We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating our Anniversary in BC's Capital at Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa was a Brilliant Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Celebrating our Anniversary in BC's Capital at Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa was a Brilliant Choice!”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

From the moment we arrived we were in Heaven and the Staff were certainly Angels! As we were celebrating our 13 th Anniversary, the Staff took it upon themselves to Surprise us with a Complimentary Bottle of Red Wine with a Card of Congratulations and a Flower around the neck of the bottle. It was exquisite and we were very grateful for their thoughtfulness. The Parkside Victoria Resort and Spa is perfectly located near the Attractions and fantastic Treks along the water's edge. The Ozonated Pool and Hot Tub coupled with the Resort's in house Theatre we're an Epic ending to each day. Hat's off to Exemplary Customer Service Team an Resort Suites that were spotless and all inclusive - we'll definitely be back!

~ Jay & Shelley

Room Tip: The 6th Floor in Building A has Fantastic Views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFunologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    476
    129
    71
    47
See reviews for
767
677
60
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I read the other comments and must agree with most of the "funny" things in nthe hotel. But, over-all Man, what a pleasure to stay at.

The wonderful things I liked:
* HUGE 25 metre pool,
* Well stocked fitness,
* A hotel that takes an interest in the environment "LEED"
* 2 electric fire-places to make you feel cozy and warm
* 2 nice sized closets
* Love the way they always had LOTS of towels. Maybe 11??? They roll and store them in the bathroom, and artistically put out others. I Love towels, And, usually at a hotel, I'm ringing for more. But, here it was heaven. And, they had places to hang them so you don't have to send them to the laundry every day. Most hotels say "put them in the bath if you want a new one" - but, I find that if you are a few people, there isn't enough hanging spots. So, the towels get mixed up and you just put them in the laundry. Here, there are quite a few towel racks and other places to actually hang your towel.
* All the furnishing, kitchen equipment were like new and really quite luxurious
Sitting down at the 6 person table, opening my stainless steel fridge, cooking in the beatiful oven or on the stove, watching my 42' TV, beautiful hardwood or tile floors (different sections)
* Location... 10 minuts walk to Beacon Hill Park, 10 minutes to Warf street and Government Street and all the wonderful dining and other experiences there.
* Loved the water-fall and landscaping. It was just very relaxing.

It was a pleasure to come "home" to.

There were some small frustrations that I specifically agree with - so, if these are deal breakers for you, find another hotel.
* There is noise from the adjoining rooms. But, in the 8 weeks, there was only 1 day that there was a family next door with a crying baby that bothered me - And, you couldn't hear it in the bedroom (just the living room... which has the pull-out couch).
* The kitchen is well equiped. But, there is no space for personal items that you buy. The counter was large enough. I just put stuff there.
* It is weird that the "ensuite" bathroom doesn't have a door and only has a soaker tub. If you are staying with a partner, you can't really use the ensuite in the middle of the night. Putting the lights on would wake them.. aNd, of course, the flush .... So, really, it is just a 1 bathroom place with another interesting fixture in the bedroom!!! the 2nd toilet does come in handy after a hearty meal :-).
* The washer / dryer does take some time. And, is small. But, I got into a routine of 1 "light", 1 "dark" alternating days and it worked OK.
* The stainless steel fridge has the best insulation seel I have ever seen and is sometimes impossible to open. I used to put a small coin or a paper-towel in the door so that it wouldn't seal completely.
* No air conditioning. But, is constructed to allow for breezes in the room. I'm not sure how this will be in the summer. It was OK in the spring except when it was really windy- and then was really noisy from the breeze. To me, that was kind-of fun. To others???
* Only a small cafe in the hotel and it isn't open for dinner all the time.
* SPA was very nice - but, only open during businenss hours.

Oh, and on a final note, the staff is GREAT. They are always smiling and try their best (usually successfully) to be as helpful as possible.

Thanks Parkside. I loved my stay. Special commendations to Joseph, Ben, and Nathan.

Oh, and my favourite rooms? The B Tower, Room 203, 303, 403, 503.

It is a "smaller" unit and as such does not have a toilet (only the soaker tub) in the ensuite. Interestingly, though, they then connect the "ensuite" to the other bathroom and have a sliding door in between. i.e. 2 doors into the bathroom.. 1 from the bedroom, and 1 from the living room. So, this is great. You can get to the bathroom privately from teh master bedroom and the living room. And, you have a door for privacy from the master bedroom. It is also a corner lot and has a slightly larger balcony. And, I love the view of St. Anne's Academy.

Room Tip: The B tower, Room 203, 303, 403, 503...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I booked this hotel in a roulette, so didn't know until after I had paid where I was staying. What a great surprise. This place is great. The rooms are huge and nice. The kitchen is a bonus. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

This was a nice, new place...we actually got a deal -2 nights for less than 80bucks altogether...so that being said, it was a sweet deal! Nice, clean, new rooms; big tvs; decent pool & hot tub; private movie theatre; decent locations - walked to many places; There were a few cons: I did not like having to pay 15$ a night for parking and there were no other options...also,like someone else said, the washer/dryer is one machine & it SUCKS! It took over 5 hours to wash/dry a small load with probably only like 10 items...you also can not open the dryer right away - you physically can't open it until about 15 minutes after it stops, which was a pain in the butt; The rooms have a connecting door (to another suite - which is of course locked) but the sound was awful...very noisy. Also you have to buy laundry soap - it wasn't expensive but it was a 1st for us, usually resorts/condos like that supply it.
Anyway overall, it was good. I wouldn't stay here again if it cost a ton of money. We got such a good deal so if I got that again, I'd stay or if we could use our points timeshare I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canEHdiancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The suite we stayed in was all we expected, very clean and was well equipped with stove, dishwasher, microwave, etc. Location is fantastic, within walking distance to many attractions. Amenities are great, pool is good for kids (and adults), fitness centre is well equipped, private theatre, hot tub, good service. They really need to get a restaurant within the hotel, that would be ideal. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely go back myself.
One thing I would say is that the suites that face out to the street can be quite noisy, lots of traffic, you hear the buses at 5:30am, even with all the windows closed and curtains drawn. Also, at checkout they told us that there is an extra $150 added on to the bill for incidentals, ie for damage, missing towels, broken items, of course this is refundable after they check the suite but this should be disclosed at check in not check out. However, the guest is not their to check the suite, what if the cleaning service breaks something, who gets charged, the guest??

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreyno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Thank you for offering your feedback. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured that the $150 credit card pre-authorization at check-in is not a damage deposit (Parkside does not take damage deposits). A standard practice in all hotels, the pre-authorization is to ensure that the guest has funds to cover their room nights plus any room charges such as spa treatments. We have discussed this with our front desk team to ensure that they are clearly communicating the nature of the pre-authorization.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Many of the reviewers here refer to this as a hotel but that is not really what it is; it is an RCI affiliated resort time share condominium establishment that sells quarter shares and rents by the night to cover costs. My family and I are very familiar with Aviawest the parent company and have been very pleased with the resort in Parkville called Pacific Shores. This resort falls far short of Gold Crown standard as far as we are concerned. If you are only renting for a day or two then it is probably fine but for a week or longer it leaves much to be desired. Firstly the one bed units are very small and cramped. The kitchen has very little storage space and is equipped only minimally missing key items like a collander etc. The combination washer/dryer takes many hours to complete its cycle and leaves clothes soaking wet. The fridge is the size of a trailer fridge...seriously we have never seen this anywhere! The main bedroom has a so called on suite that has no door but a partition screen that leaves the whole area open with no privacy not even to the toilet and there is no shower in there...just a small heritage style claw foot type tub. There is a small shower in the other bath next to the kitchen but interestingly there was no fan in either bath. There are two tvs in the unit but neither can play a DVD as they have no player attached and they have virtually no access to inputs for which to attach one. We tried using the wireless internet to connect with a WII consol to netflix but the Wi Fi would not allow access. Speaking of internet, it requires constant login for security reasons I suppose. Every other resort we have stayed at has a carpet sweeper for self cleaning but this one does not meaning that your carpet gets filthy by the end of the week and it also means more wear and tear that will drive up maintainence fees in the long run. The gas fireplaces are not really...they are some kind of electric fake fires that give off heat but in our unit the one in the main bedroom does not work at all. The Pool area is a real dissappointment. It consists of a large hot tub that has very little jet power and is chlorinated to the point where prolonged exposure dries your skin out. The pool has no deep end but instead is an Olympic type pool that is very good for swimming lengths if no one is in it. For much of the time we were here the pool was being used by a local triatholon team that was training..yes thats right...the pool was roped off much of the time so that an outside group had control of it and our kids were denied the pleasure of its use...this alone is atrocious and Aviawest should be ashamed.

On the positive side, this resort has a major location advantage and is close to all the downtown amenities. We feel that the company is relying on this feature and has greatly neglected many other aspects, many of which are small, some which are not which make this resort sub-standard by Gold Crown standards. It is a very nice building with otherwise high end amenities, but some of the shortcoming I have listed really rob from the potential of the place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaimofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2011
Dear Nanaimo Four,

We value the feedback from all our guests and are disappointed to learn of your experience. Please allow us to comment on some of the features highlighted in your review.

To begin, Parkside is Aviawest's newest hotel property. It operates as a hotel and allots suites to RCI while offering second home real estate options. As a result, all suites are more spacious than standard hotel rooms and include full kitchens or convenience kitchens, depending on the style of suite. To offer a comparison: the smallest suite at Parkside is 516 sq-ft; meanwhile, most standard hotel rooms in downtown Victoria are about 375 sq-ft.

While our Luxury Suites and Two-Bedroom Deluxe Suites feature full kitchens with full-sized fridges, our Deluxe Suites, which you rented, feature convenience kitchens, including a two-burner cooktop, microwave, dishwasher, and apartment-sized fridge.

All suites include washer/dryer combination machines. We realize that they do take time to get accustomed to because they are environmentally-friendly machines designed to take small loads and incorporate hang-drying partway through the dry cycle. All machines include instructions informing guests of the most efficient methods of use. Full instructions are also included in the Guest Directory.

The complimentary Internet service does indeed require guests to login for security purposes.

We do not provide carpet cleaners in the rooms because we offer housekeeping. Guests booking through RCI receive a mid-week clean and can request housekeeping at any time. Guests who did not book through RCI receive daily housekeeping.

We assure you that our pool and hot tub, which are both ozonated, are not over-chlorinated. Ozonation allows Parkside to use the minimum amount of chlorine required by city by-laws. We apologize that you received limited access to the pool. Parkside sponsors two local swim groups as part of our community social responsibility program. Most of their sessions are in the early morning hours, but there are a couple of weekly sessions that take place during more popular times in the evening. A schedule is posted in all elevators and guests are welcome to join the swims sessions and learn techniques from the coaches. Starting in May, with the beginning of warmer spring weather, the swim teams will be moving their training sessions to local lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Parkside has become our home away from home. We moved away from Victoria a year ago, but with family and business still in town we return frequently. Park side was recommended to us, and have been so impressed we highly recommend it to any traveler to Victoria. Great value, and being on the edge of the downtown core, it's not as noisy as other places we have stayed. Situated across from st ann's academy makes it quite pleasant.

We have stayed in the one and two bedroom units, and in both towers A and B. Great for business and family. Quite nice to have guest over if needed. Well equipped to feed yourself if you want to eat in for any meal.

We will be back !

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing