We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$484
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,247)
Filter reviews
2,247 results
Traveller rating
1,473
512
137
75
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,473
512
137
75
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondwashing machinerooftop gardenfull kitchenluxury suiteliving roombc ferriesbeautiful hotelsoaker tubheated floorshome away from homedowntown victoriawithin walking distanceflat screengreat amenitiesbeacon hill parkcorner suite
Filter
Updating list...
2,161 - 2,166 of 2,247 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Pros: Great location, close to shops, restaurants, inner harbour, across from a park with lots of trees (hence the name, Parkside). Really nice lobby with comfy sofas, beautiful west coast artwork and an atrium with fountain/pond. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were great. I booked a one bedroom suite which came with a full kitchen (granite and stainless) and two bathrooms. Nice sized sitting area. The hotel is new, so everything is still very nice. Really liked the soaker tub. Bed was very comfortable. The room is decorated in a contemporary yet warm manner. The colors soft and the finishes higher end. The coffee shop off of the lobby, Cafe Fantastico was nice and usually quite busy. Awesome espresso drinks! I had two spa treatments at the Aquaterra Spa and was very happy with them. There is also a nice serenity room with tea in the spa. There is an indoor pool with hot tub and a weight room. I didn't go swimming, but it looked to be a fair size. Free wireless internet. Upon completeing their online survey while at the hotel, I received a coupon for $25.00 of spa services. All around a good stay, I'll be back.
Cons:
The fireplace in the sitting area kept coming on. I didn't complain about it during my stay as I wasn't there for long and I was able to cool room down enough by opening a window. I did advise he hotel of the issue during check out. The shower is located in the bathroom off of the kitchen and the tub is in the ensuite. This was a rather awkward configuration which would have been resolved with a door attaching to the ensuite. The ensuite is also not private at all, with a piece of frosted class partically separating the bedroom from it. I found my room to be a bit noisy as well, pipes banging occassionally.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel was neat and clean. We had taken 2 rooms each with a kitchenette, washing machine and a ironing board. It is closer to the Victoria harbour and the Parliament, Museum. Although it was raining we had a good time. The hotel had given ground floor to a waffle making company who was selling waffles for charity on the weekend we visited it. The room was big and spacious with a huge bed and a fire place. It also was screening some movie in the cultural room however we did not see it

Would definitely recommend it because of its proximity to the places of visit

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Givanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed in A310, a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo with another couple. The open concept living room, dining room and kitchen were very nice and well appointed. There was a very small balcony just off the hallway to the bedrooms that held 2 chairs and a small table. Rather useless considering the slant of the balcony. The one bedroom had its own ensuite, the other bedroom had a bathroom just down the hallway. The kingsize beds were very comfortable. We used the bedroom with the ensuite; it was very large, BUT there was no door to cordone it off from the bedroom and any noise here echoed loudly! It also held a beautiful free standing tub, but the only shower here was a retractable one built into the tub; ended up with water all over the floor and walls. The vanities in each bathroom were almost completely taken up by the vessel sink and there was absolutely no room to put anything on the vanity or below it. Nice heated tile floors in the bathrooms. There was a great view of the inner courtyard from our bedroom window and the drapes did a great job of darkening the room, but it was either totally dark with the drapes closed or completely lite up with the drapes open - no sheers for privacy.So although the unit looked great, parts of it were very impractical.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchtravellers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I travelled to Victoria with my daughter, her husband and little boy. They had a large suite and I had an adjoining smaller suite (although it was much larger than most). The rooms were beautiful and so spacious. The beds very comfortable and sleep was sound with not much traffic noise with the windows shut. We had everything we needed for our stay - full kitchen and laundry facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was in an excellent location.
My only negative comment is that a rug in the smaller suite was quite stained which seemed very out of keeping with the rest of the hotel.
Overall this is top quality accommodation at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funtimes0652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I recently stayed at the hotel for a week with my family.
First off, the hotel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are great for long term stays.
I used the weight room and pool often during my stay and really enjoyed it. The complimentary movie theatre was a nice feature that our family enjoyed as well.
A few things i have issues with:

-The master bedroom doesn't have a door separating the sleeping area from the washroom. Unfortunately for us, we like privacy when we have a bowel movement. Even during the night when we have to relieve ourselves our bedroom-washroom is rendered useless.

- The washrooms do not have fans. Not that big of a deal, but its nice to have a fan to drown out the noise being made in the washroom as well as get rid of the stink created during/after you are done your business. Since the kitchen is located immediately outside of the common washroom, it makes you want to refrain from relieving yourself while people are around that area.

- The under ground parking is a nice feature for the hotel. Unfortunately, it is $15/day +hst extra for a parking stall. Kind of annoying when guests at a hotel have to pay for parking, and according to the front desk employee, the staff even has to pay for parking.

- While on the parking note, the second group of people that came with us had an oversized vehicle. (Too large for the underground parking). When asked what we should do about it, we were directed to a parking-lot that was located 4 blocks away.
That wasn't so much a problem, the problem was the fact that we could only purchase 12 hours of parking in advance from the time you purchase the ticket. So if you decided to update your parking after dinner (about 7pm), you would have to ensure you are there to update it again at 7am. It wasn't until a few days later that we found out from the front desk that we could purchase 2 X 12 hour tickets and be good for 24 hours.

- Lastly, The second last night we were at the hotel, we had a large issue with the staff.
After a nice evening swim, about 10-15 minutes before the facility closed we had an incident that left a foul taste in our mouth.
A teenage girl who is part of our family was showering off in the change room after her swim, while a mid twenty year old male entered and began folding/replacing towels in the change room. When asked "why the hell don't you close the washroom off while YOU are in the female change room/ ask if anyone is in the change room / wait until the pool is closed to do the damn towel folding" he responded " I do what i'm told" or something similar to those words. This response wasn't to our liking. The under age female was already in the shower when the discovery of the man was made. Fortunately the other family members who entered the washroom shortly after were the ones to confront the male. Upon speaking with night staff supervisor, we were informed that the towel boy had to complete his job before his shift ended (i guess at 10pm). The supervisor wasn't very welcoming of the criticism to say the least. He was extremely arrogant and dismissive of our complaint. For no reason at all should a male be inside the females change room during operating hours without any warning. Since this response wasn't to our liking as well, we were told that the supervisor would contact management the following day to get back to us. Nothing progressed from that.

All in all, we had an enjoyable stay. A few things could be done to make the experience more appealing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shimanous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear Shimanous,

I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed Parkside and its amenities. I'd like to take a moment to address your feedback.

All suite washrooms feature an air circulation system, which runs permanently. This system is designed to reduce the noise of traditional fans, which are often very loud. Indeed, there are pros and cons to using a fan with a lower volume.

Parkside charges $15 for parking, as do all hotels in Victoria's downtown. However, we've tried to keep the cost of parking reasonable. The $15 is lower than most hotel parking fees, some of which reach $30 per night.

We are extremely embarrassed about the change room episode. I have addressed this with the executive housekeeper, as this should never happen. I have also addressed this with our supervisor to ensure it never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews