We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-managed, best value in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well-managed, best value in Victoria”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is a model of the way a hostel should be run. Friendly knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, secure, great downtown location, excellent value, good wi-fi on all 4 floors, bar and restaurant, daytime and nightly activities, nearby parking, all kinds of maps and information, etc. Rooms are small and basic (quieter on upper floors) with plenty of clean, shared bathrooms, an unbeatable value!

Room Tip: While there's no elevator, rooms on 3rd and 4th floor are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRogers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello and thank you for such a glowing review!
It’s a pleasure to hear that you thought so highly of us, from our front desk team and housekeeping staff, to our security measures, our downtown location, our handy travel information, all the way to our reliable wifi and tasty Cafe! We try to think of everything so that our guests can make the best use of their time enjoying beautiful Victoria BC.
We’re so glad you took the time to give us positive feedback on what we provide here at Ocean Island, it lets us know we’re on the right track to providing the best possible experience at unbeatable rates in Victoria. If you ever find yourself back in this lovely city in the future, we’d love for you to stop in again!
Kind regards,
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    197
    102
    41
    19
See reviews for
22
125
235
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The location was great. I took the ferry from Vancouver to Victoria, then the bus, which dropped us off right downtown. From the hostel, it's a short 10 minute walk to the waterfront. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, so they stored our bags as we explored the city. When I got back at night, I got a private room on the first floor. At first I was worried that it would be too noisy, but it wasn't a problem. And the bathroom was right across the hall. The bed was comfortable. The room had a fan, table, 2 chairs and a small fridge. Just what we needed for an affordable place to stay. A good value.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here in May when we first moved to Victoria. Got a small private room with a shared bathroom. Hostel is great location with friendly staff. Rooms are small and basic but great if you're not looking for anything fancy. You can pay a little more and upgrade to en suite bathroom. Cooked one night in their well equipped kitchen. Surprisingly not as noisy as you would expect for down-town location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Else1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hello there,
We’re so pleased that Ocean Island left such a positive impression on you - thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit in May! Comfortable, inexpensive accommodation is what we’re all about here, and it sounds as though we were exactly what you were looking for. It’s great that our basic private room and amenities like our common kitchen provided you with what you needed while you searched for a permanent home in Victoria!
Welcome to our wonderful city, feel free to drop in and visit whenever you’d like!
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have been to hostels and know what to expect but this one was exceptionally dirty, did not have what was advertised in the room, and the manager named Asher was very rude and rolled her eyes several times when I complained. The other female manager, who also had long dark hair but had what may have been an Irish accent, jumped into my conversation with Asher in order to attack me verbally. I complained about the managers to the owner, who unfortunately never bothered to respond. If a negative experience is addressed properly by an owner or manager, I don't feel it is necessary to post a negative review online. However, this owner missed his opportunity to make things right.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean I, Owner at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for staying with Ocean Island Inn- we’re sorry that you experienced a less than pleasant stay.
We take great pride in the cleanliness here at Ocean Island, and employ a large staff of housekeepers who work around the clock to maintain a high level of cleanliness at all times. As well as the housekeeping supervisor, myself and the managers also check the cleanliness of our property regularly to ensure that the highest standards are met. Considering this, I can say for certain that our inn is not filthy, or exceptionally dirty, as you allege. It is possible that a small detail was overlooked by all of us. To ensure that this does happen, we have implemented some additional checks
The managers you mentioned in your review have been working for Ocean Island for quite some time, and have proven themselves as being very professional and courteous with our guests. So it is extremely difficult to imagine them being rude and uncooperative with you, especially since I have specifically discussed their handling of your complaints with them.
We make great efforts to clearly communicate all the details of our rooms to guests as part of the reservation process- including floor plans and extensive photos of each type of room on our website and in a binder at our front desk. Our staff is trained to explain the options while making a reservation as well, so I’m not sure how you could come to the conclusion that your room did not have what was advertised. Because of the dissatisfaction you expressed with your room during your stay, we upgraded you to a more expensive room free of charge, and gave you a free stay for one night. We feel that this was a very reasonable resolution.
I did receive your complaint, and wrote a response to you the same day. Unfortunately due to a glitch in my email, it wasn't sent, which I didn't realize until I saw your review on Trip Advisor. I apologize for this, as it’s our policy to answer all guest complaints promptly.
Regards,
Kevin B, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Truly, not a great hostel. Crap rooms, but loud and dark.
Good young people vibe, cheap beer and music hold it up.
Paola the barmaid is great. Her frogs are to die for.
Rooms cramped.
Kitchen and equipment poor.
Parking an issue.
Reception staff more focused on being cool than helping.
Avoid if over 25.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gacco29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hi there,
While we appreciate every review we receive, we strongly feel that your description of Ocean Island does not accurately portray what we have to offer. We are unsure what you mean by “crap” rooms; we have 10 different types of rooms, which range from dorms to mini-private rooms, as well as hotel-style ensuite rooms, and apartment-style suites in a tranquil location. We provide extensive information about these options to potential guests online, over the phone and at the front desk to ensure they choose a room that is right for them; if a guest is unhappy with their room our front desk staff will happily assist them in finding a room which better suits them.
As shown by our name, we are not a hostel, since we offer a range of accommodation that suits all budgets and lifestyles. Due to this, and our welcoming atmosphere, our guests are a delightful range in age - our youngest guest was just a few days old, and our oldest was 93!
We’re not sure why parking would be an issue, as we provide almost limitless parking for our guests at a great rate for downtown Victoria, either in our lot or in one across the street.
It’s wonderful news that our bartender provided such great service, and that you enjoyed the cheap beer and live music. As well as being cheap, our large selection of beer comes from Vancouver Island’s best local breweries, and we also offer a wide selection of international beer and other drinks.
Our sunny guest kitchen is large, renovated, and fully equipped with three stoves, two ovens, two microwaves, three sinks, ample fridge space, and a wide assortment of pots, pans, utensils, dishes, etc. It even has more obscure but useful items such as a crock pot and smoothie blender!
We uphold a high level of professionalism at Ocean Island and consistently receive outstanding reviews of our staff. Considering your comment, we will make some extra checks to ensure that our standards are being upheld 100% by all staff.
Happy travels!
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here for two nights a booked a female 6 berth room which was good. This is was my first experience in a hostel abdi felt so welcomed it was unbelieveable! The rooms were quiet spacious for 6 people. 2x fans and open window, freezer/fridge, sink and lockers. The room was hot but i think it was justthe time of year what can you expect with 6 people right? If i was to stay againi would go for a private room and shared bathroom. The bathrooms were clean, maintained and obvisiously recently renovated. The facilites were great with a fun bar, cheap meals and great staff! They even organised a pub crawl which was alot of fun and a way to make new friends ! Very happy traveller!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisboe_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Hello!
We’re so glad you chose Ocean Island as your first backpacker’s experience; it’s always a pleasure to hear that a first-time backpacker has a fun and welcoming time at Ocean Island. Our dorms rooms are a great way to meet new people and save some cash for travelling, and like you mentioned, we also have very affordable private rooms available.
Thank you again for your review! Safe travels, and we hope to see you again sometime.
Ocean Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Got to Victoria after Vancouver ate our budget, we were looking for somewhere cheap to stay for a few days. We stumbled across the Ocean Island Inn and for the money it is perfect. Clean, friendly, good beer, food, bathrooms, laundry and location. Recommended on a budget and in general, awesome place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean I, Manager at Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hello there, and thank you for reviewing us online.
We’re so glad to hear that you found your stay here clean, affordable and friendly - those are the very qualities we strive for! As well as our inexpensive rooms, we also have more upscale accommodation available for not too much more, if you find yourself in Victoria again and aren't on such a tight budget. It sounds as though you had the chance to enjoy our cafe lounge; it’s a perfect place to meet travelers, enjoy an inexpensive meal, and have a few drinks! Thank you once more for the positive review, we’re so glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Regards,
Ocean Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,058 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Property: Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Address: 791 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Victoria, Ocean Island Inn is minutes away from Chinatown, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel and the Royal BC Museum. With easy access to public transit, ferries, and the airport, we're a great home base for exploring the city of Victoria and the rest of Vancouver Island. We have a wide array of rooms to suit your budget and lifestyle, from comfortable 4 or 6 bed dorms to private rooms in all shapes and sizes. Add to that our excellent customer service, clean and secure facilities, and a variety of guest discounts, and you'll see that Ocean Island can't be beat! Ocean Island Amenities: * Free Wi-Fi* 24 hour internet access* 23 shared bathrooms* Rooms with ensuite bathrooms* Fridge in every room* 24 hour Front Desk * Fully equipped shared kitchen* Laundry facilities* Discounts at local businesses including museums, whale watching tours, kayak rentals and more! * Free secure bike and bag storage* Discounted parking* And our very own guide to Victoria so you can enjoy the city like a local.Check us out and you'll see why Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites is considered one of Victoria's best-kept secrets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Hotel Victoria
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing