We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management Went Far Above & Beyond”
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I just had the unenviable task of finding accommodations for approximately 225 employees to work in Victoria for two weeks during the height of the tourist season.

The management and staff of the Arbutus Inn went far above and beyond to accommodate our needs.

• In an extremely crowded hotel, they were able to squeeze in bookings for some last minute crew members.
• Knowing that we were working nights, management considerately delayed their housekeeping staff so as not to disturb our employees. This was all done at their own expense.
• If there was an issue, management was on top of it as soon as possible.
• Whenever requested, they moved rooms for people if possible.
• They went out of their way to make sure we had parking for all of our vehicles (some of them oversized).

The management and staff were affable, patient and worked so hard for us that I felt I was taking advantage of them. They helped us get through a tremendously difficult work schedule. It was such a popular place with my crew that I had many others asking if I could move them there.

A big thanks to the Arbutus Inn and everyone who works there!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DeJa-Lowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This property is currently being remodeled. There are comfortable new beds, new carpets, and other new amenities. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. While the location is a short distance from downtown, it is only a couple of blocks from a major shopping mall. There's a restaurant across the street and other options within a few blocks. Only knock on the place is that the air conditioner hardly put out any cold air, but I assume that will be part of their remodeling process. Will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the third (top) floor. While it's a good sleep not to have anyone thumping on the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjnjjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

The management and staff would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a great stay with us. As for the air conditioner, we are already working to replace them with much more efficient ones. Thank you once again and hopefully will will see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed there four nights. The beds were very comfortable and the room service was excellent. Near to the inner harbour and the main attractions of Victoria. Neighborhood is good and there is a convenience store within two minutes walk. We stayed there in Victoria Day and the rally passed through the Douglas St. which is in front of the hotel. The staffs of the hotel are friendly. I would like to stay here again and also recommend others to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kmkj_kmkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

The management and staff would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to ready that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I highly reccommend this hotel to everyone that comes to Victoria! The service was fantastic from the moment we walked in. They made sure we were well taken care of and even helped us with our bags to the room! The room was very clean and much nicer than it appears in the pictures. As this was our first time to visit Victoria,the front desk was very helpful with suggesting the best places to visit, they even called multiple venues for us to ensure it was open and that we would have a great time! They really went out of their way for us and I will happily come back and stay here again. If you want excellent service, great value for the price, cleanliness, a great location than definielty stay at the Arbutus Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squishnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much for the wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Arbutus Inn. We look forward to having you as a guest again on your next trip to Victoria.

Thank you.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff are friendly, attentive, and very helpful. Our group booking went off without a hitch, and everyone in our crew was happy there. The National Car rental in the lobby just made things even easier.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank ScorpioDan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for booking your group into the Arbutus Inn and writing a review on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to have your group stay with us. Everyone seemed to really be enjoying their vacation and exploring the Island with all the wonderful things to see and do. All the best to you and again thank you for your review and we look forward to any of your future tours.
Thank you,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We went there for two nights. First impression was the stinky lobby(if we could call that area lobby). Nobody greets us. The building looks very old. The room was stinky as well. The thermostat didn't work and we should sleep on the open window. The washroom's door can't lock at all. I won't recommend it to anybody. There are a lot of inn and hotels over there, just research deeply.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Mia54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Mia54321
Thank you for our review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that you did not have a great stay at our hotel. I just wish you had brought forth your comments to us at the front desk or me directly while you were here. We have done a lot of upgrades through out the hotel including the lobby which we feel is quite spacious. In January of 2013 we upgraded the heating system to the rooms and changed over all the thermostats. Not sure why at this point yours was not working as we could have fixed that right away. All the washroom doors in the hotel do lock for privacy. Again I would have wanted to hear your comments while you were here so we could address them right away.
Our front desk is manned 24 hours a day so it’s very difficult to respond that no one was there to greet you. Please feel free to call me directly and ask for the hotel manager as we do not want you leaving unhappy. Again thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived on Dec 21st after a very long drive and stayed 9 nights...very clean rooms with comfy beds. The staff is incredible here - very friendly and really fast wtih every request. Called for towels a few times and within a minute they were at the door with more. I was very impressed and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay fairly close to the action at a very decent price. Thanks everyone for making our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HollyBoyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
985 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
837 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 46 in Victoria
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
#36 of 46 in Victoria
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £48 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central
Arbutus Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing