We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean. No in-room laundry (contrary to room description)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed here for three nights in July 2011. We loved the bright spacious apartment-style rooms and luxurious en suite bath in our 1-bedroom, 2 bath suite. The hotel is quite new and very clean.

Other strong points: central location, large swimming pool, spa on site, gold fish ponds (kid vote), balcony with table and chairs, nice linens.

Interesting: this building sells itself as green. This means that most cooling is by opening your window. This was fine during the day, but our light sleeper found vehicle noise to be an issue at bedtime.

Downsides: Paying $15/day parking. Hot tub was broken. There was no laundry in our room, despite the fact it was advertised as part of the room specifications. When I brought it up at check out, the reply was "YOU should have told us when you checked in if it was important to you." I thought this was rude and out of line considering it is part of the room description, not a special request on my part. So if it's important to you....

Room Tip: Confirm room specificiations at check in. Another guest booking last minute on HotWire paid half wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShinyHappy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

We apologize that your suite did not have a washer/dryer as expected and you were not notified during check-in. While we usually have machines in all suites, some of our washer/dryers were undergoing necessary repairs during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,043 - 2,049 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very nice, luxurious rooms. Full kitchen and within walking distance to all of Victoria's attractions. I always book through expedia and get a lower price for the rooms. We have stayed here 3 times, and it is great! Nice big pool and a spa there as well. Note parking is $15 a day.

Room Tip: I like to book the luxury rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famiyoffour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We just arrived home after a wonderful stay at the Parkside Victoria Resort and Spa. It is a beautiful hotel with all of the amenities needed for a perfect family vacation. It is located in the centre of the downtown core and is only a walk away from the harbour front. We went during the Busker Festival, which was highly entertaining.

We stayed at the hotel with our two boys ages 21/2 and 15 months. We did not ask for a crib when checking in, so when we called at 8pm when we were putting the kids to bed, all of the cribs were already taken. I advise you to request a crib upon booking or when you arrive.

All in all, it was great and we would love to go back if the opportunity arises!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank canadasweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Usually out of my budget range this one off splurge was well worth it. Amazing place with a balcony & terrace garden. For a one bedroom suite 2 bathrooms is overkill but brilliant.

VERY NICE

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had a one bedroom suite and the room was beautiful, and very clean. I loved the claw-footed tub, the big balcony, fireplace and kitchen. The pool is very cold, so if you have small kids, be prepared for them to be little popsicles. The restaraunt in the hotel is ok, there are many other dining options near by, so you won't go hungry.

I found the front desk staff to ok in terms of friendliess, but not overly useful on information on the area. The on-duty manager at the time of our check-out was very abrupt and unfriendly, I was very surprised by her attitude and coldness. The business director/contact does not return emails, so if you are looking for a continued corporate rate or a corporate rate at all, go elsewhere.

I would like to stay at the hotel again, but the poor customer service has caused me to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VancouverIris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations, but disappointed that our service did not meet expectations on the desk.

While we strive to deliver engaging and thoughtful service to our guests we clearly did not meet the level of service expected on this occasion. We will strive to improve this at every opportunity and ensure that our guest service agents are confident in offering suggestions and assistance about our local area. This includes our concierge, who is available to share his knowledge and help with any planning arrangements our guests may require.

If you wish to explore corporate rates in the future, please contact our Hotel Sales Manager Julie Banister, julie.banister@aviawest.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Had a wonderful stay at parkside. Was a little walk from the downtown but nothing more than 5 minutes, and was nice to be on the quiet side. Victoria is so quiet anyways. Hotel was spotless, staff was super nice, even did our laundry one night at no extra cost. The spa was down, but im sure by now it is fixed, was a little disappointed at time but no big deal. I would not recommend any other hotel in victoria but parkside.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckrystek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had the two bedroom suite and it was lovely...room to relax and a nice kitchen for making a light meal. The location was convenient and the pool and gardens were great. Our only issue was a room down the way that was reveling into the wee hours night after night. If you leave your windows open for cooling at night you are stuck with your neighbors but not really the hotels fault. The cafe and common areas were enjoyable. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoradoKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,149 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 47 in Victoria
1,938 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £87 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing