We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upbeat Celtic and Good Food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hermann's Jazz Club Restaurant
Ranked #410 of 1,196 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Upbeat Celtic and Good Food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hermann's has been known for decades, in Victoria, to present a wide variety of entertainment in an intimate setting. Reminiscent of the great jazz clubs of Toronto and New York, Hermann's has been able to compete in a very difficult market.
We were treated to a young Canadian, classically trained violin artist, Kierah, who delivered traditional and contemporary Celtic music on the fiddle; many of which were original tunes.
The food was very good. To be honest, much better than expected. The salads are fresh. The steaks and burgers are fine.
The cover charge varies, at the club, depending on what entertainment is being offered. They do accept reservations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited Hermann's before and we always have a great time. Great band and excellent service. The cover charge is reasonable. They are not pushy for drinks and they also serve delicious food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank missfitVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor management - inefficient and rude”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I would rather write no review than write a bad review. I have taken a month to consider writing this and was prompted by yet further rudeness from their reservation staff. The story goes like this - we were in Victoria for a week and wanted to visit a jazz club, we found that Hermanns was reccommended and having a a birthday party. So we looked up their web site and rang the phone number, the answer phone said leave a message and they would get back to us, to cover our bases we also sent an email with our contact number and requesting a reservation. We had no reply to either so we left another phone message.
On the night, even though we had not had a reply we thought we'd take a punt and turn up - early. I explained that I had phoned and emailed for a booking not had a reply so we had arrived early to get a table, the woman at the reception desk informed me, in what could only be considered to be a surly manner, that they had been fully booked for weeks, didn't I already know that and they don't check their answer phone or emails on their days off. If we wanted we could queue and and wait to see if one to the bookings didn't turn up. Normally I would take this in my stride but she was so rude. As a visitor from New Zealand would I know that they were booked. There was nothing on their web site to tell you they were fully booked, nothing on the door and no response to messages.
Today a month later I received a response to my email
" Which show do you mean? We are closed this Monday."
No greeting just what you see here signed by the writer with salutation.


So the moral of this story - if you don't get to speak to a person for a booking, don't turn up, you'll probably be turned away. Or worse you can have a response a month later.

I can't comment about, the show, the food, the service, all of which may well be exemplary.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank k8ienzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great set tonight”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Went to Hermann's for the first time tonight and had a great time. The highlight of the evening was Curl (http://members.shaw.ca/curlgirls/) - they were great. Relaxed atmosphere, people having fun, dance area as well. We had some beers, wine and soft drinks with some Nacho and then later on fries. food was typical club/restaurant fare but service was great as were the drinks. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveH250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best Jazz in Victoria, Often no cover”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Herman's is a Victoria Jazz institution. The best players on tour play at Herman's when they come through town. Local High School Jazz bands often play from 5 to 7 PM. Food is decent and reasonably priced. Try the yam fries!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hermann's Jazz Club Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Hermann's Jazz Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing