We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melt in your mouth”
Review of Itami Sushi

Itami Sushi
Ranked #374 of 1,189 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I wanted to try every possible sushi place available in Victoria, and found this place to be the best. The atmosphere is lovely and spacious. Very clean, including the washrooms. The service is excellent. Waiters are so friendly too. The food is mouth watering. I only order the rolls, and I recommend the special roll called the "Rock and Cali Roll". I have been here twice and plan to go next week again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NavygirlComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Food was excellent, service was friendly and fast, great value, nice decor, and very clean. We would definitely come back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New to Sushi”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Not a big fan to sushi, just going by the 6others in the group. They were all pleased with their food. Service was slow, some of us had only an array of appetizers, others full meals. The decor was nice, service gals great. This is a new place in Victoria, worth going to to try it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamasue605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New Fav Sushi Spot”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

So just a foreword; My partner and I had recently been not entirely happy with our previous sushi regular, so we decided to take a walk and see what else was around. We were pleasantly surprised to find Itami Sushi so centrally located, and of superior quality.

To Start with what we Ordered Breakdown:

Assorted Tempura~ We've all had tempura where we think "too doughy", "too crispy", or even "moist"... I was surprised to find after devouring this dish i had not one bad complaint and was sufficiently happy with them nailing the recipe.

Ten Don~ or Tempura Don (assorted as well... no sauce which is likely the only downside, but rest assured will be trying another one next time... did not quite live up to expectations there.

California Rolls~ Were neither to wet, nor over seeded or dry... Very happy they had this balance right!

Dynamite Rolls~ While I liked this traditional roll with the eel addition, my partner wasn't quite so happy with it, rest assured just because of the eel. I think we might have the super dynamite roll next time.

Rock & Cali Rolls~ This was amazing, the fullness of flavor and depth of others, great sauce, this more than anything has convinced us to give this great little spot at least 3 more tries, and I'm not thinking they will be disappointing. One of the BEST rolls I have EVER had.

DF Banana + I.C.~ We chose this for dessert as we had had in other places and found we loved it here more. Deep fried Banana with your choice flavor of Ice Cream and a dollops of whip topped with a drizzle of chocolate. Well worth a look!

Service was top notch. Quick, attentive, and unobtrusive!

The atmosphere lost me a little being much more social house than nicely secluded group seats...

Value was great! Truly was surprised when i got a look at our bill. was so low, and we left so full!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Addison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Nice atmosphere. Good service, great menu. Good food. All in all, decent sushi at decent prices, but we were not super impressed. We would go back, but there are better sushi restaurants in Victoria.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 333Chrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Itami Sushi also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Itami Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing