We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again”
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We checked in, grabbed keys and a parking pass then left without seeing our room since we had to drop my parents off at Abigails.
We were somewhat skeptical of the place from first glance in the lobby and parking lot despite the fact I had booked here based on all of the positive tripadvisor reviews in addition to the price being right.
When we returned, were more than thrilled with our upstairs room. The inside of the inn is clean and looks freshly painted. Beds were large and comfortable. Kitchen would be perfect for making meals and fridge is full sized.
This would be the perfect place for a longer stay in Victoria. It is close to the BC Museum and a short walk to Parliament buildings and into town.
The staff was friendly and cheerful.
A super positive experience.
We left the windows open at night. The gulls are a bit loud in the morning but we have roosters at home and I am up at dawn and use to morning wake up noise. My son sleeps through crowing and cawing so it was all good.

Room Tip: Paid parking fills up quickly so if you are driving around at night you may not get a spot and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ladyhawkcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Would stay again and highly recommend to anyone staying in Victoria, great pricing, clean, neat and tidy, plenty of room, had everything we required for a comfortable stay. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, along with the locals, close to all major attractions and restaurants - food was amazing, along with all fresh fruits and berries, harbour front was fabulous, lovely old buildings

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This older hotel is just steps away from the inner harbour, parliament buildings and downtown restaurants & shopping. The management has obviously worked very hard to maintain the property, and the front desk staff are very welcoming and accommodating. 1 bedroom suite was nicely equipped and clean.

Room Tip: Property doesn't have elevators - make sure you request an accessible room if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilibob2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stopped here for two days whilst on holiday in Western Canada, was a little unsure of what to expect due to location and the comparatively cheap rate.

Room was on the 2nd floor and good sized (2 x double beds) plus a small kitchen area, plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children.

Reception is bright and fresh, with helpful staff - we got a good recommendation for dinner one night and were able to check out in the evening as we were heading off for an early ferry.

Plus got a great education on raccoons by the night receptionist as we were leaving and the local raccoon was in the car park!

The best thing about the hotel is the location, it's easy to get to, has a decent amount of parking (but get there early, it was full by the evening) and is in a quiet part of the city, but only 2 mins from the harbour, museum and government building.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sluggy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Yes, Helm's has the best possible location very close to any place of interest in Victoria.
Yes, prices are reasonable compared to neighbours
Yes, rooms are well equiped
...
But if your room is located in the basement (102/104) although booked four months ahead, if your neighbour room is the collective laundry, if you have very little chance to see sunshine and even daylight, if the guests in the room above you are "dancing" or simply walking (but the floor is not soundproof) all the night long, you will be happy to leave.

Room Tip: Refuse any basement rooms (especially104)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We enjoyed a stay of five days and four nights at the Helm's Inn on the week of July 16-21st. The outside of the building doesn't scream hotel but the inside offers up darling heritage features within a modernized setting as far as rooms go. We adored our mini kitchen as it allowed us to prepare food our children would actually eat. Luxury features such as granite countertops and high end fixtures all said "quality." With a location on the doorstep of Beacon HIll Park and a rock's throw away from all the best sights Victoria has to offer, we couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A group of nine of us spent one night at the Helm's Inn which we chose based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Our group was divided between two of the three Helm buildings. All rooms were very comfortably appointed and nicely decorated. We did not experience any problem with street noise as was mentioned in another review.
We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our group was on a cycling trip and we appreciated the storage shed available to lock up our bikes.
I only wish we'd had more time--I would have loved to cycle around Beacon Hill Park across the street from the hotel. Next time.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer building had a slight edge over those in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84Traveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £60 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing