We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““This must be the place.”” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““This must be the place.””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

My booking with this hotel was based on a friend’s recommendation. It wasn’t the typical type of hotel I normally book for my family vacations nor for my business trips. Since my friend so insisted I did make the booking and it turned out that everyone of my family was happy with the choice!

The two suites we stayed at the Helm’s Inn were in the Mont Royal Building. It is more like a small apartment building. One of our suites had a living/dinning room, a full kitchen, good size bath room and a separate bedroom. Another suite also had a full kitchen, but no separate bed room, which they called studio suite. Both suites were very well designed, and every thing made us feel like at home.

The lobby at the Helm’s Inn is neither so spacious nor grand by any standard, but is a very comfy and cozy place for families to gather in front of the fireplace. Fresh coffee, tea, apples and cookies were always ready in the lobby when we returned from a long day touring. The front desk staff was more like a host rather than a desk clerk. They often came out the desk area to answer questions, explain directions, give suggestions and even help guests with their luggage. All the other guests we met at the hotel were all repeat visitor. One elder couple we met at the lobby said that they have stayed at the Helm’s every time they visited Victoria since 1977, which tells you something special about this place.

The location of Helm’s Inn is adjacent to the Royal BC Museum, one block from the Inner Harbor, the Empress Hotel, and the Legislature Building. Wnoticed how beautiful the Beacon Hill Park was until this time while we stayed at the Helm’s Inn, which is across the street from the Park. One day we took a walk into the Park around 5:30pm. We walked by a lake, a forest and e parked our car at the hotel and walked everywhere. My family has visited Victoria and Vancouver Island several times in the past, but we had never a mini golf court and we ended up on a beach, where the snow caped mountains meet the blue Ocean…… what a prefect picture! We even forgot the time was way pass 9pm!

At the entrance of Mount Royal building of Helm’s, there is a sign which I read every time while we were in and out the building. It said “There is no place anything like this place, anything near this place. so, this must be the place.”
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed in a suite at Helms Inn for four nights in June 2011 and couldn't fault it. The location was ideal - literally next door to the Royal BC Museum and across the street from the beautiful Beacon Hill Park. It is in very easy walking distance from all points of interest and one block away from the coach station.

The room was lovely and came with a cooker, fridge and full set of dishes, pans and cutlery for our use which were all spotlessly clean. We had a slight problem with the toilet but that was fixed as soon as we brought it to their attention and we didn't have another problem!

Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HayleyAnn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The rooms at the Helms are very nice, most of them newly renovated. Location is excellent. Right downtown behind the Parliament building. You are in the hearth of the city. A nice park close by, 2 blocks one way and 4 blocks the other to the ocean. A bit noisy sometimes , but you have to expect this staying right downtown. Reasonable rates.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I've stayed here several times in the past because of the great location, andI enjooy having the kitchenette. On this five-night stay I found tehhousekeeping to be very lacking --- bathroom not cleaned well, complete towel set not always replaced... but most upsetting was that my room door was left unlached (not just unlocked, but ajar/unlached) by someone -- probably housekeeping. Fortunately, nothing seems to have been stolen from my room, but this could have been a very expensive, hurtful mistake.
Parking is always tight .. and a bother that they charge extra for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineVair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed for one night at the beginning of June and although the location was great and we could not fault the value for money - the room could do with quite a bit of sprucing up. It smelt absolutely horrific when we arrived and to be fair I should have complained then but we were in a hurry to go out and hoped that if we left some coffee brewing and a window open it would improve, It did but not significantly but we were only there for one night so it was not the end of the world and I don't like complaining! However whilst looking for the source of the smell we noticed that the room was not the cleanest. Around and under the sofa was filthy and the sofa itself was not terribly clean - I could not have relaxed on it and I dread to think what was living under there! The bathroom on the other hand was fine, the shower was good and the fact that there was a table and a kitchen area as well was also a plus. The location and the low price kept us happy as did the fact that we were allowed to check in early. We would however probably look for somewhere else if we visited Victoria again unless the rooms were given a significant make over.

Room Tip: 1 without too many stairs to carry your luggage up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stranger44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in May. My first time to Victoria. Loved it. I spent a lot of time searching for a hotel and booked Helms Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews. Well I am glad I did. It was perfect. We could walk everywhere but we were away from the noise of the city. We got a king one bedroom. It had a full kitchen with a table, a living room with a couch and closet and a small bedroom with a king bed. It was obvious that the inn had been refurbished. It was an old building but they had done a great job in the rooms. The hallways had not been done yet. We were on the 3rd floor, no lifts but that was not a problem for us. We had a little deck that looked out over the garden area. There was maid service everyday. Free internet and free parking. Other reviewers had mentioned problems with the parking space but we did not have an issue with that. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ell8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Enjoyed my stay here. The kitchen was a bonus, and it was lovely to have space to move about in. There is road noise as it is in the downtown core, but it was convenient, clean and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing