We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with superb location”
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Deerlijk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel with superb location”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Helm's Inn for two nights and enjoyed our stay a lot, as well as the beautiful city of Victoria. We stayed in a spacious room, with living room and kitchenette. Everything is present to make your stay comfortable. Thanks to the great location, you can reach city centre after a lovely walk of 5 minutes. If you have kids: go to the children's farm in the park nearby the hotel. Our 1.5 year old son had the time of his life!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Broes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    199
    33
    14
    3
See reviews for
124
251
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not the prettiest hotel to look at by a long way but absolutely nothing wrong with anything once you get inside. Parking was a bit tight but OK.
We stayed in the main building so can't comment on the other buildings but the reception was nice with free coffee and fruit on the go all day. I don't know if there was a lift but we didn't see one so had to get cases up & down stairs. Usual amenities in the spacious room and a kitchen to boot.
Great location being just a very short walk from the Parliament buildings, harbours and town centre. I can't think of anything that we weren't happy about so yes, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked at this spot based on Trip Advisor rave reviews. Our expererience is the complete opposite. This is a dreary spot, very tired, housekeeping is poor. Today, our wet towels on the floor were left on the floor and no new towels were provised. We washed our own dishes and kept the room tidy so it wouldn't have been hard to do the bare minimum, which was not done. After 3 nights, the bed sheets were not changed and the bed was barely made up. I would NOT recommend this hotel. The location is good, but there are a lot of other places close by, so there is nothing unique or compelling about this sad hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P, Manager at Helm's Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hello! As the Manager of the Helm's Inn I would like to offer my deepest apologies about your poor stay. The difficulties you addressed in concerns with our housekeeping are certainly not the standard we strive to maintain. As you can see from previous reviews, these are not normal issues and we make every effort to make every guests stay special. I have already discussed the problems you had with all of the housekeeping staff to be certain such neglect does not happen again. If you could please contact me at the hotel I would be very grateful to discuss your stay in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We weren't expecting much because of the reviews we read. Were we pleasantly surprised! We had a nice bedroom, a kitchen that was fully equipped and a nice little den/dining area. I will definitely stay here again. The location is right behind the BC Museum and the Parliament building and only a couple of blocks from the main waterfront. Beacon Hill Park is right across the street. Fabulous location! There is a nice little tea house/ restaurant right down the street. This is definitely a little known gem.

FYI, I have no affiliation with this hotel except that we loved staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drrobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Helm's Inn is a nicely renovated, comfortable hotel right in the heart of Victoria! It was great to have a full kitchen to take advantage of and the king size bed in my suite was very comfortable. A shout out to Chris at the front desk, who was wonderfully professional, helpful and enthusiastic throughout my stay.
Other than being in a cramped and noisy room right off the lobby (!), my only complaint is that the daily housekeeping was hit and miss, with items not replenished, inconsistent service (washing the dishes, or not) and on the fourth day, my sheets were not changed as per the policy and my bathroom sink not even cleaned. But I would still recommend Helm's - just get a room facing the inner courtyard.

Room Tip: I would not recommend Rm 116 as it seems to be a conversion of office space into a small, oddly laid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Helms Inn in 2012 and when returning to Victoria this year we knew just where we wanted to stay. We were in the main building both times and we were in room 112 this year and loved our stay. Our room overlooked the patio and had a full kitchen and plenty of room for us (3 adults). It is a great value with friendly staff and we hope to be able to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

So, the outside of the Helms Inn is not too eye catching - but never go on looks alone! We stayed in Room 103. Had a good sized kitchen with fridge/freezer, range, microwave and utensils. Bed was a little small for two of us (we're not big either), but still managed to get a good nights sleep. Two beds in the separate bedroom, a pull out sofa bed in the main area of our room as well. Right next to Beacon Hill Park, and only a short walk from the Inner Harbour. Staff were friendly and helpful. Close to the best that the lovely city of Victoria has to offer. Best thing was the price, we felt for what we got this was an awesome bargain.

Room Tip: No escalators of elevators in the hotel so a room in the 100's is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,738 reviews
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#13 of 49 in Victoria
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Property: Helm's Inn
Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing