We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sauces!”

Sizzling Tandoor Restaurant
Ranked #228 of 1,196 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sizzling Tandoor features a royal array of authentic North Indian cuisine. We are committed to preserving the culture and tradition of the region with the utmost standards within culinary experiences. Our versatile menu offers a selection of fresh and natural ingredients, wholesome sauces and flavourful spices. Following the success of our first downtown location, Since opening our doors in 2012, we have been named the best Indian Restaurant three years in a row in Victoria. Tandoor means "clay oven." It is traditionally used for the baking of bread, meat, poultry and fish. The clay oven - for oil and fat-free cooking - is practical and energy-efficient. Today's taste and health conscious consumers will find Tandoor cooking truly compatible and modern. All of our food is natural and freshly-prepared daily on the premises with no additives or preservatives. Our Chef's endeavor to create a large variety of savory clay oven barbecued dishes and exotic curries for your tasting journey.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Delicious Sauces!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was the second time having Indian food for one in our group, and we ordered lamb rogan josh, a spinach and potato dish, and veggie biryani. The sauce on the lamb was so delicious that even when the leftover lamb was eaten up the sauce was saved and had the next day on top of lunch. The spinach dish was absolutely delicious, and it has a smokey taste to it. The side dish rice was a bit old or crunchy, but we are not sure if that's just in the style of cooking or not. The Veggie Biryani was not what I was expecting at all, it was quite wet and a bright orange colour which was a bit hard to deal with, but the flavour was nice.

A weird side note, the washrooms made a funny sound when heard from inside the restaurant, almost sounding as if people were having problems inside there every time they went in, which was a bit disconcerting as a diner, but later I realized it was just the sound the sink or toilet made, which probably shouldn't be something guests are hearing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bashaw, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful curry!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We enjoyed this place so much we went back again 2 days later. The service was ok, but the food was awesome!! My boyfriend & I thoroughly enjoy Indian food so we eat it quite often. We were very impressed with the quality and quantity of the dishes. We ordered quite a few different curry's each time and they were all delicious. We will definitely be going back next time we're in Victoria!
The decor is nothing special but we went for the food, not a romantic night so that was fine.

Make sure to make a reservation, it's a very busy place!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service was tragic”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I hate to give poor feedback for this restaurant, but our recent visit to Sizzling Tandoor was exceptionally disappointing.
I had dined there previously and was very impressed with the food-it was fresh and delicious and made from scratch. That time, the service was adequate-perhaps a little rude but not too offensive.
However, the other night I visited this restaurant with my husband and our toddler and the service was terrible.
We waited nearly half an hour to place an order (including drinks and appies!)
We were then told that there was only one beer left of the kind that we'd both ordered (that's understandable but there was no apology offered.)
Our food took quite a while to arrive and was very spicy despite the fact that we'd ordered our dishes "mild" so our toddler could eat. We found them spicy ourselves, so our little one could not eat at all. As well, the flavor itself was rather lacking, certainly nothing special about the food.
No one checked on us once to see how things were so there was no opportunity to request new meals (plus it was getting late at this point).
When my husband and I finished our meals no one brought the bill or cleared our dishes, so I went up and paid at the counter. I told the girl about our experience which was met with a very insincere "sorry."
Sadly I must advise that you give this place a miss.
The staff doesn't care, doesn't do their job, doesn't listen and prepares mediocre food.
Spend your money elsewhere!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themcphees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“tandoori prawns burnt!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

we where trying out this new restaurant( well new to us) and the squidpakora where not the hit! the potato naan was delicious so was the naan and for 16 dollar butter chicken the portion was quiet small….and more to the tomatoey side in taste…never had butter chicken that way!…so thats for that…and we ordered tandoori prawns for 18 dollars…it came on a hotplate and the 10 prawns for 18 DOLLARS where burnt…..when the waitress came to check on us if everything was ok…we just didn't want the hassle as we already where in the middle of our meal..to complain and get it redone( and we all know about the redone stuff)…then we had a coke and a mangolassi(nice spice to it) and with a 15% tip it came to 71 Dollars for two persons…
i think thats quiet a bit to much for price/value/service….we won't be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Why have I not been here before?!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The food here was fabulous. Vegetable tandoori, chicken tikka, butter chicken, rogan josh and gorgeous naan bread. Can't remember when I have enjoyed a meal more. Beautiful thick and flavourful curries. The service was efficient and welcoming at the same time. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sizzling Tandoor Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sizzling Tandoor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing