We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trust me, I'm local...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trust me, I'm local...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I live close enough to downtown Victoria to be considered a local, (and have for over 30 yrs) but far enough away to make it worth staying at a hotel when we're downtown for staff parties, anniversaries, concerts, etc. And after having stayed at many hotels/ motels, I gotta say this is now our go-to choice.

First of all, though, the Helm's Inn isn't for everyone. If you require a pool, hot tub, gym, spa, lounge, room service, on-site restaurant or on-call masseuse, you should probably look elsewhere. If you want clean, friendly, bang-for-your-buck, and an ideal location, you can't go wrong.

Douglas Street is pretty much the main drag for downtown Victoria. At the south end of the commercial district, Douglas Street becomes residential again, and this is where Helm's Inn is; ONE block outside the downtown core, on a relatively quiet corner, opposite the arguably, nicest greenspace in the city, Beacon Hill Park. It's an easy walk from the Parliament Buildings, Museum (a must-see), the park, the Inner Harbour, but outside of downtown enough to avoid being awakened at 2:30 am by partiers.

The building itself is older, but it's maintained meticulously, and of the 5 times we've stayed there, we've never encountered that "old hotel" smell. The rooms are clean, spacious, and many (maybe all?) have a kitchenette. And every room we've had has been much larger than average.

The staff makes you feel right at home. Fastest check-in/ check-out, period. And the lobby always has a plate of cookies waiting.

One thing to note; although the buildings are only three stories, there's no elevator. So if you have trouble getting around when there's stairs involved, make sure you get something on the ground floor.

All in all, a great value, a great little hotel, and a great location. Maybe not the most luxurious place in town, but possible the best value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luckycanuck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our 2nd time we stayed here ,the last in 2009. there is an inprovment in the suites and the front desk now looks great.with the upgrades. Our suite was very good with a small kitchen and large lounge area with a seperate bedroom and a very comfortable king size bed.Plus there is a flat screen TV .in the lounge and a second in the bedroom and free WiFi.
Helms Inn is so close to all the attractions on the waterfront in Victoria and just a short walk to Restaurants in the downtown area
If we ever go back to Victoria Helms Inn would be our first stop.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed at Helm's Inn for the first time this past week. What a delight! Besides being within walking distance of downtown, Beacon Hill Park, James Bay, the harbour, etc. it's a sweet little hotel made even sweeter by their pleasant courtyard, big windows and spacious rooms. It's not a five-star hotel with all the upscale amenities or flashy granite whatevers; instead, it's homey, pleasant, charming and warm, with great service, convenient parking for only $5/day, and afternoon tea and cookies, as well as umbrellas, books, puzzles, etc. stacked in the lobby for your enjoyment on rainy days.

Room Tip: Room 215 is roomy with kitchenette and a little table right under the window so that you can watch p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bette108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times over the past 20 years and it is a gem. The staff are always friendly and very helpful. For people on a budget or with food allergies, book a room with a FULL kitchen. Very comfortable and "homey". You can walk to most of the major attractions, downtown and Chinatown just to name a few of my favourite places. AND the hotel is located directly across the street from Beacon Hill Park, the nicest park in Victoria. Bring your bicycle, roller blades or walking shoes and discover this fabulous city.

Room Tip: Full kitchens in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked this hotel for a last minute weekend get away in Victoria. We knew the location would be right where we wanted it to be, ut we did not realize just how convenient it would be to all the things we had planned for the weekend. This hotel borders Beacon Hill Park, it is literally across the street. the Parliament Building is less than 2 blocks away. This hotel shares a parking lot with the back of the Royal British Museum and the IMAX theater. The old Town is a 5 minutes walk.

Not only was the location perfect, the hotel itself was outstanding. Our king suite had marble everywhere, and hard wood floors in the sitting area. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was one of the cleanest I have seen in a very long time. What a wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We love this hotel every time we stay. It's located right in the heart of the downtown Inner Harbour and right next to the Royal BC museum. Great for staying overnight and then going out to explore. Not the right type of hotel if you want lots of amenities but otherwise a wonderful place. The staff are friendly and helpful when you want to find things around town. The only bad thing I can say about them is that our rooms have sometimes had some little things wrong (curtains didn't work properly or light bulb was burnt out) but most things were fixed immediately.

Room Tip: They have a room which has an extra separate room attached which doesn't cost much extra. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizardraghnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed here for a short mini-vacation in November. I was a little dubious, based on the (low) price they quoted me, but risked it. So glad I did - the location can't be beat. It is a few steps from the Royal BC Museum and Parliament Building, across the street (with walk lights) from Beacon Hill Park, and a short walk to Inner Harbor, etc. The room was nicely updated and had a full kitchen. Everything was very clean. Each room in the one bedroom suite was a little small, but considering what I paid, I felt like it was generous. The staff was exceptionally nice, especially Alicia at the front desk. The other guests tended to be mainly repeat customers, some of whom stay the winter at Helm's Inn. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing