We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice”
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On arrival at hotel outside looks a bit tired but once inside reception area and rooms look clean tidy and a pleasure to be in after some of the hotels we had stayed in previous on this trip. The room was spacious we did have a suite and it had kitchen fridge micro etc room over looked car park but that wasn't to bad as had heard on this site rooms at front were noisy. Very close to amenities and fair not around the corner. Lost to do at victoria and to see. Price was very good was very happy with our stay and would recommend this hitel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wintergarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Victoria is a pricey place to visit. Feel great about choosing Helm's Inn. We stayed in Room 205 and would stay again in a minute. The room is a former apartment. Nice little kitchen. Cute bathroom and cozy living room. The bedroom has two queen size beds and is comfortable. Best of all, the price and location. We parked our car for $5 at the hotel and walked everywhere. Located minutes from the center of all things fun! Easy walk and seemed relatively safe. We had NO issues. Homeless were not invasive. Entertainment everywhere we went from music, magicians, and mimes. The room is great. The location the best! It is not five star but then again neither is the cost! Use your money to take a whale watching tour!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Not only the central location, but the spacious room and kitchen are plus factors when choosing a place to stay. We asked for, and were given, a quiet room, which was on the third floor. Unfortunately, there is no elevator. The bathroom was very small and cramped. However, if we went to Victoria again, Helm' s Inn would be our first choice in this price category.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just spent 4 nights at Helm's Inn and it was great, our room was up to date as well as immaculate and the kitchenette was a real bonus. We were able to make ourselves a little breakfast before leaving for the day. Centrally located we were able to walk to many places from here, including grocery store, beer/wine store, Beacon Hill Park, the Royal BC Museum and the Inner Harbour.
Staff was super friendly and very helpful, they made a very good 1st impression of Victoria for us.
We were very happy with our stay here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

staying at helms inn is great because you can walk to beacon hill park and you can also walk to the empress hotel if you want high tea. also the rooms have a kitchen so you can have breakfast in your room. there is a grocery store not far away so you can buy milk and other things you might need.the b.c. museum is so close you can walk over to it because it is just across the parking lot from the hotel.the bus system is good because there is a bus stop right across from the hotel so you can catch the bus and go into oak bay.also you can in front of the empress because there is a tour that takes an hour and goes to one of the most expensive parts of victoria. also if you want some thing sweet then go the dutch bakery on fort street which has some of the best sweets in town.the marina restaurant has a good brunch on sundays which is not that expensive.also the people at helms inn are very polite and very helpful to you and let you know some of the best spots to go to in victoria.if you want another interesting place to go to then go to miniature world which has some of the best exhibits you will see and also they have just added some more exhibits for people to look at. we have been going to victoria for over 35 years and we love it every time we go.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the main floor because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After arriving for a wedding and being recommended to this hotel, we were very suprised to see the contemporary interior.

Our room was fantastic, kitchenette and large bedroom area.

Great location.. highly recommended. Only flaw we found was that it is a 3 story with no elevator.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out west coast waffles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPAR2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It really doesn't look like much from the outside, but make no mistake, the rooms (at least ours was) are completely up to date and in great condition. We had a room on the parking lot side (2nd floor) for two nights - it was very quiet!! Our room was much more than we expected - a suite with a full kitchen (pots / pans, dishes, etc), entry way closet, fine bathroom, sitting / living room, and a separate bedroom (w/ king size bed). AND, its just 1 block away from central Victoria (Parliment building, bus station, etc), lots of restaurants / bars / cabs within 1-2 blocks, yet this hotel is on a quieter street. Would definitely recommend this place, and the price was more than reasonable... I shopped around quite a bit. For something with a kitchen (so you can save money by making meals), this was by far the best value.

Room Tip: I specifically requested a room on the quieter side of the building and not on the ground floor, bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £60 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing