We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark and cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marketa's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dark and cramped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Marketa asked us to review our stay so here are our comments.

The good points about our 2 night stay were the quiet, convenient location, the jacuzzi bath and the freshly cooked breakfast served in a well-lit room.

However, I found the house very dark, in particular our room which was decorated black and brown. The room is called a honeymoon room, but it is too cramped for 2 people and lacked storage space. The bed was uncomfortable and one of the posts was loose. We disliked having the washing facilities (bath, shower and basin) situated in the bedroom. The basin was not cleaned during our stay, nor were the thin towels touched, and there were cobwebs in the small cloakroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswells2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    88
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
56
202
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

fantastic location near anything you would want to do in Victoria, BC. Close but not on top of anything. You will feel like you stayed in the city and got to know the place. Breakfast great. Home cooked, fresh fruit and nice quiet setting that allowed you to get to know your fellow travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver010Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Marketa's B&B was a very lovely place we stayed at. It's conveniently located in walking distance to the center. We had one of the (cheaper) floors on the ground floor, which was nothing spectacular, but neat and clean, hence exactly what we were looking for. The REAL highlight, however, was the breakfast - the best we had in any B&B on our 2-months journey. Very tasty, nicely decorated - and we loved the fact that we shared tables for breakfast with other parties and got to know great people. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelOlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We only stayed one night at the beginning of our vacation at Marketa’s. Compared to all other B&B which we experienced during our Canada stay Marketa’s is only average. We booked a Family Room and got a Budget-Room which apparently is the same, but not advertised on their webpage. The pictures on the webpage is not what you get, when you book a Family Room - at least not in our case (and in some reviews mentioned as well). We would recommend Marketa’s to consider adding the Budget-Room’s to their webpage or clearly state that the Family Room is a Budget-Room (if there is really no difference) very likely to be located in the cellar. It’s just misleading compared to the expectations you have from the picture and descriptions on their webpage. The room we had was okay for one night, very old furniture a bit like second hand and the the bed was awful.
The room was clean and very simple. You have a shared kitchenette which can use, if you like.
The B&B location is great as you can walk into the city centre, which may take you 15 minutes.
In general the breakfast was great, just the English Breakfast was not what we had expected. We had the Bagel too, which was great and we got very jealous when we saw the French Toast! We haven’t tasted it, but just by listening to the others and the look this is what you should go for!

We guess for Victoria and the location of Marketa’s the B&B is good value, if you are aware of what room you booked and align your expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The delicious eggs benny and smoked salmon bagel tops our stay at this lovely heritage house. There's really something about clawfoot tubs and vintage fourpost beds that charm my socks off. Their furry mascot Mr. T made them earn 10 more extra points for me

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lovely place and wonderful breakfast. Always looked forward to breakfast time. They have four to five menu for each breakfast and I could choose one from them. I loved Egg Florentine so much. The stay here made our family vacation specail. Warm heart staff!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineandsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed in one of the "Budget Rooms," located in the basement/first floor of the B&B. The room was simple and clean, but had everything we needed. Our floor also had a kitchenette, which we used to store wine and ice cream. Breakfast was held in their sunroom with several tables. One morning we had to share a table with a couple of girls that were also traveling, which turned out to be a lovely experience. The breakfast menu changed daily and everything was just delicious. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Budget room was basic and nice, great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkurban12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketa's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketa's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Marketa's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 239 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marketa's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marketa's Bed and Breakfast offers a unique taste of traditional hospitality mixed with European flair. As soon as you walk into this heritage home built in 1912, the panelled walls echo a different era. An era of Edwardian comfort and hospitality, a place to rest and recuperate after a day investigating the many treasures of Victoria BC, the garden city of Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Marketa's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marketa`s b&b
Marketa`s Hotel Victoria
Marketa's Bed And Breakfast Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing