We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pender Island
1 review
“Another great visit”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I will definitely be back. I love the plant filled glasshouse entrance, the pool is fabulous and the room elegantly simple. Staff are very friendly, willing to accommodate individual needs whenever possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa! We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our Atrium full of beautiful plants. We are also thrilled you enjoyed your suite and the pool. We also appreciate your acknowledgment of our friendly staff. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    447
    125
    67
    42
See reviews for
714
633
58
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were very pleased with the Parkside Hotel on our recent Family Day Weekend trip to Victoria. The hotel lobby and atrium space are exceptional, with drive up and parking clear and easy. Loads of short term street parking outside a bonus as well.

Staff were responsive and knowledgeable, found a suite that fit our family well, and had a solution or a "yes" to every question we had.

Suite was large, clean, and well appointed. No oven, but washer/dryer combo was a great perk. Spa/pool was one of the nicest hotel pools we've seen.

Location is top notch; a short one or two block walk to the water, shopping, restaurants, nightlife.

The hotel offered a variety of amenities that we did not use - a theater with scheduled and by request screenings, a coffee shop that was busy every time we went by, a continental breakfast and huge amount of outside and inside nooks and crannies to read or have a coffee in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hailnurgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your great review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so happy you enjoyed Family Day weekend with your family at the hotel! We are thrilled that you found the Atrium and lobby areas to be exceptional as well as our staff to be knowledgeable and responsive. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Victoria. We hope that you bring your family back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The beds were comfortable, as was the living area. The kitchen was adequately stocked. The pool was large enough for the most rambunctious children. We did not try the theater as we were out walking about visiting museums and restaurants in the downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokicmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa! We are so glad you enjoyed the suite’s beds, living room and pool. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time in Victoria and visiting the museum and great restaurants! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lantzville
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile


Thank you to the Parkside staff, especially Chelsea, for their help and hardwork for our daughter's beautiful wedding. Everything we requested was attended to quickly and professionally, the rooms were modern and extremely clean. We appreciated the early check ins. Also thanks for the total attention to details, no matter how big or small. It was a great day, and you the staff of Parkside were a huge part of it. Thank you again.





Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dar c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa! We are thrilled that your daughter had a beautiful wedding at the hotel. We thank you for acknowledging our staff and their thorough attention to detail and your needs during a very exciting day! We hope to welcome you back soon and once again, congratulations to the bride and groom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Parkside Victoria recently on a weekend visit to the island. We were pleased to see improvements in the property since our last visit two years ago including better service, a more bustling atmosphere and big bonus, an excellent cafe with coffee, baked goods and snacks in the lobby. We really enjoyed the proximity to downtown Victoria and the quiet, comfortable room.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe one bedroom and it was huge for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norumbega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa! We are so happy that you came back to stay with us and appreciate you acknowledging our improvements! We are glad you enjoyed your suite and the hotel’s close location to downtown. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had some family business in Victoria & wanted somewhere close to downtown so I could walk.
Checked in to a suite at the Parkside Hotel & Spa - I have stayed before, but it just keeps getting better. There is now a small cafe near the lobby, where you can purchase delicious baked goods, coffees and specialty teas. In addition they offer light fare (mussels in wine etc.) and beer & wine.

My suite had an excellent view overlooking the downtown and towards the harbour. Nice little balcony to sit out and have a coffee. There is a kitchenette with coffee & tea, full fridge and kitchen basics. Nice touch was some complimentary bottled water.

The staff are friendly and helpful! It must have been an early morning, because in my groggy state I couldn't get the kettle to turn on. No problem, a quick call to the front desk sent help pronto. Wow did I feel silly when the young lady pointed out to me that it was just the cable plug in at the base of the kettle that was a bit loose…What can I say - it was early…

The bed was super comfy, nice linens. Two gas fireplaces, one in the living room & one in the bedroom. Large soaker tub in ensuite and separate bath / shower in 2nd bath.

The time prior I stayed with my kids and the pullout couch worked fine for them.

Another reason I like the Parkside is the convenience and proximity to downtown. You can walk to the museum, inner harbour and Empress Hotel within 5-10 minutes.

Looking forward to my next little getaway to Victoria already!

Room Tip: I had a harbour facing suite in the tower facing downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highkicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your great review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa! We are so thrilled that each time you come your experience gets better and better! We are happy you enjoyed your suite and the amenities it has to offer including the patio and great view. We pride ourselves on helpful and friendly staff and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Parkside is simple awesome to be honest......simply awesome. As travelers with a small dog, we are always happy to find something that has a kitchen and a comfortable space where we can bring our pooch and the Parkside is it in spades.

Located a stones throw (2 short blocks) from the conference center and Parliament Buildings, it offers easy access to everything in Victoria. Directly across from St. Anne's Academy (a historic building) it is more residential than commercial.

Suites are lovely with large windows, most with full kitchens including a stove/oven and all the amenities you could ever want while traveling and cooking. Based on a 4 room design, there is a combo bathroom that has a big old fashioned tub (also has a shower feature), big bedroom, kitchen/dining room and living room. Our suite's bedroom windows overlooked the street (it was very quiet) and the park and the balcony, electric fireplace and big screen TV topped everything off nicely.

Beds were super comfortable......absolutely super comfortable which is wonderful to find in a boutique hotel because sometimes they can be iffy.

Staff were awesome and very helpful in every way.

The Parkside has a lot of wonderful ambiance and you can tell that there is a lot of care and attention put into the property and ensuring that guests are well taken care of. It gets 5 stars from me, but if I could give it one more, I would without hesitation.

Finally.....we've found 'our' Victoria hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello from The Parkside Hotel & Spa! Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and all of the amenities it has to offer. We are overjoyed that you found the ambience of the hotel to be wonderful and that you felt well taken care of from the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#6 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing