We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$220
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$273
US$246
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,232)
Filter reviews
2,232 results
Traveller rating
1,462
509
137
75
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,462
509
137
75
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondwashing machinerooftop gardenfull kitchenluxury suiteliving roombc ferriesbeautiful hotelsoaker tubheated floorshome away from homedowntown victoriawithin walking distanceflat screengreat amenitiesbeacon hill parkcorner suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,023 - 2,028 of 2,232 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa last week. It really was a lovely place to stay, however, mixed reviews on the service at front desk.

So to get the negatives out of the way: whilst standing in line to check in, one of the front desk agents completely passed me by to attend to a guest that arrived after me, even though she saw me standing there waiting. After that, my husband went down to the front desk after noticing that we did not have a "Do Not Disturb" sign as we like to sleep in. He was told dismissively that "they do not carry them anymore". Huh?? Behind him, a lady that owned a suite at the property was then served, and she politely advised that the gym had not been cleaned, nor was the ladies changing room. The agent replied that that was a housekeeping issue, and that she would have to talk to them.

As a note, I don't believe the hotel has any porters. We grabbed a luggage trolley that was sitting by the front entrance and hauled everything up ourselves.

We stayed on the 5th floor in a beautiful one bedroom suite. The floorplan was very spacious. The fully equipped kitchen came with everything we needed to make meals if we wanted to, with a full size fridge. The living room and bedroom each had a gas fireplace and flat screen t.v. The ensuite in the master bedroom had a beautiful soaker tub. The bed linens felt luxurious and the mattress was very comfortable.

We went to the cafe Tre Fantastico which is located across from the front desk. It had a laid back, hippy vibe to it which served delicious, simple breakfasts and excellent espresso drinks. However, it is a pity that they do not have a full service restaurant onsite.

All in all, a pleasant stay. A beautiful suite. Nice swimming pool. Good cafe. Great location - close to shopping, attractions and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here for one night, mid week. We were in a wonderful, 2nd floor suite( 1 bed/1 bath).Nice patio overlooking the courtyard. Very 'green'. No air conditioning, open windows. Nice roof top patios. We had a fireplace(electric) and flat screen TV in both the bedroom and living room. Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave,apart size fridge. Even an electric kettle and tea pot, and a blender.
The pool and hot tub areas were clean and nice to use. We didn't use the gym or theater. The lobby and landscaping are really beautiful too. We were within 2 blocks of the harbour and the downtown area.

Room Tip: We were in tower A on the second floor and faced the courtyard. It was quiet and partly shaded so wouldn't get really hot. There are opening windows and doors to the patio.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Parkside Victoria is one of a new breed of Hometels -- and is really well done. We had a one bedroom, two bathroom apt with kitchen and balcony. It was huge, decorated beautifully with a fully stocked kitchen. Perfect for us since we were spending 10 days in Victoria. It was nice to make our own coffee and breakfast, and if we didn't feel like eating out, bring dinner in. The location is excellent. Walking distance to the harbour and downtown, but in a residential neighborhood (quieter rooms face Humboldt; Blanshard St rooms overlook a busy road, but you can likely see the harbour in the higher rooms) The hotel does not have its own restaurant. There is a cafe on the main floor run by an independent business that sells coffee and light snacks, which is pretty good. There is a pool and spa, neither of which we tried. The Parkside is a fantastic alternative to hotels -- where you have room to comfortably spread out, but someone else makes your bed. Two minor negatives. The bathroom in the bedroom has no door. Just a half wall of privacy glass, which the designer likely thought was trendy. Depending how up close and personal you like to be with your mate, this means you get to watch them pee. We spent a lot of time using the other bathroom, which had a door. The hotel also lost our online reservation, even though it gave us a confirmation code. Wasn't an issue -- they rebooked our room and honored the rate. But suggest reconfirming with them a few days before travel since their system seems a little unreliable. Desk staff -- very nice.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the Humboldt street side. Harbour views likely on the higher storey room overlooking Blanshard, which is noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indiana1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We just spent three nights at this beautiful, clean hotel. The garden in the atrium and the garden outside are both lovely. We had a two bedroom suite (full kitchen and in-suite laundry). There were six of us - 2 in the king bedroom with ensuite (nice tub!), 2 in the queen bedroom with ensuite and 2 kids on the pullout sofa.
The staff were always polite and helpful. They were even great with our young boys (most places we have been are decent, but not this great with the kids). The boys were excited to be able to swim in the 25 meter pool each day (multiple times) and to feed the koi in one of the outside gardens.
The only issue was the road traffic heard in the middle of the night. Next time we will specify an interior courtyard room. That being said, the view from the balcony we had of the city and the mountains was gorgeous.
Many great restaurants and 'things-to-do' are in close proximity. We walked everywhere downtown from here - from Beacon Hill Park to Chinatown.

Room Tip: Ask for interior courtyard for a quieter room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ERICURN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Staff went extra mile to accommodate our requests. Super friendly! We wish we could have people like they do at the parkside resort in our life everyday. Hotel is one of a kind! Kids had the time of their life. It was the last night stay of our vacation and the biggest mistake we made was not staying here longer. :( do yourself a favor and book here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews