We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently stayed five nights at Albion Manor; four in the Rubens room and one in Henry VIII. There really were no bad rooms in the house -- each is different but all are very thoughtfully and thoroughly decorated. Most of the upstairs rooms have nice porches to sit on but the gorgeous gardens have plenty of other spots to sit and enjoy the flowers. There are sitting rooms upstairs and down for congregating as well as all the spots on the porches and in the gardents.

Fernando and Don were perfect hosts -- gracious and helpful while being completely unimposing. Breakfasts were fantastic -- decadent without being completely unhealthy. Each breakfast started with a delicious fruit and yogurt course followed by an elegant main course - eggs with hollandaise one day, a variety of puff pancakes other days. The rooms were meticulously clean and full of Victorian accents and artwork. The beds were extremely comfortable and the linens were very nice and as fluffy as others have noted. It is in a fabulous central location -- we were able to walk or take harbor ferries everywhere. I was completely and unexpectedly charmed by the inn and its keepers and do not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any rooms, though the upstairs rooms with porches were par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCDurhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Fernando and Don are the hosts with the mosts. Attention to detail is second to none. Rooms dramatically and super comfortably appointed. Breakfasts sumptuous to the max and impeccably executed. Location great for ferry terminal as well as proximity to wonderful restaurants and activities. Cannot go wrong with these guys. What a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Swampcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Look no further than this B&B if you have a night or a fort night to spend in Victoria. Don and Fernando absolutely define a perfect B&B experience. They are gifted in the fine art of creating a memorable experience. The garden, the breakfast and the hospitality were the best we have ever experienced. Bar none, end of discussion. Big bonus for those travelers who appreciate art and antiques because this place if chalk full of some of the most interesting works of art anywhere.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and nirvana in it's own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Desert4Rayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We've been lucky to travel extensively over the years so we have a lot to compare with. Fernando and Don have created just an excellent place to stay. They offer genuine, warm hospitality. We had the pleasure of chatting several times with Fernando in particular about the house and the town. Don prepares exquisite breakfasts. (The warm pear dish on Saturday morning was heaven.) The grounds are spectacular gardens.
To be fair, this place is probably not for everyone. The decor is a riot of Victoriana (stunning antique furniture and lots of things on tables) mixed with Fernando's personal artwork. Our room, the Renoir, was enormous, with its own kitchen and little patio.Very comfortable and squeaky clean. Check their website for the other rooms. We just loved the place.
There are no choices offered at breakfast, so be prepared for something other than a Days Inn waffle. For example, Sunday's meal was a frittata with mushrooms. My wife loves mushrooms; I do not. But I ate every morsel because the way Don prepared it, it was simply delicious. We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms vary considerably in size, but all are well done. Check their website for full, accurate descr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rah373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stay at the Albion Manor for 2 nights. The exterior of the property is gorgeous. The gardens and the painted Victorian detail is charming and welcoming. The b&b is in a great location. Just blocks to the ferry terminal and downtown. We stayed in the Queen's Room. The room was small, but well appointed. It had a beautiful fireplace and really quiet private balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Wine glasses and a cork screw were provided in the room. The bathroom had a wonderful claw foot tub and separate shower. The b&b has 2 common areas. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful each morning and made the stay completely worth it! It was a great place to stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everyone should visit this unique place at Vancouver Island! We were there one night but will remember it forever! The breakfast was served in a fantastic dining room with classical music in the background. We felt like kings and queens! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated in Victorian style! I only have great recommendations for this unique spot in the world!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Charlotte301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the Gargoyle Cottage for 4 nights and were totally pleased. The decor is a hoot, the gardens are magnificent and the quirkiness of the entire place was refreshing. The owners, Don & Fernando do a great job hosting and Don is also the breakfast chef....4 stars for that!!! You'll also see Fernando's art throughout the property....both are very talented. I must say that the towels in the bathroom have got to be the softest towels I have ever experienced....what an added bonus. Location is ideal....short walking distance to the harbor and downtown. We would stay again if ever returning to Victoria....thanks to them both for providing a wonderful home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveloverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,917 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#4 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 224 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £64 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Manor is Victoria’s Victorian Jewel. We want your stay at Albion to be the crowning touch to your visit to Victoria. Ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Seattle and Port Angeles Ferries, the ocean, downtown and major attractions, Albion manor is situated in a beautiful, private garden, featuring spectacular architectural details. Enjoy the comforts of jacuzzis, private entrances, balconies and patios all in a superb heritage building eclectically decorated with art and antiques. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albion Manor Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing