We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and peaceful location”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent and peaceful location”
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

The Oswego Hotel combines a superb location with modern stylish rooms. We had a small kitchen with dishwasher in our room along with en-suite bathroom and tip-up bed. The view out of the window - we were on one of the higher floors - was fantastic. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Oswego and all the staff we met were courteous and friendly, really could not fault them. We also sampled the restaurant which was excellent and also had a good wine list.

The only slight negative was that the bed was not the most comfortable we slept in on our trip but it was perfectly acceptable and we slept ok.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixed-up-infoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

Yes the views are beautiful from the upper floors in the hotel and we are pleased you sampled that.

Next time you come and visit us please let me know directly as I would like to arrange for you to stay in a One Bedroom suite - a lot more comfortable than a murphy bed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    404
    92
    37
    22
See reviews for
414
856
84
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Excellent location - a short walk to attractions such as the Legislative Assembly, Royal BC Museum and the waterfront seawall. We rented a studio and a one-bedroom suite and found the decor very modern and stylish. The bathroom is super nice with a separate shower and tub. The units come with well-equipped kitchens and are quite spacious. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.
The only negative is the sofa bed in the one- bedroom unit. It should have a "mattress topper" to help increase the comfort level. ( They did provide us with a duvet to solve this issue)
The bed in the studio suite is OK but not as luxurious as the bed in the bedroom so I would recommend reserving a one-bedroom suite instead of a studio.
They have a very secure bike storage room which I appreciated.

Room Tip: We were on the street side (2nd floor), so would be better to be higher up and have a view. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are also glad that you experienced both our Studio and One Bedroom suites.

Sorry that the sofa bed was a little uncomfortable. The mattresses fitting into the sofa bed unfortunately will not allow for a pillow top however, our houskeeping team can definately place a duvet on there for a bit more comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We really liked the Oswego. Their suite with kitchenette was perfect for a family. We had an upper floor room with a nice view of the outer harbor. I read that this was a "neighborhood" hotel and was expecting it to be further from downtown. I was surprised to pull up and find it about 1 block from the central tourist attractions.

Victoria is a very small city, so you could easily walk from here to most everything you wanted to see, except for the Gardens, which are outside of town. There is also a market about 2 blocks away where you can shop for the basics and make yourself breakfast in the nicely appointed kitchen. There are two flatscreen TV's in the suite, and a nice balcony. Our son slept on the pull out in the living room and was very comfortable.

Overall we were very happy with our stay at this small boutique-style hotel, just steps away from the hubbub and the more well-known large hotels. We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Upper floors have views of the harbor. Ask for them. One-bedroom suite was great for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runningpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your review.

Yes the Oswego hotel has a perfect location - being close to all the attractions but in the quieter area of the inner harbour.

We are glad that you enjoyed all the amenities that the hotel has to offer and thank you for your positive comments about your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Close to all of Victoria's attractions, we walked to most places. A very comfortable hotel, we preferred to eat out but the restaurant looked attractive. Breakfasts were excellent with a good choice. The car park was very convenient under the hotel with a lift to all floors.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel during your recent visit to Victoria. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Come back and visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived in Victoria on the Clipper Ferry from Seattle, the hotel is 5 minutes walk from the ferry point in a nice residential street. Its about 15 minutes walk to the downtown area.

The actual hotel is modern and clean and rooms were spacious. It feels more like an apartment block than a hotel though. There is a restaurant/bar in the hotel. Bar closed at 10pm and they do not serve residents a minute after this time.

There was a full kitchen in the room, even with a dishwasher (we personally had no need for any of this and would preferred not to have it - loud fridge clicks on and off all night - very annoying). The bed was one of those ones that can fold against the wall, it was seriously uncomfortable, like sleeping on a fold up camp bed. We would not have expected this in a hotel room.

Ate in the restaurant once, it was OK, not memorable, grumpy waitress.

The bar in The Empress Hotel is worth checking out. And also if you go online at 5pm each afternoon to the Harbour Air website you may be able to book a seaplane at a very good price. We managed to fly back to Vancouver Airport for just 50 dollars. Amazing!

Room Tip: Although we did not see these rooms, we would imagine the rooms at the front and on the higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your recent review.

Upon reviewing your your comments, I can see that you recently stayed in one of our studio suites. This is our smallest room type and also has a murphy bed. Its like a studio condo. I appreciated your comments about a noisy fridge that I will pass onto our maintenance department to take a look at.

As you can see from previous reviews the murphy bed can be a challenging bed type for the comfort levels for some of our guests. This room type is a very small portion of our overall suites with the majority of our suites being one and two bedroom suites, with seperate bedroom with a queen size bed, full kitchen and balcony - No noisy fridge and no murphy bed.

Please come and visit us again soon. Please let me me know directly when you return and I will ensure you get to experience a quiet, relaxing and comfortable stay in one of our One Bedroom suites.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Mini Suites are very nice . Baths have shower and seperate tub. Kitchen not used but equipped . Grill Bar -very good service and excellent food reasonably priced. - Great breakfast with best fried potatos and multi-grain bread.

Within fairly easy walk to main part of town

Close to Victoria-Seattle Ferry boat landing - Nice part of town

Room Tip: 9th floor room overlook to north and main part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RfoxtrotMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We appreciate your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Oswego in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Great location. Clean and very well appointed. Super helpful and attentive staff. The only odd thing about an otherwise excellent hotel experience was the choice to use a murphy bed in their studio suites. Not an amazing nights sleep, but also totally unnecessary in a hotel room. Anyhow, just marked that up as a slight eccentricity, not a negative.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sebage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and the staff.

We are sorry that your experience with the murphy bed comfort was a little substandard. As noted on previous reviews some of our guests find this bed type less comfortable. I am pleased to inform you that the studio suites are a very small amount of our overall suite types. The majority of the hotel consists of One and Two Bedroom suites - not a murphy bed in sight.

Please let me know directly when you will be coming back to the Oswego and we will ensure you stay in a One Bedroom suite with a very comfortable and relaxing bed type.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,025 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,029 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing