We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum!”

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
Ranked #75 of 1,180 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famoso is a casual pizzeria serving authentic Neapolitan pizzas made with high quality ingredients in a domed Italian oven. Ideal for a quick lunch or a night out. Enjoy with wine, cocktails and beer.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great pizza. Fresh ingredients. Good service once you figure out that you place your order at a counter and then service is like a regular restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millionmyller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    104
    28
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great pizza for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We were walking and suddenly we smelled this great aroma, it was the smell of pizza cooking coming out of Famoso. We ordered the Margherita, it was delicious. The nice ripe tomato sauce with basil it was nice and crispy crust the center of the pizza guey and saucy. We are every bit of it. They also have great cocktails we hope to try next time.

Helpful?
Thank amezcua67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Terrific Wood-Fired Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

A unique little restaurant with great pizza! We loved the wood-fired pizza and salads but found the soup was served lukewarm on both occasions we ate there. Be sure to try the gelato before leaving, the salted chocolate caramel was really memorable. Service was fast and the prices are very good - just $10 for a lunch of "personal pan" sized pizza and soup or salad. Note to management, please turn down the music. It was hard to have a conversation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandgal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Wonderful food. We were visiting Market Square and decided to try Famosa. There were 2 parties waiting ahead of us, but it only took about 10 minutes for a table. The server brought out some water and explained the ordering system. We enjoyed a crispy/chewy wood-fired pizza that we are still talking about. Great sauce and plenty of toppings. Not heavy, but still plenty of food. The atmosphere and the cocktails are very nice. They do a brisk take out business and also have some gelato. We didn't get a chance to try the gelato, but look forward to trying it on our next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmc0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant and were all pleased (two adults and two 13 year olds). Went in early for a Saturday - 5:30 - and it was 3/4 full. By 6:30 there was a line up.

I had the Cavoletti white pizza. It was unlike any pizza I've tried and was really good. Although it has honey on it, it's not a sweet pizza (or a dessert). There's just a hint of sweet. I'd order it again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ukelele67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing