We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was our second stay at Parkside in Victoria. Both times have been enjoyable and the facilities have been top-notch. The location is great as it is only a couple blocks from the main downtown shopping district and inner harbour. We grabbed morning coffees and pastries from the in-house restaurant which were good - the only 'complaint' would be that they don't have a menu board on the wall indicating the prices of the coffees and pastries. Our room (single bedroom) was pretty tight but not uncomfortable. We took advantage of the pull-out couch and when it was pulled out, it was hard to move around the sitting area. Otherwise, the room was great. The pool was great and our oldest daughter spent a few hours in it during our stay. However, apparently someone had pressed the 'emergency' stop button on the hot tub which causes the jets to stop functioning. It sat in this state for several hours and the chemical levels in the hot tub exceeded recommended limits - the pool maintenance fellow advised that we shower off immediately after we were sitting in it. Some process/system should be implemented that notifies staff whenever this button has been pressed so that they could immediately assess any problems or reset the circulation. The in-suite washer/dryer was extremely helpful as we were traveling with an infant. However, the dryer function was either not working or was extremely poor. After drying for over 80 minutes, the half-load of infant clothing was still very wet. The cleaning staff member who showed up at our door was very gracious after he couldn't find a problem and took our wet clothes to the building facilities and dried them for us - great service!!

We will be back - we visit Victoria yearly and Parkside is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,021 - 2,027 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Thoroughly recommend the Parkside for location,comfort, amenities, service, cost and layout.
We were really disappointed that we could only stay 1 night - the last night of our trip!
The rooms in this hotel are extremely comfortable & well designed. As a family (2 adults, 1 teenager) we loved that the master bedroom (king bed) could be closed off from the living/queen sofa bed area. Fully equiped kitchen, gas fires in both rooms, two flat screen tvs and a balcony! The bathroom was smallish but stylish, clean and well stocked.
The internal layout of the hotel with water features, art, furniture and expansive windows are stunning although you don't expect this when approaching from outside. From a distance it looks just like any other apartment style hotel.
The service was without fault - both reception and cleaning staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful.
The cafe provides great breakfast food and service at very reasonable prices.
I would rate the Parkside as 5 star compared with many other 4 star hotels we encountered. Free wireless internet in rooms and free use of the business centre - an absolute bonus considering this is not widely offered in Canada.
Fantastic! We'll be back :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuba126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Lovely room, nicely furnished, nice balcony to sit on and enjoy a glass of wineand a peek a boo harbour view. We had a great sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraverler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very stylish, up-to-date comfortable condo type hotel. It's walking distance to most everything. We found most of the staff to be super friendly and helpful, told us where the good restaurants were. My one sort of negative comment was that the master bathroom didn't have a hairdryer. Not a huge deal but I found that weird. I was on a girls weekend type holiday so we definitely needed more than one hairdryer and we all had to go into the one small bathroom to use it. For what it would cost for two hairdryers I'm kind of surprised that they would splurge on another one, particularly in the master bath. Also, there was no fan in the small bathroom so it got super hot, and the washer dry did smell a bit, on the other hand, we did have a washer and dryer, so how bad could it be? Over-all I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momthetravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Got this place for $92 per night from Hotwire. Booking directly with the hotel was $200+ per night. At that low price the place was a bargain, and I wish I had stayed more than 1 night.

It's a modern and upscale chic type of place with indoor pools through the lobby and tall ceilings with lots of glass and natural lighting. We walked from the hotel over through the residential area to a small pizza place that was excellent - Pizzeria Prima Strada.

Be sure to use www.betterbidding.com to decipher which hotel you're going to get from Hotwire BEFORE you press the "buy" button.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Parkside screams its "green" image at you from the start. The most green we found was in our shower stall. We paid for an upgrade to a luxury suite. The room smelled when we checked in & had to call for floor fans. When we objected that the clothes washer/dryer was not working we were told that there was no alternative & they would launder our clothes overnight. When we found mold in the shower they finally found an alternative room. The rooms are sparsely furnished with no bath/bedroom privacy in the master bedroom. Request fans in order to move the stale air that results from the "green" construction plan.

Room Tip: Check the room thoroughly before unpacking your bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMikeCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aviawest_management, Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

While environmental responsibility is an important part of Parkside—both from design and operational standpoints—we do not attempt to “push” a green image to our guests. We have 10 Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®) posters set up around the hotel in order to educate guests about Parkside's most notable environmental features and how they fit into the green building rating system/guest experience. The posters are incorporated into green building tours, which are available by request.

We apologize that you had difficulty with air circulation during your stay. Since all suites have kitchens, the smell of cooking is sometimes noticeable. To counter this, fans are available and all suites have operable windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The Parkside is a short stroll from the harbour. Great location! You feel like you are living in the city, not staying in a hotel. It is also near a beautiful park for strolling and running and viewing Olympic National Park across the water. It is a very modern, green building, with a lovely accomodating spa. (Selections that were less expensive for teens) The pool is big and the hot tub is relaxing, especially after a bumpy whale watching ride. The washer/dryer combo was a bit of a challenge to operate, but convenient. The beds and pillows are super comfy. No AC in this LEED certified hotel, but we opened the doors and windows and slept great...until the wedding party at the hotel starting yelling and rocking out, or an ambulance passed. Another downside; $15 per night parking..should be free. And finally, you can smell the neighbors food cooking and some balconies face each other so there is a privacy issue in some of the rooms. But overall first class.

Room Tip: They match internet rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTripTroupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,922 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,336 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £89 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing