We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay while in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay while in Victoria”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Not just a hotel .Rooms are condo's All equipped. There is Fractional ownership..Beauitful spa & huge pool.Much quieter than a normal hotel.It has a small Movie theater , expresso,ale & wine bistro with great food & patio tables. Just walk out the door & your near the harbour , shops & Beaconhill park .

Room Tip: We were in " A" 5th floor facing East for the morning sun & a lovely courtyard garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    476
    129
    71
    47
See reviews for
767
677
60
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We visited the Parkside Victoria over the Easter weekend, and booked a two-room luxury suite for a family of 4 adults, one small child, and a baby. At first glance, we were all very impressed with the hotel, but its lustre soon wore off. Here's a summary of our experiences:

PROS:
- Excellent location. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and shopping, Inner Harbour, Beacon Hill Park, Dallas Road, museums, and more. Quiet, safe street.

- Spacious suites. The adjoining suites were perfect to have parents and two little ones in one room, with grandparents next door. Comfortably appointed in terms of furnishings. Clean. Good quality toiletries (Aveda, Aqua Terre). Beautiful deep tub in one part of suite.

- Comfortable, large beds. We all slept well!

- Beautiful hotel and grounds. The atrium and outdoor koi pond are lovely.


CONS:
- Ridiculously SLOW check-in process. It took at least 45 minutes!! A couple of people were even trying to butt in line, to avoid the wait. They had only one staff member checking in guests on a long weekend Friday when they admitted they were 100% booked! This was a very poor managerial decision. Worse, the check in agent was completely unapologetic about the wait and even commented that "people wait 25 minutes for a coffee but they won't wait 25 minutes to check in". Neither of those activities should take 25 minutes, much less 45. Very unprofessional.

- Numerous hassles with our key cards. Of our four cards, one worked reliably and only in one side of the two adjoining suites, despite repeated requests to have this fixed. Also had difficulty with unreliable key cards for operating the elevator and getting to the parkade.

- Lack of hot water, no matter the time of day or how long we each waited in between showers. It was hard to enjoy the gorgeous deep tub with only lukewarm water, and by Sunday morning our showers were actually cold. It's great to try to be eco-friendly, but this place obviously needs a larger, stronger hot water source.

- Incredibly dry air. In just a weekend, the four adults in our group got chapped lips, dry eyes and/or sore noses, as did one other guest who visited us from another hotel for just a few hours.

- Dishes. There were not enough dishes and cutlery in either suite. For example, one side of the suite had only small plates and the other side had only large plates. In our case we had access to both sides of the suite, but what if someone only booked 1 room instead of 2? Need more items in each room.

- One member of our group asked in the cafe if they sold Diet Coke and received a dirty look and a snarky reply about "never selling artificial sweeteners". A more hospitable response would have been a simple "No, we don't, but there's a 7-11 down the street".


All in all, these hassles contributed to only an average experience in spite of our initial positive impressions. Read the reviews carefully before booking to see if these types of issues are habitual. Hopefully we just had an unlucky encounter on a busy weekend and the management and staff can adapt to improve things.

Room Tip: - No view in rooms A315/316. The windows look almost directly across to other suites, not very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThereSheGoes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My family of four (kids 2 and 5) stayed for 4 nights. We had an awesome time! The staff were very helpful: they gave us a place to store our car roof rack so we could keep our car in the underground, they found us a locksmith a few blocks away because we forgot the key for our roof rack, they gave us suggestions for grocery stores and restaurants, just to name a few. They were always friendly and cheerful and accommodating. The room was fantastic - just what we wanted and needed. The separate bedroom and fully stocked kitchen (including washer/dryer!) were just what we needed to make travelling with kids enjoyable. And let's not forget the pool and movie theatre!!! The kids had fun, and therefore so did we. The only complaint - the room keys. One worked well and one worked after a dozen attempts. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here recently on a Groupon.
OVerall, we were satisfied customers! We walked into a large, modern, nicely decorated suite.
It comes with a FULLY equipped kitchen, complete with stainless steel appliances and a granite counter top. Large dining table and chairs. A little living room area, with big couch and chairs.
Two bathrooms: a small one off the kitchen with the shower/tub combo and a very large bathroom off the bedroom. There is a HUGE tub in the bathroom (awesome! though it takes forever to fill as it's so huge!). However, there is no door for the bedroom bathroom, so if you crave your privacy whilst bathing, you will have to use the smaller bathroom. ONe funny note, when we first stuck our head into the little bathroom, we just saw the sink and shower - no toilet!! We thought that was SO strange that the only toilet was in the big bathroom..but had no door! My guy and I are close but there are some things you want total privacy for! A couple hours later, we found the toilet in the little bathroom (turns out when you open the door to the bathroom, the door totally hides the little nook where the toilet sits. We felt kinda stupid, lol. Needless to say that was the toilet we used for our stay!) The bedroom area is actually quite small (but cozy). There is a fireplace and flat screen in the bedroom, as well as in the living room. (You can see/watch the TV from big tub, btw - now THAT's how you watch TV! Oh and in terms of bath amenities - you get a fizzy "bath bomb"! ) The bed was comfortable enough. What I really appreciated about this suite was the little extras with decorating that you don't normally see in hotels: little flower arrangements and/or decorative trinkets on the counter tops, dining table, coffee table, even in the bathroom. Interesting artwork, too. So overall, you can tell a lot of thought went into putting the suite together.
The living room area and the bedroom area both had a door out to the balconey (which is strange as the doors were just a few feet apart from each other!) The balconey was nice but it simply looked out unto other suites, so we'd feel a bit self conscious sitting there looking at other people.

The lobby is nice (though strangely shaped). I liked the big fireplace thing. Very warm and inviting on a cool night. The check in lady was very friendly. The atrium is cool, a nice touch. And they have a little movie theatre! That was a pleasant suprise! It's a small, cute theatre (though with very large, wide chairs for you) and it shows two movies a night (of course, not new releases..but it was still neat to wander downstairs and have a movie theatre experience. Sadly, no popcorn though ;) I did not check out the pool/gym.
Finally, the location is excellent - right there downtown Victoria.
So yes, I would return to this hotel. Especially if you are staying more than a few days - you can take advantage of the kitchen and save some money on restaurants (have a romantic dinner in, perhaps)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, CA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My family of 4 stayed at the Parkside in early March 2012. It was an impromptu visit for us and we took advantage of the two-bedroom + museum pass. The hotel lobby was gorgeous with the water fall feature and river that runs across the lobby. The rooms themselves were also gorgeous with an excellent layout with ample room for eating, kitchen and living area.The pool was huge and the gym was first rate with a lot more equipment than most hotels.
Two things I did not like that gave made me rate this property a 4 instead of a 5:
- The sheets on the beds were VERY rough. Turning in the bed was almost loud enough to wake yourself up! I've had a lot more comfortable nights in other hotels.
- The cleaning service was a little strange. We arrived back at our hotel room at around 2pm that day and there were some dirty sheets lying outside our door. Upon entering the room, we saw that the beds were not made and the towels were not stocked. In the end, the room was never made up but we were only staying two nights so did not bother to ask for the service.

Overall, it was a good stop-over stay for us and the beautiful rooms/hotel grounds were a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bm93travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week. Althought there were some minor hiccups during our stay, the hotel staff were more than keen to resolve them in an expeditious manner. We reserved one of their single bedroom deluxe suites - the room was very nicely appointed with flat screen tv's in both main room and bedroom - claw footed soaker tub - dining room table for 4 people - kitchen amenities, including dishwasher - two bathrooms one with shower, the other the soaker tub. The resort amenities included a well equipped gym, 25 meter ozonated swimming pool, hot tub and spa services. The hotel is only two blocks away from the Empress Hotel on Government Street, so you are only a short distance away from enjoying all that Victoria has to offer. The little cafe that is attached to the property TRE FANTASTICO provides great coffee and bistro type food at reasonable prices. We had breakfast and lunch there and had no complaints.
ps. Did I mention the hotel has FREE WIFI and FREE LOCAL PHONE CALLS

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfox135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON ONT
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Excellent area, hotel no problems . . bar not much .. little short on staff at desk but I likely hit it at a bad time.

Room Tip: Higher the better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dROG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing