We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Staff went extra mile to accommodate our requests. Super friendly! We wish we could have people like they do at the parkside resort in our life everyday. Hotel is one of a kind! Kids had the time of their life. It was the last night stay of our vacation and the biggest mistake we made was not staying here longer. :( do yourself a favor and book here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,936 - 1,942 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

If you are looking for a place in downtown Victoria, this is a perfect place especially with family. Convenient and walking distance to Victoria Harbour also with a friendly staff. We went to Victoria last August for my nephews wedding and we stayed here. This contemporary hotel is overlooking the historical St. Anne's Academy (just across). We had a wonderful time not only because we attended the wedding, also we did the Whale watching ---- it was magnifico! It was a sight of a lifetime! we saw more than what we would like to watch as well as we got educated about other wild habitat that resides in beautiful sea surrounding Victoria and also the island were you will see hundreds of sea lions. Thank you Eagle Wing Tours for sharing to us your knowledge and wisdom how we could help protect our NATURE while ENJOYING their presence in our environment. Victoria is beautiful, we were fascinated as well with the Buchart Garden. The history involved how this beautiful garden had been shared to us by the founding family from few generations and able to sustain to excite locals and tourist. Also when you visit to Victoria dont forget to visit the Wharf, you need to ride the Taxi ferry to cross or take the bus/taxi however its more fun to take the water taxi. For those of you who have not been to Buchart Garden, I will recommend taking the Tour Bus. It covers the entrance to the garden as well as you will get educated of other places on the way to the garden. Like the Vineyards & other businesses, and historical places too. Oh before i forget the SPA was terrific. AquaTerre Spa. My masseuse was excellent. She is blind however she had a great aura, as soon as you will hear voice you will feel rejuvenated already, knowledgeable and experience. Thank you to all the staff of Parkside for making our stay a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Enjoy the Beauty of Victoria and experience High Tea at the Empress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

This is our first visit to Victoria and we accepted the advice from the friendly staff of BC Ferries at downtown Vancouver to consider staying at this wonderful place.

We were very pleased with our stay in all departments - quality of the apartment, its friendly and helpful staff and the location. It is value for money.

I would certainly consider staying here the next time if we ever re-visit this beautiful English like town. Definitely I would recommend my Malaysian colleagues if they get to visit Victoria.

Cheers

Salam, AbAS

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtiyabAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

There were some negative and some positive aspects with the Parkside. After we checked in and returned to our room from a walk, our keycard was not working. The front desk clerk said the door code needed to be re-done, but their machine was not working. They moved us to a smaller room with a smaller bed and no view. After talking with the front desk, she upgraded us to a deluxe room. The suite was huge with a separate living room, bedroom, and kitchen. However, the housekeeping was very spotty. After our first night, we came back to find the bed liner on the floor, a used towel still left in the bathroom, and a crushed M&M (leftover from the previous guest) still on the floor of the living room. The room was extremely warm and, although we turned off the heat at the master breaker, heat contined to pour out from the vents. Maintenance eventually fixed this problem. The rooms and lobby atrium were quite lovely, however, the other problems cast a pall on our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Chic and well appointed , we enjoyed the city location as well as the value and amenities of this hotal. Professional and friendly staff , pleasant spacious lobby designed with well balanced eco and beauty .Lovely suite including (2) flat screenTV's, (2) fireplaces , kitchen , deck , comfy furnature - very pleasant . Roof top gardens . Security consicious requiring room card scans to access guest levels by elevator - yet relaxed atmospher enhensed by water features , green areas , emense fire in lobby , art works - loved it !

Room Tip: Easy to locate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I recently had 2 2-bedroom suites at the Parkview for a long weekend trip for a bachelorette party. The suites were HUGE, with plenty of room for the 4 people staying in each (and we could have fit more, with the fold-out sofas). Both suites had balconies, modern finishes like granite and nice fixtures, and plenty of space. The bathrooms were a little odd though. We had 1 normal bathroom with a shower and toilet, but the 2nd bathroom in the master had only a modern tub and toilet with no door. As in, if anyone else was in the bedroom, there was zero privacy in the master bath. Minor, but weird. Beds were VERY comfortable (and big!).

The lobby/atrium is just beautiful, with water fixtures and foliage and tons of windows and super high ceilings. I haven't seen anything quite like it. It gave the hotel a very high-end and special feel. There's a large pool and hottub, beautifully tiled. There's also a small restaurant/bar/coffee shop in the lobby, which we LOVED. Their food was great, their coffee was great, and their wine/cocktails were great. I would go there even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. And Wiley, the bartender, gave fantastic recommendations for restaurants to visit and even specific cocktails (Veneto for A.MA.ZING cocktails, food, and service; Zambri's for cocktails and Italian).

Location is great, just a short walk from the downtown/harbor areas. We walked from the Victoria Clipper easily (although our bags did get a little heavy). Rates were reasonable for the number of people in our group. I would definitely stay here again, even with the odd bathrooms!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srlndstrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed in a "luxury suite" - 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms, Tower A
pros:
- Awesome location - walking distance to everywhere
- Nice master ensuite - large bathtub and spacious room (but no separate room for the toilet)
- beautiful grounds outside
- Convenient - utensils, dishes and appliances. All hour access to the front desk and daily linen changing.
- great swimming pool for doing laps. Not so much for kids.

Cons:
- The door between our room and the neighbours room did not extend to the floor so we could hear them as though they were in the same room as us. I could actually see into their room if I looked under the door as the gap was quite large. Unfortunately they were home each night at 3am, while we went to bed at 8pm and got up at 5am. I'm sure they were just as annoyed as us.
- It was very warm in our room (25 degrees at 8pm) and there is NO air conditioning! The temps outside were about 18 degrees so I can't imagine how hot it would get in the summer. We couldn't keep the windows open at night because it was too noisy outside
- Room wasn't as clean as it could be. Carpet was stained.
- The main area was quite small - very crowded for a family of four.

If the cons are not a big deal to you, this is a fairly decent place as long as you can get some type of discount (which we did). We have stayed in other hotels/vacation rentals around this area (at comparable prices), and this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,149 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 47 in Victoria
1,939 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £87 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing