We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Environmentally friendly restaurant”
Review of Big Wheel Burger

Big Wheel Burger
Ranked #204 of 1,205 Restaurants in Victoria
Restaurant details
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Environmentally friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We ordered two cheeseburgers and a Poutine (fries, gravy and cheese curds) and drinks. Prices were reasonable and everything including the cups and cutlery are biodegradable and you wouldn't know it as they were good quality. The chalk boards inside explain how conscious they really are, real nice to see. The burgers were good with the softest hamburger bun I have had in a while. The Poutine was a little lacking, the gravy tasted like it was from a can, I prefer my gravy from scratch, therefore I am very particular about my gravies and only a personal preference, the fries were very crispy and there were a lot of cheese curds. We split this between the two of us and we couldn't finish it. The restaurant is self serve style with plenty of seating and lots of windows to people watch in the Cook St Village, a quaint little area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherrielis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    17
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We live a block away from this eatery and on many occasions enjoyed a burger, fries and a beer. This Sunday past we walked in at 9 PM and were utterly disgusted at the filth, everywhere. The tables, chair seats and floor were filthy. Used napkins, dropped food...can't even say just how bad it was. It will be a long time before we go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn and Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

I tried this place right after they opened and it was just OK. I'm glad I went back and gave it another try, because now that they are fully up and running they're cranking out really first rate burgers. Their menu can be a bit confusing, so my tip would be just go to the counter and ask for exactly what you want - they will be happy to make it for you. They also offer kids meals. Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liketospend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience, good food and very conscious locally owned/operated restaurant.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Been a few times and never dissatisfied with the food or the service. People may claim its costly but when it supports a local business instead of the 'big conglomerate' burger joint. It is well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bpacker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Big on flavour burgers”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Organic, locally sourced, freshly prepared burgers. A great place to drop by for a quick beer and burger or with the family. Not a fancy setting--just great food, prepared fresh for you. Terrific fries. Self-serve at the counter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank prideaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Wheel Burger also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Big Wheel Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing