We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not great value.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trutch Manor Tourist Suites
Ranked #67 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great value.”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at Trutch Manor recently and it was clean and had every thing we needed in the suite, which is appointed in a Victorian period style. The bed was a creaky but comfy double sized bed, and the shower was knee height due to a slanted ceiling. My first thought was "this is great" but then I remembered that I'd payed $130 per night for the privilege of sleeping in the small bed and contorting myself into the shower. Nothing wrong with the room - I just felt that it was over priced.

Sherril the owner is a very nice lady, heart of gold, means well, but consistently forgetful which I found frustrating. Her food was excellent however, and she is cheerful and caring.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galatseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
7
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband booked a suite, letting the owner know that we would arrive at 10:30 pm. She said she would leave a key under the mat, a post-it on the door, but to find, she said to call her at 10:30. When we arrived, we called... and didn't answer. The only apartment with a key under the door was filthy, with dirty sheets on the bed, and full of cobwebs - is that where we were supposed to stay? We called her nonstop for an hour, leaving messages, but she never called us back.

At 11:30 pm, in a city we had never been in, during tourist season with everything booked, we were stranded. If we hadn't rented a car, we would have slept on the street. Even on Saturday, she never called back to apologize.

In the end, we were extremely fortunate to get referred to a new bed and breakfast that was just starting out, and it was a fabulous experience. Don't bother with Trutch Manor.

Room Tip: My tip is not to stay here, seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Canuck_in_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Pender Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

If you've stayed here before, you will be disappointed. the house is the same beautiful place with great rooms and location, but...
the new owner has had it long enough that she should have the bugs worked out, but she hasn't. we arrived to check in at 4:50pm and had to phone to get the host. she was shopping, so we had to wait about 15 min. for her to let us in, not so bad, but still, she was expecting us. for some reason, she upgraded us to a very nice suite, which is great, but it wasn't ready. we sat and chatted while she made the bed and cleaned up the kitchen. ok, i can deal with that, stuff happens. but the room has not had a proper cleaning for months, i have never seen so much dust, the couch was covered with crumbs, someones opened water bottle in the fridge, no tp. it doesn't seem to be getting the same attention that Les and Marilyn paid it. the new owner has let out the basement unit where L&M lived and served breakfast. the new owner lives across the street and intends to serve breakfast in her Parlour Room. that seems a bit lame to me. i don't necessarily want to get dressed before breakfast let alone put on coat and shoes just to have breaky. (you'll notice i haven't referred to her by name. that's because she never introduced herself, so i don't know it) so after cleaning up the rooms she asked if we would want breakfast. well Duh!!! B&B!!! we new she was a new owner and we had high expectations after Marilyn's great feast, so we were very disappointed. "do you want bacon and eggs or fruit and cereal?"
we asked for bacon and eggs. then she left. since she hasn't got her parlour set up yet, she would bring our breakfast over in the morning. it was bacon and scrambled eggs with toast and OJ. garnished with a slice of orange and avacado. she did not ask if we wanted coffee or tea, (she did "remember" to ask us as she served the foil covered plates if we wanted coffee or tea, but who wants to wait for her to run across the street and make it, while our warm breakfast got cooler) white or brown toast, how we wanted our eggs, or even a choice of juice. very disappointing, we will not be going back. it's still a lovely building in a great area, but there are many, many, many other choices in victoria where you will receive the level service B&Bers expect for that kind of money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank wildernessbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Trutch Manor has been sold. Les and Marilyn are no longer involved in any way. We've stayed there several times a summer for eight years. We will miss Les and Marilyn as our inn keepers, and we wish them well. The new owners have a very tough act to follow. It will be difficult for them to keep the standards so high, the breakfasts so good and the rates so low... but I sincerely hope they can.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2010

What an incredible place to bookend my 8 day motorcycle adventure from Seattle across the heart of British Columbia and down Vancouver Island. Les and Marilyn were incredible, gracious hosts. Les made this middle aged biker and his iron horse feel right at home, and Les' dry sense of humor was a real treat. His recommendation for dinner at the Beagle was just what I needed after a long day in the saddle.

Marilyn's breakfast was out of this world and she made me feel a part of the family. Together they are quite the pair.

The room was quiet and cozy, and just right. I slept like a rock and hope to visit again soon. Perhaps on the next motorcycle adventure. :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllenSnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benton, IL
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Within walking distance to down town, but on a quiet street. We had never stayed at a B&B, but this sounded too good to pass up. Les was very helpful with site seeing routes and dinner ideas. Marilyn's breakfasts were gourmet quality and beautifully arranged. Other house guests were return guests, so we got a lot of helpful information about Victoria.
The house was beautifully restored, quaint, with plenty of room for a few days stay. We spent two nights, and would have loved to stay longer, but needed to move on. We were on our way to Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmith_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

I find it puzzling that so many people give this B & B 5 stars. Yes there are a lot of good things going for it (it is very clean and comfortable for a start), but like a few of the previous reviewers I found that Les's attitude left a lot to be desired. We arrived late (about 8 pm) after a long and tiring journey on Greyhound Bus from Port Hardy and 1 of the first things he wanted was for us to pay the balance for our stay (we had already paid over £250 many months previously for our 5 night stay.) We were also told the 3 'Rules' of the house which I don't believe is necessary; but the weidest of all was that there is a sign in the kitchen asking us to use the toilet paper twice! (no spare roll in the bathroom either!)
One of the main advantages of Trutch Manor is that you have an 'apartment' which means that we had an extremely well-equipped kitchen with dining table. However, there was no tea or coffee - the only place out of 11 that we stayed in during our holiday not to provide this.
We had booked The Den, which is the cheapest of their rooms, and our bathroom was more like a large cupboard and the basin was actually a small kitchen sink unit; it was just adequate.
Marilyn is lovely, and as everyone else has said, the breakfasts are wonderful - infact I had to ask for smaller portions. Being a fairly large B & B it was great chatting to such a wide variety of guests over the time we were there.
Another plus is that it is situated in a lovely quiet neighbourhood - about a 1/2 hour walk to the harbour - but there is a small suburb about 5 mins walk away with restaurants and cafes.
If you can ignore the 'quirks' (and there were more that I haven't mentioned) then this is a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.2 mi away
The Postern Gate Inn
The Postern Gate Inn
#9 of 18 in Victoria
1 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prior Castle Inn
Prior Castle Inn
#27 of 92 in Victoria
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savory Gardens
Savory Gardens
#66 of 92 in Victoria
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
#25 of 92 in Victoria
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaconsfield Inn
Beaconsfield Inn
#12 of 92 in Victoria
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haterleigh Heritage Inn
Haterleigh Heritage Inn
#29 of 92 in Victoria
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trutch Manor Tourist Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trutch Manor Tourist Suites

Property: Trutch Manor Tourist Suites
Address: 621 Trutch St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 4C3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trutch Manor Tourist Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Trutch Manor Tourist Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trutch Manor Tourist Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing