We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital City Center Hotel
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow what a difference”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I have staye there twice in the past, not the best place to stay but it was cheap and close to the Arena and down town, I just stayed again last week, at first I was shocked at the price increase, but when I went into the room, It had been completly renovated, Clean. I asked what happened, they said they have a new owner and management and they cleaning it up. So far so good, Can't wait to see the finish project.
The poolside lounge and huge deck was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zacko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    103
    47
    13
    12
See reviews for
59
93
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very satisfied. Stayed 4 nights in room 300. Two double beds. Everything worked. A bit smelly but very clean. Desk service fine. Paid 56$ through hotels.com. very good value for money. Perfect location on Douglas Street, 15-min walking distance from Victoria Conference Center. Shuttle bus from airport stops right at hotel. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 300 was just fine. No cupboard though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Looking for a great deal in Victoria - this is it!!!
Great location in DT - close to all the action yet far away to get a good night's rest.
Courteous and helpful staff - They stored our bikes overnight in their staff office.
Nice clean rooms - if all you are looking for is a clean room with nice beds to help your recharge for your adventures, this place has it all. Some of their rooms have a kitchenette option, so you can save some bucks if you want to eat in.

All in all, we had a comfortable stay and would go back if we ever find ourselves in this beautiful city!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandereratheart_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had been to this place in 2011 and found it ok. A little old but kept up reasonably well. So, we decided to go again just this week. We made a reservation after looking at the website and found that the price including a Continental Breakfast for $69.95. We had to change our reservation because the people we had organized to look after our dog cancelled on us. We were accommodated in a room that would take our pet. It was right beside where they were doing renos on the windows and the noise was horrific. Also, it was really cold and they informed us that they had turned off the heat because of the warm weather last week, then provided us with a broken down looking space heater. The next thing that happened was the fellow from the front desk called and said they would be working a later shift on the reno project and we opted for another room - across the hall and down two doors. When we got all packed up to move to the next room, we stepped out into the hall and it reeked of pot! Room # 2 - the toilet seat was broken - the hinge was nearly gone so sitting was a precarious endeavour.
We went out for dinner with our friends and when we got back I complained about our room and they suggested they had nothing that could accommodate our pet, so we put our dog in the car for the night and got a "remodelled" ??? room of the 4th floor which was filthy. There is not much more room to say how filthy and then in the morning we were informed - no breakfast. When I told the clerk that we would be paying the bill and leaving, she said the charges were $97.95 and I told her that our dog was not in room and that the price was supposed $69.95 without the dog. She said, "Oh no, our prices are $79.95 for a night and as to no breakfast she told us that she was one that took the reservation and that she would have told us that there was no breakfast. I suggested that since this hotel seems to be falling apart, she should get a new, better job and her reply was that she liked her job. Arrogantly! I told her that I would put this message on Facebook, on TripAdvisor and tell everyone and everyone am talking to Victoria and elsewhere that this place should NOT be on ANYONE's list of accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liltylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

First thing is that this isn't the Ritz. But that is also a good thing. It is, however, affordable, clean, and downtown so its near a lot of things. Plus the beds are comfy, the room was quiet, and they are also pet friendly. Another thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hahnsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Visit with my uncle and granny, we went to the Butchart gardens then get some rest in the room, it's a bit small but consider clean and good location. We walked down to the harbour around the evening, the sun is about going down, the light of the ocean's reflection is quiet beautiful. At the end of the walkway, there's a British-building since Victoria island was a colony hundreds years ago now is their legislative building. It feels like you never take enough shots of it!

美麗的海港,海鷗走在路上,美麗的海港,海鷗走在路上,美麗的海港,海鷗走在路上,美麗的海港,海鷗走在路上,美麗的海港,海鷗走在路上,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
899 reviews
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#40 of 49 in Victoria
195 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
179 reviews
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital City Center Hotel

Property: Capital City Center Hotel
Address: 1961 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K7, Canada (Formerly City Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New upgraded hotel walking distance to Save on Foods Memorial Center and Downtown Victoria. Hotel features 84 Guest with Free Wifi, Free Guest Services Computer, Free Parking. Featuring the only Licensed Poolside garden Deck in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel City Center
Capital City Center Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing