We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capital City Center Hotel
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Long story short. This is the second time I tried to outsmart Expedia by booking the 40% of deal. There were only two places listed with 2.5 stars and a pool. This wasn't one of them and surprise I was booked here. Turned out ok. The parking was across the street, no problem. The staff was great. The room was nice and clean and beds great. There was some staining of the ceiling of the shower. The rates were great. The pool is a joke though and its in front of the beer hall for all the old bar flies in Victoria. This never bother us and our room was just above. We had money left over to enjoy Victoria. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The kitchenettes haven't been remodeled and are very cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rndm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights because the price was right. It's being renovated, which it's in desperate need of! Rooms were nice and beds comfy. Bathtub/shower was very dated I was not impressed with the location right on the main road, very noisy. Walking the area during day was fine but felt a little shady at night. Pool was nice, not small kid friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We made a last minute booking for the long weekend. All of the downtown hotels were sold out so we expanded our search and ended up booking the Capital City Center. It wasn't much to look at from the outside but the rooms have been renovated and were decent for the price. Ours came with a small kitchenette with a stove and a microwave.

It looked like some renovations were in progress in the hallways to replace carpet and such. This is probably a good thing as the building does seem to be a bit older.

The pool is outdoors, which was fine for the hot weather we had. The kids had a great time. The poolside bar service was great and, according to their website, it's the only hotel in town with poolside bar service.

We didn't go to the hotel restaurant because it looked like it was closed for breakfast but there was a White Spot right next door.

The location is close enough to downtown to walk (about 15 minutes to the Inner Harbour). For the price we paid, I have no complaints. It was clean, close enough to where we wanted to go on foot, and was a lot cheaper than anything we would have booked downtown.

I wouldn't have a problem staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zr1100c3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Its very old,and kinda dirty. Comfortable beds,nice tv and staff.No breakfast for longstays people. Walk distance to Downtown,nice view from the up floors,bus stop near. Parking lot free. Free Local calls,nice but simple bathrooms. Wi-fi sucks!

Room Tip: Up floors bedrooms are the best and the quitest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitoria_Freire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

First impressions were not exactly good. You have to park on the road which is always a worry. The check in was quick but as impersonal as the lobby. We were allocated a room on an upper floor and traveled there in the lift which is very small even for two people and luggage. The room was not top spec but was clean and perfectly adequate for one night. We didn't find the room for breakfast so checked out and hit the highway. The hotel is situated 15 minutes walk from the harbour area

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I have staye there twice in the past, not the best place to stay but it was cheap and close to the Arena and down town, I just stayed again last week, at first I was shocked at the price increase, but when I went into the room, It had been completly renovated, Clean. I asked what happened, they said they have a new owner and management and they cleaning it up. So far so good, Can't wait to see the finish project.
The poolside lounge and huge deck was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zacko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Very satisfied. Stayed 4 nights in room 300. Two double beds. Everything worked. A bit smelly but very clean. Desk service fine. Paid 56$ through hotels.com. very good value for money. Perfect location on Douglas Street, 15-min walking distance from Victoria Conference Center. Shuttle bus from airport stops right at hotel. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 300 was just fine. No cupboard though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
943 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
224 reviews
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
187 reviews
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#40 of 49 in Victoria
206 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 49 in Victoria
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital City Center Hotel

Address: 1961 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K7, Canada (Formerly City Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £56 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New upgraded hotel walking distance to Save on Foods Memorial Center and Downtown Victoria. Hotel features 84 Guest with Free Wifi, Free Guest Services Computer, Free Parking. Featuring the only Licensed Poolside garden Deck in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel City Center
Capital City Center Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing