We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, comfortable room, reasonable price”
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location, comfortable room, reasonable price”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Chose this hotel because of tripadvisor. Thank you to previous posts. Convenient location. Right next to the museum. Comfortable living space. We had a two double bed suite with a living room and kitchen. Comes with full size fridge. Very comfortable place for a very reasonable rate. Beds are comfortable - they're even replacing all the bed frames this week. It has 3 buildings. Very homey feeling. Like any old building, there are of course stairs, so for the elderly with a lot of heavy suitcases - ask for something without stairs. Very quiet when we were there. The view... well,that's why you walk over to the harbor. Our view is of the next building that is 10 feet away. Overall great location for a relatively low price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoweFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    199
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
124
251
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, SA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Don't let the outside sway you - inside it is very nice. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. There is no breakfast but they do have coffee and fresh fruit available all the time in the lobby which is a quiet spot to use the Internet or watch their big screen tv. Wi-fi is also available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The front desk clerk welcomed me by name on arrival. I don't know how he did it but I was impressed. Well placed right behind the Parliment buildings. Very clean. Nicely renovated and redecorated. All new fixtures. The kids actually liked sleeping on the pullout couch and remarked on how comfortable it was. Flatscreen tv's and full size fridge. Only two complaints: we paid for parking but we had to park on the street both nights as the parking lot was always full; we were awakened at 7:30am on Sunday morning by the housekeeping staff, including vacumning outside our door with a " do not disturb" on it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Two night stop over in Victoria and based on reviews, gave her a go.
Three small triplex buildings with what would be considered a standard size condo in downtown Toronto, Great location two minute walk to Imax, museum and the warf, tours, parliament buildings. Perfect central point for walking and exploring the city,

Fully stocked kitchen (mugs, plates, cutlery, pots, pans, strainer, toaster, wine glasses, dish rack ...) two seat table in kitchen.
Microwave, stove, coffee pot, teas, ample creamers and sugar.

Fair size washroom, wall hair dryer, well stocked with towels and supplies.
Middle Building ground floor unit has sliding doors to a small patio with coffee table and two chairs. Slight concern about being able to secure the sliding doors from inside with a secondary lock; there are security cameras everywhere.
Above I see balconies.
Two big closets, ample room for hanging coats and clothing; ironing board with iron.
Computer desk cabinet with chair also a handy workspace.
Firm not squishy king mattress, the finishing linens and curtains are dated but clean white sheets.
Friendly staff upon check in.

The room doors do slam shut and are loud if your neighbors don't take care enough to close them slowly. After midnight didn't seem to be an issue on our stay in the AM it was.

Good price and good location, would stay again if in the area for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breeza nsw
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was another trip advisor hotel I picked up, this was a good value property, the folks in the reception were friendly and welcoming, rooms are neat clean and a good stop over. The bathroom was a little tight, and I find it hard to work out these north american taps! Great hot shower no problems here. Cheap parking, but you walk around to the empress and eat dinner down town.

Room Tip: We had the room above the lobby so it was roadside but not all that noisy, but there is traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

2 minutes walk from Victoria's Inner Harbour, Helm's Inn is next to the BC Museum. It is small and quiet with studio rooms with modern well equiped kitchenettes and free wi-fi.

The room was modern, large and very clean with plenty of lights (unlike many of the places we have stayed). The flooring was a combination of dark wood and carpet - just watch bare feet on the join!

We chose based on reviews, location and the excellent price and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MQandMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatchewan, canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have chosen to stay at Helm's Inn 2 times, based on the recommendation of a family member. I love that it is small, unassuming and quiet. It is situated at the extreme south end of Douglas Street with the beautiful Beacon Hill Park across the street. While the rest of Dougas is bustling with cars and pedestrians, this busyness trails off by the time you reach the hotel. I feel I am returning at the end of the day to a peaceful, serene place. The suites are housed in 3 separate buildings and vary one from the other by size, setup and furnishings, so I would suggest calling Chris (the hotel's front desk manager) for advice on what would suit you best.
I do not find the staff unfriendly as some others have suggested. They are all merely unobtrusive, but will certainly engage in conversation if you indicate you are interested.
The close proximity to all that Victoria has to offer will keep me coming back with future visits.
Thanks, Chris, once again, for a great stay! Jan H.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crvisitor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#12 of 49 in Victoria
669 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing