We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmm”
Review of Pure Vanilla

Pure Vanilla
Ranked #13 of 24 Bakeries in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Description: This is a sit-down bakery / cafe.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a sit-down bakery / cafe.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I ordered a Lemon Charlotte cake as I needed a dessert to take to a dinner party. Wow! So delicious and light.This bakery is an Oak Bay gem. So many choices I can hardly wait to try all the other offerings from sweets to breads and coffees. Pure Vanilla has nice outdoor seating. Thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmum222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Especially good on a nice day”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a lovely place on a sunny day, as there is a garden behind with secluded seating. The indoors can get rather crowded, but don't be put off by that. Good for lunch, tea or coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A great little spot”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Pure Vanilla operates a great little bakery / cafe in Oak Bay. The food is great. Baked good are especially tasty. The counter service is a bit off. A lack of organization of how to be served at the bakery display leads to regular patron frustration. Do I wait here or there? Some wait there, do I wait here? I have never ordered anything from Pure Vanilla that wasn't exceptional from a taste perspective though. It is a nice spot for tea or lunch. Outdoor seating in the back is nice in summer. Indoor seating is a bit cramped but works for a casual sit down meal.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tenmile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“My go-to place for lunch”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a hidden gem - the baked goods are stellar and the fresh made soups, salads and sandwiches are the best around. I can always count on a lunch that is tasty and more importantly - consistent. Which is why I often meet for a business lunch here.
In the summer the back patio is so nice, you feel a world away.
Try the house salad with feta, excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Loved having lunch at this wonderful bakery bistro. Lattes excellent. Our food was very tasty, friendly atmosphere and great patio out back. Ordered a lemon mousse birthday cake which was to die for! The place was packed. We plan on coming back for sure next time we are visiting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zigzagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pure Vanilla also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Pure Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing