We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, very clean, great service. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capital City Center Hotel
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Don't judge this place by the front facade or the lobby decor, they are both just average. Both the staff and the rooms are above average.

The front desk representative, Adrian and the housekeeping staff went above and beyond to anticipate and fulfill our needs.

Rooms were obviously rehabbed fairly recently. Nice furnishings, good TV and very clean.

I didn't expect much walking in and was very pleased with my experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Alantravelreviewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TTGeneralManager, General Manager at Capital City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We here at the Capital City Center Hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel has been recently upgraded and is now working on the exterior. I personally appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff for they are a great bunch of hard working individuals who always try to anticipate our guests needs and requirements. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

I had checked into the hotel earlier in the day. The check in attendent was quite friendly and professional. However later in the evening when I retired to my room the desk attendant was rude, antagonistic, Suspicious of our whereabouts, and basically a completely miserable dick. Beware the fat bald guy..

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CarolineCrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TTGeneralManager, General Manager at Capital City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Hotel enforces a Quiet Time policy between 11pm and 7am within our guestrooms as well as hallways, stairwells and common areas. To assure that all guest receive a comfortable safe accommodations our staff are required to only allow registered hotel guests access to these areas. While many appreciate our diligence I can understand that you may have felt uncomfortable. If you wish to supply more details please contact me at GM@capitalcitycenterhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Perfectly average - clean, affordable, easy to find. Location was in walking distance to downtown and other places we wanted to check out. Staff is friendly and personable. Walls are thin though, we could hear the couple next door.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank k604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have seen this hotel go through many changes over the years as well as owners. It has had a lot done to it in the past few months and the rooms are great.The last thing to be done will be the bathtubs so they are still the old color but in nice shape.Its a great location to all downtown Victoria attractions and Has a poolside deck that serves food and drinks during the summer,in the meantime why not enjoy a drink in the lounge with the friendly staff.

Room Tip: I had a King size bed over looking the pool/new beds and could have slept all day/It was snowing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiberious555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have to spend extended periods working in Victoria BC and hate hotels. But I needed a place and booked into this establishment which is located just north of China Town out of the busiest part of the centre from walking distance to all. I have a huge room with new beds, a very large bathroom and shower, and a small kitchenette. They are just completing extensive renovations. The hotel has a small restaurant with above average but inexpensive meals and an intimate bar. There is a fine outdoor pool that closed in October. Parking is ample and free and monitored so secure.
The best part though is the very resourceful and friendly staff. There is a 24 hour presence at the desk and everyone who works there seems to know what is going on. They are helpful and friendly. I have probably stayed here a total of more than 100 nights in the last two years and have never been disappointed.
I highly recommend the hotel as a good value for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms on Discovery because of the lighting and they are quieter. I also like the 4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrBWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I'm loath to call this place 'hotel' as it is more like a bad hostel than has seen better days. This is an awful place. It's dated, dark, cold and very tired. Although some improvements have been made to improve the appearance of the hotel, they are largely cosmetic and, as one critic posted, 'nothing more than lipstick on a pig'. The area around the hotel is not safe as there is a large population of drug users, people with mental illness and homelessness. Parking is free but you run a risk parking in the provided spaces across the street as it is very dark and secluded. Cars have been both damaged and broken into in the hotel's free lot as there is no security nor anyone looking after the lot. The internet connection is very poor and the signal often drops for no reason. The staff that I had interactions with were decent enough people with some consideration for the needs of guests but there were certainty no superstars. The fact is that the hotel needs to be stripped down to the studs and re-built as a boutique property in order to be a viable enterprise. The very little cosmetic changes that were made do nothing to the overall image of the property which is very tired and run down. Save you money and find a better place to stay while in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bmcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Long story short we had a problem with overbooking our room and we spoke to 3 separate staff members (including the manager of the hotel) regarding this issue. We were told three different things by three different staff regarding solving this one issue.
When we finally contacted the manager of the hotel he yelled at my fiance and was so rude and unhelpful. Because of this issue, the poor management and lack of training of the staff; this hotel ripped us off of over $100.00.

Room Tip: Avoid booking this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kilikina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara T, General Manager at Capital City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review. However I am not sure you have the right hotel. I am the General Manger of the Capital City Center Hotel, and I am not male: nor have I had any situations with over booking since my appointment as manager May 1st, 2013. I would like to invite you to call me and supply more details so I can have the opportunity to tackle any problems with guest services. I can assure you that the staff are hardworking, dedicated and take great pride in their personal interaction with all hotel patrons. Tamara, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
985 reviews
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#28 of 46 in Victoria
496 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#35 of 46 in Victoria
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
The Strathcona Hotel
#37 of 46 in Victoria
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital City Center Hotel

Address: 1961 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K7, Canada (Formerly City Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £51 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New upgraded hotel walking distance to Save on Foods Memorial Center and Downtown Victoria. Hotel features 84 Guest with Free Wifi, Free Guest Services Computer, Free Parking. Featuring the only Licensed Poolside garden Deck in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel City Center
Capital City Center Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing