We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Helm's Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
294
221
37
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
221
37
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon hill parkno elevatorfull kitchenbc museumgreat locationmain buildingsmall kitchenempress hotelgreat kitchenshort walkdowntown victoriawithin walking distancemurphy bedreception areaseparate bedroomlarge rooman older hotel
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here with a buddy while in town for an event.
This is the best value for Victoria hands down. The location is within walking distance of anything downtown, the staff super friendly and the rooms are very nice and quite big.
There is a continental breakfast inc. but I didn't have the chance to partake.

There was a dinette/tv room and a separate room within the suite for sleeping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beer-loving-BC-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights with a dear friend and several family members who were in town for a celebration of life for the recent passing of a family member. The front office staff were sensitive, kind, flexible and in general very accommodating. As a group we had several rooms so I was able to see many different layouts. A cookie cutter hotel this is not. The rooms were all very well appointed with updated kitchenettes including full size fridges. The bathrooms were a little tired but were certainly sufficient. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. The price off season is exceptional and even the high season prices are great. The location can't be beat, a short and easy 2 block walk to the waterfront. I have stayed at the Empress and several B and B's in downtown Victoria and have now found my new "go to" when I'm in town.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank FlightsnFlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is close to town, bus stops close by and a park across the street. The room was quite large. It was nice to have a kitchen unit especially so, since I have celiac disease and need to be careful about eating. And all for an economical price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Helm's Inn is an older idiosyncratic place that hits that sweet spot where economical price, big clean room, and perfect location meet.

This hotel is a connected string of 3 buildings, all of which appear to have been originally built as walk-up apartments. Retrofitted as a hotel, these walk-up buildings have rooms in a variety of unusual shapes and sizes.

Mine, in the western-most building, was a king-bed suite. All the furnishings and fixtures were newish and extraordinarily tidy and clean. It had a lovely bed room with a superb mattress, a full kitchen with solid dining table and chairs, a small sitting area, and large windows with a view west over an empty parking lot. The bathroom serving all this was microscopic, but well furnished and functional. Heating was nice and dry thanks to 3 hot-water radiators. The floors were a nice clean wood, except for the bedroom.

My sleep was undisturbed by noise, other than the city buses that started passing by at 6 a.m. I was worried about this because during the afternoon and evening, I could hear the TV and kitchen activity from the next suite. Sound-proofing between room and hall is a potential weak point of this building. The halls were spotless and decorated nicely with antiques.

Reception was cheerful and efficient. The small lobby appeared to be well-used by some guests who appear to be long-stay types. There is a small parking lot behind the buildings available for $5 a day, which is a very reasonable cost for this location.

That location is impeccable: right downtown but one block removed in a quieter area. The hotel is two blocks from the Empress Hotel and the Inner Harbour. The bus depot is one block away. Beacon Hill Park is across the street. Perfect.

While this hotel gave me a first impression of age and improvisation, I left with a lasting impression of cleanliness and good management.

Room Tip: King bed suite is excellent value. Comes with a kitchen.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed here over the years; overall a very good and charming hotel. Cozy rooms with re-modelled kitchen units and I appreciate the hardwood and tile floors which keeps things cleaner. Beds were very comfortable. Room temperature was perfect. Bathrooms could use a few hooks. Front office dealt quickly and efficiently with some concerns I had. Housekeeping could be tweaked just a wee a bit. Like most of the other reports, the location is outstanding but has an intimate feel that makes it seem off the beaten track, Tea and coffee are always provided.

Top floor is nice for those who can manage the luggage up the stairs - there isn't an elevator. Some lovely antique pieces in the hallways. Rates are great for off-season and in Victoria one can wander for hours even if it is raining.

The James Bay Neighbourhood Walk is very interesting and it is handy to have a Thrifty's Market so close. All amenities, shopping, and historical places are walking distance. Pay attention to how the legislature and BC Museum has incorporated nature into points of interest.

The Helm's Inn is a perfect getaway for those who want extended stays or just a weekend trip, but maybe consider ear plugs or a white noise machine if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Top floor if you can manage your luggage up two small flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moms-The-Word
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews