We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Seafood Pasta”
Review of Stone's Throw Restaurant - CLOSED

Stone's Throw Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: Canadian, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
La Ronge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Amazing Seafood Pasta”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had supper here on the last night of our vacation on Vancouver Island. If Seafood Pasta is on the menu, I will order it, so I feel I have a lot to compare this meal to, and this restaurant was fantastic! Hats off to the chef and also to Michelle, our server. She took good care of us and made our doing experience very pleasant. We would most definitely return to this restaurant next time we visit Victoria!
The entire experience, the ambiance, the service and the amazing meal made this a great way to spend our last evening on the beautiful island!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel4Fun56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food, friendly service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

enjoyed brunch there - good food, well-prepared, generous servings for a reasonable price. (eat here on the weekend and avoid the lineups at the trendier downtown breakfast places!) have also had lunch - good soups, chicken quesadilla a little oily but tastey; my friends love the triangle burgers. used the catering service for sandwich platters which had a great variety of wraps, breads and fillings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mscomedydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great waitress called Megan.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a Restaurant that could do with some updating, it is attached to the Best Western Carlton Hotel. The supper and the breakfast that we had here were hot and very acceptable, family but that is exactly what we wanted. The waitress saved the day though, Megan was attentive and very pleasant, and made it a much pleasanter experience. Thank you.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Needs to be tweaked!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I make a habit of not eating at hotel restaurants other than for breakfast. In my experience hotel restaurants seem to be over priced, pretentious and serve mediocre food. Stone's Throw isn't any of these things. The good.... they seem to have a pretty decent chef. The bad.... absolutely no charm, looks like a Denny's right down to the ketchup bottles on the table at 7 pm. Both my husband and I had the seafood pasta. It was excellent and reasonably priced. However, we had also ordered a caesar salad which the server wanted to bring at the same time as the pasta.... a definite no no with us. Also, the wine list is very limited,maybe 6-8 bottles and the one we chose they didn't have. So not a bad experience overall. If they are just want to be so so for the hotel customers it's OK but with the chef they have they could do so much better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good square meal, well served”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in the hotel attached and decided to try A Stone's Throw to save travelling outside. There were a couple of other tables but generally the dining room was quiet, which we liked. The server was new (by his own admission), really concerned that we were happy and well taken care of. He did a great job! I did the Dine Around Victoria 3 course dinner. The mussels in a dill sauce were awesome. Lots of sauce, very creative flavours. My blackened snapper was very spicy but had no particular distinguishable flavour, my mom loved her New York steak and shrimp. Ceasar salad--which was served on the dinner plate--was well prepared. The very large portion of home fries accompanying both meals seemed overbalanced relative to the rest of the plate. There were no vegetables on either plate. Baked potatoes were not an option, which seems a little strange when steak is offered on the menu. My GF chocolate torte for dessert was just amazing. We would go back..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stone's Throw Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing