We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern with a few flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

great location and very clean and modern facility. friendly staff. great movie theatre room with 40 seats - nice way to unwind after a full day. Full kitchen in the 2 bedroom we were in and a reasonable sized deck for 4.
room are nice and beds very comfortable - main flaws - no toilet door in the master - completely open to the master bedroom. no shower in the master only a claw bathtub and no bubble bath for the claw bathtub!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carol & David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to experience our movie theatre. We thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness of the hotel and friendly staff, as they work so hard! We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the bathrooms and think your idea of offering bubble bath with our luxury bathtubs is a great idea. We hope to welcome you back to The Parkside Hotel & Spa when you travel to Victoria again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Location is great, service could be a little better. Rooms sometimes are not really clean. Most desk service is great except for a few employees . The young baggage handler provided excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Suites are well-appointed with high-end toiletries, granite countertops and stylish dark wood doors. Very well furnished kitchen--everything you could want including dishwasher and washing machine. Personally speaking, the shape of the suites was a bit off-putting. We had one bedroom and our son slept on pull out sofa in front room. Suites are long with diagonal entrance to main bedroom. Main sitting area has limited space. Limited TV channels too. Space just felt a bit awkward to navigate. Public areas are beautiful--water ponds with fish, original abstract art on lofty, dramatic hallways--gorgeous quality coffee bar and wine bar (same space) on bottom level. The "Happy Hour" is well worth it--$3.00 drinks and appies are high quality. Free movies run every night around 6pm in a private theater in the hotel. Well-located--quiet peaceful street about 10 min walk downtown Victoria. Make the walk to Primastrada Pizza about 20 mins away. You won't be disappointed...
Tip--this hotel is more adult-oriented. Not too many kids. Under 18 must be accompanied by parent in public areas.

Room Tip: Be careful not to bump into the black bathroom door in the middle of the night like I did. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello from The Parkside Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your suite, high-end toiletries, and other amenities in the kitchen and suite. We are sorry to hear you did not like the layout of the suite. It sounds like you are describing our one bedroom deluxe suites, and would recommend perhaps trying our one bedroom luxury suite the next time you are visiting Victoria. These suites are larger and offer more bedroom, kitchen and living room space. We are glad you enjoyed Caffe Tre Fantastico’s coffee and happy hour during your stay. We hope that we can welcome you back to Victoria soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hip, modern, Beautiful, tranquil, friendly, convenient. Set in a modern setting with great surroundings. So close to the water front. Best side of the bay to be on........................................

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel will blow your mind. The rooms are bigger than most peoples apartments, and have a fully equipped kitchen so it makes traveling with children very easy. Kids had a great time in the pool and the Hotel is only 2 blocks from main street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed over one night. It was in a walkable distance from the downtown so it was very convenient. The staffs at the front desk greeted us kindly.
The rooms were clean and nice, but it was so warm. Could not fall asleep. Noises from the next room did not help. The walls were so thin I could hear everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YUnJj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s convenient downtown location and clean rooms. We thank you for acknowledging our friendly Front Desk team. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the guests in the room next to yours. We hope we were made aware of this as our hotel does not tolerate loud disturbances and diligently follows up as soon as we are informed. We are also sorry to hear you found the room too warm. If you choose to stay with us again, we do have fans for the room that are available by request . We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed in a luxury one bedroom suite and found it to be very well laid out and equipment. Essentially a small one bedroom apartment with a washer/dryer, and reasonably well equipped kitchen. The location was great as your very close to the waterfront but removed enough to avoid the crowds. I will stay here again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so happy you enjoyed the one bedroom luxury suite and found it to have a good layout and be well equipped. We are also glad you found the location of the hotel to be convenient to downtown but also quietly tucked away from crowds. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £92 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing