We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid staying here”
Review of Helm's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helm's Inn
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Walked in the wrong building at first, was welcomed by the smell of urine. Found our room, which is basically a converted basement next to the laundry, boxing in the hallway, doors of the hinges and a bad smell. The room itself looks ok. Never pay more than sixty bucks to stay in this hostel

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkjhgfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have enjoyed staying at the helms Inn in Victoria for that past 8 years. The rooms are clean , comfortable , have a kitchenette, sitting /eating area and either a Murphy bed or pull out.
You can get one room or a one bedroom. The hotel is conveniently located to the downtown area, the ocean, James Bay area, Cook Street village and Beacon Hill park. There is a small $5 parking charge. Once there you will be able to walk to everything. Staff are friendly, and very helpful. they have wifi and a computer available for guests. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby along with fruit and cookies. Their rates are low compared to other hotels and they have a real homey atmosphere. A very good deal for your money.

Room Tip: the second and third buildings are perhaps a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CATHERINER352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We came here only for one night, but it was very nice. The room we had was literally around the corner from the front desk. I was terrified we would be listening to noise all night, but it wasn't noisy at all!

The room was very spacious and had a great kitchen.

The hotel itself is situated close to town, so you can walk to the museum, parliament, along the water, or downtown for a stroll. The parking is a bit odd but you will find a spot. We arrived later at night from a family gathering and all the spots were gone! Someone from the hotel ran out and helped guide us to a spot that wasn't technically a spot but was fine to park in. We had no issues with it as it was on the hotel's lot.

It is a cute older building, but you can tell it has been maintained very well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank skywolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Helms Inn does what many hotels and Inns fail to do. The management maintains an older building in perfectly fine shape and they manage to keep it up and keep it updated quite nicely. It is a busy inn, and it is very conveniently located. It is NOT new, but, as I said, it is quite nice. It is a sort walk to everything in downtown Victoria, and a reasonable walk to the Fisherman's Wharf area. We love this place and we will be back soon. One small complaint... it would be great to see fresh baked cookies served during tea time instead of the ones from a tin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jharleyhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were hesitant to book this hotel simply because of exterior pictures. However, after a recommendation from family, we gave it a try. It was wonderful. We had a king bed in the Thunderbird building. The suite had a kitchen, sitting area, and if you need it a Murphy bed in the closet. The only down side was no elevator, but not a problem. The room was extremely clean and the hotel staff super friendly. We were in easy distance to all the locations we needed such as Wharf Street, Fort Street, and Government Street. Be sure to stay here, rates are very affordable!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Perfectly situated for Beacon Hill Park and the Inner Harbor. We walked to both everyday. Our room was clean but felt small for a family of five. The front desk was cordial and helpful. It was fine for what we needed for our short stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank keepongoing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Helm's Inn for two nights and enjoyed our stay a lot, as well as the beautiful city of Victoria. We stayed in a spacious room, with living room and kitchenette. Everything is present to make your stay comfortable. Thanks to the great location, you can reach city centre after a lovely walk of 5 minutes. If you have kids: go to the children's farm in the park nearby the hotel. Our 1.5 year old son had the time of his life!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Broes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 47 in Victoria
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm's Inn

Address: 600 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2P8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#11 Family Hotel in Victoria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £56 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Helm's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Helm's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helm`s Hotel Victoria
Helms Hotel Victoria
Helm's Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing