We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design, poor sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice design, poor sleep”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Negatives:

* King bed was much too hard for our liking, and we prefer firm beds. Pullout sofa bed inversely was much too soft. Tried both and got a lousy night's sleep.
* Carpets in B tower in 2nd floor were well worn, stained, and generally dirty. Probably due to it being a pet floor. We brought our pooch and did everything to ensure she did not have any accidents in the facilities, which we succeeded at.

Positives:

* The hotel is very nice. Contemporary, koi fish, elongated fire place, cute little restaurant attached, nice spa, swimming pool, atrium area (wedding ceremony was being held). Great design -- living roof on visible lower section, balconies, kitchens, so feels like your own condo.
* Very clean inside the unit, well laid out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Toku99 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are sorry to hear you did not have a restful sleep during your stay and found the hallway carpets to be worn. We value your feedback and will pass this on to management to look into further. We value all feedback given to us and are happy you found the suite to be very clean and enjoyed the koi fish, café and the other amenities we have to offer. Again, we thank you for your honest feedback and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    476
    129
    71
    47
See reviews for
767
678
60
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our only plans were to see a temporary exhibit at the Royal BC Museum and then spend a few days in Victoria. We ended up having a great trip. Stayed at a beautiful hotel within walking distance of everything. it was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Your Review
Lovely atmosphere and very clean suites. Overall a great experience given the location. We highly recommend the theater for children and adult movies and am looking forward to return once the roof top garden is complete.



Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so happy you had a great experience during your stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed the theatre during and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My family and I love staying here. We book into this hotel every chance we get when we are in Victoria. The rooms are beautiful, nice views, very clean. The front desk staff have always been very kind and helpful. It has an excellent location, right downtown. My mother stayed here when my father was in Victoria for medical issues and they were very accommodating since she didn't know how long she would be there and had to keep extending.
Would suggest this hotel to everyone. Price is higher than some other hotels in the area but totally worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcihmond
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great location within walking distance to many sights and restaurants in Victoria.Lovely all suite hotel ,well stocked kitchen area and good sized rooms.
Pool clean and sitting area in lobby comfortable and beautiful with all lush plants

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Boni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello from The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel during your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the suites to be well stocked and sizeable. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We only stayed one night but this hotel is great. The location is close to ideal, the finishes and cleanliness of our room was top notch, the lobby is beautiful, safe parking etc. We've found a new place to stay at the Parkside when we visit Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Booked in coordination with BC Ferries for a reasonable deal. Very comfortable and convenient suite with balcony. Overall very good with a minor complaint about condition of floor at the entrance and outdated selection of TV options. We've stayed before and would do so again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so glad you found your suite to be comfortable and convenient. We thank you for your honest feedback in regards to the floor condition and TV options. We will pass this valuable information on to management and look into this further. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Property: The Parkside Hotel & Spa
Address: 810 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria
The Parkside Hotel & Spa Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing