We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

What an absolutely delightful place to stay. It is hard to describe as there is nowhere else we have ever seen (in over forty years of traveling) quite like it. Don and Fernando are the best possible hosts and the breakfast is something you expect to find in a high end restaurant, not a bed and breakfast. The house, inside and out, is exquisite and filled with artistic details and works of art. The grounds, even in late September, were filled with flowers, water features and sitting areas. The best thing we did in planning our trip to Victoria was picking this wonderful bed and breakfast. Thank you, Don and Fernando!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

We picked this B&B based on TripAdvisor ratings and were very satisfied. We stayed two nights in mid Sept. when the weather was warm and sunny. We had suite #8 with a huge four poster bed and its own little porch. It was very quiet at night.

Don and Fernando are charming hosts and will make your stay very pleasant. The house is Fernando's canvas (he told us that) and it shows. The trim is brightly painted and there are little figures sketched on places like rail posts if you look carefully. The interior has an overwhelming collection of pictures, art, knick knacks, and Victorian furniture, not to mention reclaimed woodwork. The garden outside is Don's handywork and you can spend a long time looking at the amazing variety of flowers he grows there. Tea is available in the afternoon and you can sit in the garden to enjoy it if you wish.

Breakfast is beyond anything you will ever get on the road anywhere else. It is the equivalent of dinner with a full place setting of china and silver and two courses. The catch is that the menu will feature items you have probably never had. That is both good and not so good. If you like it, you will be delighted, but if you are a plain breakfast person (cereal, eggs, pancakes, donuts, etc.) this may not fit your fancy. Our first breakfast was great, but the second one was bit over the top for us.

The B&B is within walking distance of downtown - about 3/4 mile to the waterfront and the old Empire hotel and the BC museum. There are several restaurants within about 5 blocks. We tried Harbor House one night for a simple meal. It was fine, but not outstanding. Bon Rouge downtown was top notch for both food and price. Our tour of Chinatown was very disappointing - really not much to it.

Room Tip: We had #8 and liked it. It had a full bath and a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTopDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Best B & B!!! The location is 4 easy walking blocks to the Inner Harbor. The Victorian exterior and the gardens are charming. Our room #5 was large with a very comfortable bed! The bathroom was large and recently painted in vivid colors. The artwork and antiques throughout are outstanding and take a long time to see. You chose a seating time for breakfast. We stayed there 5 nights and had a gourmet breakfast every morning! The breakfast is served on piping hot plates and the coffee/tea are poured in a grand fashion. We certainly felt pampered! A big thanks to Fernando and Don for making our stay a time to remember.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We were visiting Victoria with another couple and chose Albion Manor based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The B&B is unique, and an experience in itself. The decor is eclectic but it adds to the unique charm of the inn. Don and Fernando were wonderful hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and talking with the other guests over breakfast. The location is perfect for walking to most of Victoria's city sights, but the street itself is quiet. The gardens are lovely and Fernando uses many of the flowers throughout the house. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Victoria without kids. We were is room 7. Our friends were in room 3. Room 3 was quite large with a sitting room and private entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I try to avoid writing anything using only superlatives, but a commentary on our stay at Albion Manor will have to be the exception. We (two couples) spent two nights in Rooms 3 and 4, each unique and each just delightful: large, comfy, airy, and opening on to a shared living room with a PC for guests. The "formal" breakfast (at either 8 or 9 each morning) fell into the category of fine dining and fine chatting with other guests. Innkeepers Fernando and Don have made the house an art "gallery" that is warm, eclectic and fun. And, the gardens are sumptious. The property is very convenient to the central business area of Victoria, the government buildings and the Empress Hotel. We walked all over from the house. A stay at Albion Manor is a five star experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTGnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We arrived early in the morning and Fernando graciously stored our bags for us so we could go sightseeing. When we returned everything was already in our gorgeous room and the hospitality the entire time was just wonderful. We stayed three nights and didn't want to leave ever. The house is decorated so beautifully and the garden was a delight. We had room 8 in the front with a balcony overlooking the beautiful pond and flowers galore. We can't wait to go back. Thanks soo much Don and Fernando.

Room Tip: Every room is gorgeous and Fernando is beautifying each with his paintings but we loved room 8 with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uanahelefromhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My cousin and I spent three nights at Albion Manor in the garden room suite with a private garden entrance. The suite was large, comfortable and very nicely furnished with beautiful unique pieces, as was the remainder of the Victorian house. The B&B gardens are spectacular with many flowers - gladiolas, roses, delphiniums, dahlias, hollyhocks, etc. - in bloom. The location on a quiet residential street is perfect and within easy walking distance of town and also very near several restaurants only moments away. We tried two of them (both recommended by Fernando), and both were excellent. Fernando and Don orchestrate to perfection. We were served several course gourmet breakfasts in a lovely Victorian dining room setting. Don arranged for tickets and bus transportation for us to Butchart Gardens. Fernando suggested activities we might enjoy. Our visit to Victoria was even more memorable thanks to Don and Fernando. I can’t imagine a more perfect place to stay or more gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverPeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,918 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#4 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 224 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £64 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Manor is Victoria’s Victorian Jewel. We want your stay at Albion to be the crowning touch to your visit to Victoria. Ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Seattle and Port Angeles Ferries, the ocean, downtown and major attractions, Albion manor is situated in a beautiful, private garden, featuring spectacular architectural details. Enjoy the comforts of jacuzzis, private entrances, balconies and patios all in a superb heritage building eclectically decorated with art and antiques. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albion Manor Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing