We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Central Location, Victoria's home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Central Location, Victoria's home away from home”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have stayed at the Helm's in a number of times over the past 15 years. Comfortable, relaxed, friendly staff. Full kitchen. We save on food and have a more relaxed schedule by cooking a lot ourselves. Fresh fish from the Fisherman's Wharf, or Finest at Sea. All of the downtown is within a 15 minute walk. Royal British Columbia Museum and Inner Harbour at within 2 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms over the parking lot are quieter. 207 was our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    189
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
244
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for a few nights. Centrally located to Victoria's charming harbor and other sights. Walking distance to Chinatown. Room was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Very spacious for two people. Loved the kitchenette (microwave, sink, full refrigerator, stovetop). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresaterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent two wonderful days in this lovely spot. We had a full service unit that was immaculate , very well stocked, and inviting. Nicely decorated, comfortable beds and location uncompromised. This was by far the most convenient place I have ever stayed in Victoria. We had a well stocked kitchen but we were walking distance to a large variety of restaurants and tourist attractions.. I highly recommend this spot and we will never stay anywhere else on our return visits to Victoria

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We spent a month mid January to mid February for the tenth year in a row.
The hotel is our home from home to miss part of the winter.
Many guests are the same each year and the staff are long term people.
The inn is so conveniently located just inks minute from Beacon Hill park, five ministers from the harbour and ten minutes ( all walking ) from Dallas road overlooking the straits of Juan de Fuca
We have recommended the inn to many friends who have subsequently stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in early April and we were thoroughly impressed on all accounts. Our room was very spacious and well fitted out.

Helms is located right next to the Museum and Beacon Hill Park, and is only a short (scenic!) walk downtown. There is a very good supermarket about a 10 minute walk the other direction.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Free coffee and tea available in the reception all day which was nice. Complimentary wifi was lightning fast.

We had room 203 and it was perfect - very spacious, quiet and no road noise.

For those travelling with a car you may have issues finding parking space if you arent back at the hotel before 7pm.

Overall we were very impressed and will definitely stay again. AAA+++

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gormo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here with a buddy while in town for an event.
This is the best value for Victoria hands down. The location is within walking distance of anything downtown, the staff super friendly and the rooms are very nice and quite big.
There is a continental breakfast inc. but I didn't have the chance to partake.

There was a dinette/tv room and a separate room within the suite for sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beer-loving-BC-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights with a dear friend and several family members who were in town for a celebration of life for the recent passing of a family member. The front office staff were sensitive, kind, flexible and in general very accommodating. As a group we had several rooms so I was able to see many different layouts. A cookie cutter hotel this is not. The rooms were all very well appointed with updated kitchenettes including full size fridges. The bathrooms were a little tired but were certainly sufficient. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. The price off season is exceptional and even the high season prices are great. The location can't be beat, a short and easy 2 block walk to the waterfront. I have stayed at the Empress and several B and B's in downtown Victoria and have now found my new "go to" when I'm in town.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FlightsnFlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
1,580 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing