We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently Remodeled and Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
SEQUIM
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Recently Remodeled and Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This property is currently being remodeled. There are comfortable new beds, new carpets, and other new amenities. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. While the location is a short distance from downtown, it is only a couple of blocks from a major shopping mall. There's a restaurant across the street and other options within a few blocks. Only knock on the place is that the air conditioner hardly put out any cold air, but I assume that will be part of their remodeling process. Will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the third (top) floor. While it's a good sleep not to have anyone thumping on the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjnjjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
The management and staff would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a great stay with us. As for the air conditioner, we are already working to replace them with much more efficient ones. Thank you once again and hopefully will will see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    57
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
58
61
29
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed there four nights. The beds were very comfortable and the room service was excellent. Near to the inner harbour and the main attractions of Victoria. Neighborhood is good and there is a convenience store within two minutes walk. We stayed there in Victoria Day and the rally passed through the Douglas St. which is in front of the hotel. The staffs of the hotel are friendly. I would like to stay here again and also recommend others to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmkj_kmkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
The management and staff would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to ready that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I highly reccommend this hotel to everyone that comes to Victoria! The service was fantastic from the moment we walked in. They made sure we were well taken care of and even helped us with our bags to the room! The room was very clean and much nicer than it appears in the pictures. As this was our first time to visit Victoria,the front desk was very helpful with suggesting the best places to visit, they even called multiple venues for us to ensure it was open and that we would have a great time! They really went out of their way for us and I will happily come back and stay here again. If you want excellent service, great value for the price, cleanliness, a great location than definielty stay at the Arbutus Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squishnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Arbutus Inn. We look forward to having you as a guest again on your next trip to Victoria.

Thank you.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff are friendly, attentive, and very helpful. Our group booking went off without a hitch, and everyone in our crew was happy there. The National Car rental in the lobby just made things even easier.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ScorpioDan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for booking your group into the Arbutus Inn and writing a review on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to have your group stay with us. Everyone seemed to really be enjoying their vacation and exploring the Island with all the wonderful things to see and do. All the best to you and again thank you for your review and we look forward to any of your future tours.
Thank you,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We went there for two nights. First impression was the stinky lobby(if we could call that area lobby). Nobody greets us. The building looks very old. The room was stinky as well. The thermostat didn't work and we should sleep on the open window. The washroom's door can't lock at all. I won't recommend it to anybody. There are a lot of inn and hotels over there, just research deeply.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mia54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Mia54321
Thank you for our review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that you did not have a great stay at our hotel. I just wish you had brought forth your comments to us at the front desk or me directly while you were here. We have done a lot of upgrades through out the hotel including the lobby which we feel is quite spacious. In January of 2013 we upgraded the heating system to the rooms and changed over all the thermostats. Not sure why at this point yours was not working as we could have fixed that right away. All the washroom doors in the hotel do lock for privacy. Again I would have wanted to hear your comments while you were here so we could address them right away.
Our front desk is manned 24 hours a day so it’s very difficult to respond that no one was there to greet you. Please feel free to call me directly and ask for the hotel manager as we do not want you leaving unhappy. Again thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived on Dec 21st after a very long drive and stayed 9 nights...very clean rooms with comfy beds. The staff is incredible here - very friendly and really fast wtih every request. Called for towels a few times and within a minute they were at the door with more. I was very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay fairly close to the action at a very decent price. Thanks everyone for making our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyBoyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Arrived Christmas day to a welcoming atmosphere, clean and cozy room and very polite staff! Our room had two queen beds...the best sleep ever in a hotel. The rooms had been updated, new furniture, bedding, etc. Great cozy sleep, nice and quiet, didn't hear a sound from the outside or other rooms. This is just off a very busy road (Douglas Street) and we didn't hear a thing! The owners obviously put money and thought into the inside...the outside looks small and plain...but go ahead in and see your room...Nice!! The staff were all very pleasant and most helpful..WIFI kept up to all of our use, lots of channels on the TV. Great location, can walk to Mayfair Mall in about 5 mins and a do-able walk to downtown Victoria. Lots of good restaurants to chose from nearby and right on the bus routes. 5 Star from us!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#27 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Property: Arbutus Inn
Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central
Arbutus Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing