We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions - standard Oriental fare”
Review of Saigon Night

Saigon Night
Ranked #183 of 1,186 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Big portions - standard Oriental fare”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Saigon Night on Fort Street is a spacious but simple oriental restaurant. Service was very quick and the portions were large - too many noodles. The soup was way too big for my wife, but definitely tasty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkPrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great value, delightful owners.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We go here regularly as it has lots of delicious variety for the whole group. The noodles are great. The green papaya salad is unique and tasty. You can order to share as an appetizer or alone as a lighter meal. The ginger tofu appetizer is also a favorite of our group. My personal favorite is the coconut milk udon noodles with grilled pork. There is a simple arrangement of tables in an open airy atmosphere. The prices are very reasonable and the quality of the food add up to great value. It is worth searching out the little restaurant. If you are looking for secluded, romantic, "pull your chair out for you" type service this is not the restaurant. But.... for prompt, cheery, inviting service, this is definitely the place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lluniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant EVER”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Ok, this place is a phenom. I've been eating here well before they moved from their location next to the Odeon theatre, to their current location on Fort St. The food is and in my experience, has always been excellent and consistant. My personal favourite, former #24, is now #21, the udon noodles, with shredded and sliced pork, and coconut cream. Get this baby with a side of peanut sauce to pour on top and enjoy culinary bliss. Other favourites include #18, the young papaya salad, the BEST salad rolls EVER, and the prawns on rice that my Mom loves and gets each time she goes. The above would be enough to keep me coming back, but on top of this you have Tom and Thuy. Thuy is a the 85lb owner and packs most of that weight in pure positive personality, she is Miss Saigon Night for me. Tom is a the longtime server, and is really a sweet guy that often calls me Mr. Dave and is always right there before you even think of asking for what you need. The saddest part is that I've moved away from Victoria, but I'm always happy to go back to town to visit Saigon Night, my FAVOURITE restaurant!

Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“TASTY LARGE PORTIONS”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I always order the same thing -- the combination noodle bowl with roast pork, ground pork, spring rolls, bean sprouts and other veggies in a broth and I'm, always full and happy. If you're a coffee lover you must try the Vietnamese coffee which is a very dark coffee that drips into a glass holding condensed milk. Seriously yummy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FUBSYWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We recently tried Saigon Night after a few years of disappointing Vietnamese, we can finally stop looking because this is the place to go. The grilled pork with shredded pork over rice with a fried roll is my favourite! You get so much food for the price. Also the salad rolls with shrimp are to die for! The people who run it are also very pleasant and always so helpful. One of my favourite places to eat downtown by far!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MelisaH667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saigon Night also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Saigon Night? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing