We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary Upscale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Delaware
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Contemporary Upscale”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had a lovely small suite on the 6th floor of the A building, right next to the roofside garden. The suite included a well appointed gallery kitchen, small dining table and chairs, couch in front of an upscale looking electric fireplace, glass from floor to ceiling for maximum views. There is a separate bedroom with double French doors to living area and a separate small concrete balcony, a rather small but elegant bathroom, a bedroom fireplace, and a large walk-in closet. Alll appointments are very upscale looking - chrome, granite, linens, etc. But we were surprised at 3 things: the walls are very thin, sitting in the bathroom I could easily hear everything the folks in the next unit were saying, which means they could hear me in the bathroom! The bathroom is so small there are NO towel racks; we had to hang them in the walk-in closet. The fireplaces which I thought were gas; when we flipped the switch, we discovered it was an electric image of flames projected behind a paper screen....not sure they should have bothered to have these when the effect is so fake. A lot of these units are time-shares. OK to stay there for an overnight, but I wouldnt want to spend the money they ask for a time share stay. Small bistro at street level has limited but excellent food; try their unusual breakfast choices! One other thing: the roaming lobby was trying to be elegant modern, but most of the palm trees and a lot of the foilage they planted in the glass wallled area were dead. Also noticed the desk receptionists were wearing jackets way too large for them.. This may sound silly, but its the little things that denote excellence in performance and appearance. Overall I felt like this hotel was trying for the exquisite upscale ambience, but had a few shortfalls. Still an excellent convenient location, and compared to what I felt were very expensive and a bit worn lodgings at other hotels I investigated, this is still a REALLY good choice -comfortable, pleasing, convenient location with kitchen facilities should you wish to save money by making your own meals. Also they do have a pool and spa, which we didnt have time to use. Parking is $15 / day CAD. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winkie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    458
    127
    69
    43
See reviews for
730
650
58
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My family and I stayed at the Parkside for two nights this past weekend to attend my cousin's wedding. We rented a two bedroom suite so my wife and I, and my parents each got a room to ourselves and my little sister got the couch. Thankfully it pulled out into a double bed. The location is fantastic a quick walk down to the waterfront so you are not actually right in it. Sadly at night it still felt like I was right in it because the road noise in our room was very loud. I would recommend staying away from the XX9 rooms in the A-Tower if road noise bothers you. The suite was beautiful at first glance. It has pocket doors and a kitchen and two bathrooms. Oddly though the en-suite bathroom to the one bedroom doesn't have a door to block it from the bedroom area....that's very cozy. Also that bathroom only has a tub (nowhere to put your soap) with a hand held shower and no curtain so you have to make sure you close the closet so you don't soak your clothes. The other bedroom had no closet at all. Nor did it have any hooks from which to hang your clothes. This was a bit of a challenge as my wife and I were trying to maneuver about the bedroom with her dress and my suit and keep them pressed. It's also missing a proper restaurant. This isn't a big deal as it is easy walking distance to all kinds of great resto's and pubs for food. It does have a great pool and a very nice roof top deck and the staff is great. Oh yeah there was no full length mirror to be found anywhere and very few flat surfaces on which to lay out grooming essentials. I don't know how the individual rooms are appointed but this suite proved a bit of a challenge for our needs. The room and hotel are beautiful though. It's for sure worth a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I loved this hotel! It had a very luxurious and upscale vibe to it. I felt like I was staying at a super fancy place. The room was immaculately clean, spacious, and also felt very luxurious. We had a one-bedroom suite, which included a separate living area, a kitchen area, and a washer-dryer in the kitchen area. The living area included an electric fireplace and tv, and the bedroom had its own tv and electric fireplace as well. There was also a balcony with views of a lovely garden where you could sit and relax. I think this was the standard room (we ordered it on Expedia and didn't request any upgrades). There was also a big pool that was long enough to swim laps. The hotel is "green" so it emphasizes the ways it saves energy, which was actually pretty interesting. But it didn't feel like they were skimping AT ALL. Everything was spectacular. I would totally stay here again and was sad to leave!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanc0uver_Vacati0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Spent 3 nights in Victoria with the family and besides the bad weather everything was great. Spa was closed while we stayed but really wasn't a factor in the enjoyment of our stay. Pool was great for the kids. Had a decent espresso in the lobby restaurant as well...Walking distance from everything, never used the car except to drive to Botanical Beach for day trip. Great value for your buck, would go back anytime. Top class accommodations and loved the fact that we could do a little wash for our clothing in our appartment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everestpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and had booked a 2 bedroom suite. To our delight this turned out to be 2 adjoining suites, each with their own kitchen, bathrooms and dining areas. The decor was fabulous, tastefully furnished throughout to a very high standard. The pool was amazing and we had all 25 m of it to ourselves! The location could not have been better - just a few minutes walk brought us to the inner harbour. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorcesterwomanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was our second stay at Parkside in Victoria. Both times have been enjoyable and the facilities have been top-notch. The location is great as it is only a couple blocks from the main downtown shopping district and inner harbour. We grabbed morning coffees and pastries from the in-house restaurant which were good - the only 'complaint' would be that they don't have a menu board on the wall indicating the prices of the coffees and pastries. Our room (single bedroom) was pretty tight but not uncomfortable. We took advantage of the pull-out couch and when it was pulled out, it was hard to move around the sitting area. Otherwise, the room was great. The pool was great and our oldest daughter spent a few hours in it during our stay. However, apparently someone had pressed the 'emergency' stop button on the hot tub which causes the jets to stop functioning. It sat in this state for several hours and the chemical levels in the hot tub exceeded recommended limits - the pool maintenance fellow advised that we shower off immediately after we were sitting in it. Some process/system should be implemented that notifies staff whenever this button has been pressed so that they could immediately assess any problems or reset the circulation. The in-suite washer/dryer was extremely helpful as we were traveling with an infant. However, the dryer function was either not working or was extremely poor. After drying for over 80 minutes, the half-load of infant clothing was still very wet. The cleaning staff member who showed up at our door was very gracious after he couldn't find a problem and took our wet clothes to the building facilities and dried them for us - great service!!

We will be back - we visit Victoria yearly and Parkside is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Thoroughly recommend the Parkside for location,comfort, amenities, service, cost and layout.
We were really disappointed that we could only stay 1 night - the last night of our trip!
The rooms in this hotel are extremely comfortable & well designed. As a family (2 adults, 1 teenager) we loved that the master bedroom (king bed) could be closed off from the living/queen sofa bed area. Fully equiped kitchen, gas fires in both rooms, two flat screen tvs and a balcony! The bathroom was smallish but stylish, clean and well stocked.
The internal layout of the hotel with water features, art, furniture and expansive windows are stunning although you don't expect this when approaching from outside. From a distance it looks just like any other apartment style hotel.
The service was without fault - both reception and cleaning staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful.
The cafe provides great breakfast food and service at very reasonable prices.
I would rate the Parkside as 5 star compared with many other 4 star hotels we encountered. Free wireless internet in rooms and free use of the business centre - an absolute bonus considering this is not widely offered in Canada.
Fantastic! We'll be back :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuba126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing