We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, with weird bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, with weird bathrooms”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I recently had 2 2-bedroom suites at the Parkview for a long weekend trip for a bachelorette party. The suites were HUGE, with plenty of room for the 4 people staying in each (and we could have fit more, with the fold-out sofas). Both suites had balconies, modern finishes like granite and nice fixtures, and plenty of space. The bathrooms were a little odd though. We had 1 normal bathroom with a shower and toilet, but the 2nd bathroom in the master had only a modern tub and toilet with no door. As in, if anyone else was in the bedroom, there was zero privacy in the master bath. Minor, but weird. Beds were VERY comfortable (and big!).

The lobby/atrium is just beautiful, with water fixtures and foliage and tons of windows and super high ceilings. I haven't seen anything quite like it. It gave the hotel a very high-end and special feel. There's a large pool and hottub, beautifully tiled. There's also a small restaurant/bar/coffee shop in the lobby, which we LOVED. Their food was great, their coffee was great, and their wine/cocktails were great. I would go there even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. And Wiley, the bartender, gave fantastic recommendations for restaurants to visit and even specific cocktails (Veneto for A.MA.ZING cocktails, food, and service; Zambri's for cocktails and Italian).

Location is great, just a short walk from the downtown/harbor areas. We walked from the Victoria Clipper easily (although our bags did get a little heavy). Rates were reasonable for the number of people in our group. I would definitely stay here again, even with the odd bathrooms!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srlndstrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,276
    462
    128
    69
    43
See reviews for
740
656
59
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in a "luxury suite" - 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms, Tower A
pros:
- Awesome location - walking distance to everywhere
- Nice master ensuite - large bathtub and spacious room (but no separate room for the toilet)
- beautiful grounds outside
- Convenient - utensils, dishes and appliances. All hour access to the front desk and daily linen changing.
- great swimming pool for doing laps. Not so much for kids.

Cons:
- The door between our room and the neighbours room did not extend to the floor so we could hear them as though they were in the same room as us. I could actually see into their room if I looked under the door as the gap was quite large. Unfortunately they were home each night at 3am, while we went to bed at 8pm and got up at 5am. I'm sure they were just as annoyed as us.
- It was very warm in our room (25 degrees at 8pm) and there is NO air conditioning! The temps outside were about 18 degrees so I can't imagine how hot it would get in the summer. We couldn't keep the windows open at night because it was too noisy outside
- Room wasn't as clean as it could be. Carpet was stained.
- The main area was quite small - very crowded for a family of four.

If the cons are not a big deal to you, this is a fairly decent place as long as you can get some type of discount (which we did). We have stayed in other hotels/vacation rentals around this area (at comparable prices), and this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We visited Victoria on the first week of April 2012 and stayed at the Parkside. I read over the internet that the owner of the resort, Aviawest was in financial trouble. This had me concerned that the hotel might be poorly maintained and managed. Turns out I had no cause for concern.

The hotel is great. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit. It was fully equipped with a dishwasher, washing machine, utensils...everything you will ever need. Dishwashing detergent is even provided. You have to bring your own detergent for the washing machine though...or you can buy from the hotel.

The rooms are clean, well decorated. Beds are first rate. Didnt have any problems with noise or sleep quality. We stayed in tower B.

Service was great and prompt. We had trouble with the oven the first night and was promptly attended to. Our request for detergent was also promptly provided. Please note that both requests were made a bit late in the evening.

They are having trouble with their keycards though, as one reviewer mentioned. The hotel does acknowledge the problem. And hopefully they are looking into it.

Room Tip: We got a Room in Tower B. There was a function the night we arrive. I believe if we stayed in Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
314 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

This is a really well located property, within walking and jogging distance of almost everything. It has nice rooms with a functional kitchen if you know to show up with supplies, and a very attractive lobby and very helpful staff. But it is basically a timeshare play so maybe that is why so many things did not seem to work. We never figured out the heating and air conditioning (nor did our friends in two other rooms), hot water was not, light bulbs were out, rooms were not cleaned until almost four p.m., etc. it just was not run like a first class place. But the location makes up for a lot.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday weekend in February 2012. Our one bedroom suite was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The balcony was large and the weather was almost nice enough to eat outside on the outdoor table. The king bed was extremely comfortable, and we had the glass door to the balcony open every night (we like breezes!) Just off the bedroom area was a large bathroom with a wonderful soaker tub, which was a real treat as we were able to watch the bedroom TV while soaking away our aches and pains. There's nothing like watching "Downton Abbey" while having a luxurious mineral bath! There is a second bathroom off the main living area with the only shower in the suite, so I did have to travel back and forth between the 2 bathrooms which was a little inconvenient. The kitchen facilities were very good and my husband was able to create a very nice birthday dinner for a few friends. There is a washer/dryer unit as well, but I would not recommend using this as it's very inefficient - it takes hours to do one load and the clothes come out impossible wrinkled.
When we first arrived our room had a few unclean areas, which were rectified quickly by the management. We also received a bottle of wine and a $25.00 voucher for the restaurant downstairs by way of compensation.
The one frustrating thing that happened was that I left a box of expensive skincare I had purchased in the bathroom. When I got home I called the hotel and they said I had to speak to housekeeping. I did speak to the housekeeper who said that she had found the box. She told me she would send it to via courier service and they would charge our credit card on file. It actually took an email (never acknowledged), 3 more phone calls (the last one being to the hotel manager) and 3 weeks to get my skincare back.
So all in all, a wonderful facility with a few glitches. We would definitely go back!
TIP: If you want to have a spa treatment, book as soon as possible. I waited too long and could not get in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShimmeryLJ1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Not just a hotel .Rooms are condo's All equipped. There is Fractional ownership..Beauitful spa & huge pool.Much quieter than a normal hotel.It has a small Movie theater , expresso,ale & wine bistro with great food & patio tables. Just walk out the door & your near the harbour , shops & Beaconhill park .

Room Tip: We were in " A" 5th floor facing East for the morning sun & a lovely courtyard garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We visited the Parkside Victoria over the Easter weekend, and booked a two-room luxury suite for a family of 4 adults, one small child, and a baby. At first glance, we were all very impressed with the hotel, but its lustre soon wore off. Here's a summary of our experiences:

PROS:
- Excellent location. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and shopping, Inner Harbour, Beacon Hill Park, Dallas Road, museums, and more. Quiet, safe street.

- Spacious suites. The adjoining suites were perfect to have parents and two little ones in one room, with grandparents next door. Comfortably appointed in terms of furnishings. Clean. Good quality toiletries (Aveda, Aqua Terre). Beautiful deep tub in one part of suite.

- Comfortable, large beds. We all slept well!

- Beautiful hotel and grounds. The atrium and outdoor koi pond are lovely.


CONS:
- Ridiculously SLOW check-in process. It took at least 45 minutes!! A couple of people were even trying to butt in line, to avoid the wait. They had only one staff member checking in guests on a long weekend Friday when they admitted they were 100% booked! This was a very poor managerial decision. Worse, the check in agent was completely unapologetic about the wait and even commented that "people wait 25 minutes for a coffee but they won't wait 25 minutes to check in". Neither of those activities should take 25 minutes, much less 45. Very unprofessional.

- Numerous hassles with our key cards. Of our four cards, one worked reliably and only in one side of the two adjoining suites, despite repeated requests to have this fixed. Also had difficulty with unreliable key cards for operating the elevator and getting to the parkade.

- Lack of hot water, no matter the time of day or how long we each waited in between showers. It was hard to enjoy the gorgeous deep tub with only lukewarm water, and by Sunday morning our showers were actually cold. It's great to try to be eco-friendly, but this place obviously needs a larger, stronger hot water source.

- Incredibly dry air. In just a weekend, the four adults in our group got chapped lips, dry eyes and/or sore noses, as did one other guest who visited us from another hotel for just a few hours.

- Dishes. There were not enough dishes and cutlery in either suite. For example, one side of the suite had only small plates and the other side had only large plates. In our case we had access to both sides of the suite, but what if someone only booked 1 room instead of 2? Need more items in each room.

- One member of our group asked in the cafe if they sold Diet Coke and received a dirty look and a snarky reply about "never selling artificial sweeteners". A more hospitable response would have been a simple "No, we don't, but there's a 7-11 down the street".


All in all, these hassles contributed to only an average experience in spite of our initial positive impressions. Read the reviews carefully before booking to see if these types of issues are habitual. Hopefully we just had an unlucky encounter on a busy weekend and the management and staff can adapt to improve things.

Room Tip: - No view in rooms A315/316. The windows look almost directly across to other suites, not very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThereSheGoes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing