed rooms are featured at the Marco Polo Villa, a former mansion. Each room has a king-size bed, an airy , light sitting area, and its own bathroom with shower and spa tub with heated tile floors!

Service was excellent, and the rooms spotlessly clean. Our sumptuous three-course breakfast was beautifully prepared and served in the sunken indoor garden-view dining area.

The Villa is a scenic 25-minute walk through one the more upscale neighbourboods of Victoria to its downtown, or just a 10-minute drive. We enjoyed a short jaunt and visit to the very nearby tourist attractions: the Victoria Art Gallery and the famed Craigderroch Castle as well as working off breakfast with a brisk walk to the many attractions in downtown Victoria.

We also indulged in his and her massages in the Villa's newly renovated attic spa area. The high setting of the spa afforded us a lovely view of Juan de Fuca Strait to the towering mountains of the Olympic Peninsula. The Villa's expansive gardens are a wonderful place to relax and have a cool drink on a hot summer day especially after a long return walk to the downtown!

We had a splendid stay at this lovely B&B and strongly recommend it for a luxurious and restful visit to Victoria.

  • Liked — Quiet luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OneWayVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,179 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Property: Villa Marco Polo Inn
Address: 1524 Shasta Pl, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Marco Polo Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing