We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable and clean!”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great stay - we stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday (yes this is a late review!) as we were there to visit family. The pricing for a 1 bedroom suite around the holidays was very reasonable.

What we loved:
It felt like we were in our own condo in Victoria. Loved the french press that they had in the rooms as well as the coffee they provided us. Lots of space with nice modern furnishings. We even invited the bf's brother over to play board games in our hotel room one afternoon as most shops were closed on Christmas Day and our hotel room was nicer/more comfortable than the bf's grandma's house. The bathrooms were also very nice. Overall, loved the modern and clean feel of the place. Also, it was located in downtown Victoria on a quieter street but definitely walking distance to the harbour, shopping, restaurants, etc. It was great starting base for walking around to the other hotels to check out the Christmas decorations.

What could be improved:
The beds were not the most comfortable, but it was fine for our short stay. They weren't that bad, it's just that they are not as comfortable as some of the beds we've slept on in some better hotel chains. We can't really comment on housekeeping as they had limited service during the holidays... but as mentioned, we weren't there for a long stay so it didn't bother us.

Would we stay again? The answer is definitely yes!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cdnsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We recently stayed there September 13/15th 2012. We really enjoyed our suite on the 12th floor. Well layed out, comfortable bed, balcony, fridge etc. Everything one needs was there. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Victoria.
The only place that needs improving is the restaurant. The service is way to slow, and the food selections for breakfast are not acceptable. Otherwise a very nice place.

Room Tip: higher up rooms have a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at the Oswego in September 2012 for two nights while visiting Victoria. We took the Victoria Clipper from Seattle and were glad the hotel was only a couple of blocks from the landing point in the harbor. The staff was friendly and helpful and our one-bedroom suite was comfortable and well-appointed. I am picky about cleanliness but did not have any issues with the Oswego. The bed was a queen size with a comfortable mattress - no murphy bed! Our one bedroom condo had a full mini-kitchen with all the necessiites. We just made coffee in the french press and ate in the dining room, which I must say was scrumptious. Guests get a 20% discount and the prices seemed very reasonable. We had dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both. There is no air conditioning and it did get a little warm. We opened the windows but at night that attracted moths, etc. We loved Victoria, strolling the harbor area, taking a water taxi tour, a trip to Bouchart Gardens (don't miss it!) and soaking up the atmosphere at a local pub, it's a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaytonSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked a 1 night stay in a 2 bedroom premium suite and on arrival were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a boutique suite on the 10th floor (Suite 1001) with a large deck facing the harbour. The views were spectacular, especially in the evening with the lights of the inner harbour...very relaxing and enjoyable! We will definitely return for a more extended stay in the future! Thank you!

The location of the hotel is very convenient to the ferry docks and in a quiet neighborhood away from but yet in easy walking distance to the shops and attractions.

The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating providing us with an early check-in and great dining suggestions. We had an excellent dinner withh our friends in the O Bistro restaurant on the 1st floor of the hotel. Lauren and Jessica (wait staff) were very friendly and attentive and we appreciated the discount coupon provided in our room.

The suite was quite spacious with an island kitchen. We flipped a coin for the larger bedroom with private bath...we lost, but the 2nd smaller bedroom had a great view of the city, including the lights on the government bldg. and its own small balcony. The suite was nicely furnished but a friendly recommendation would be to provide more clothes hangers in the bdrm. closets and towel hooks in the bathrooms.

As owners of a small Inn on the Olympic Pennisula, we know how much work and effort is required to provide quality lodging on a consistent basis and do appreciate the hospitality and amenities provided by the Oswego Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and we had a wonderful time. our room was lovely and we really enjoyed the kitchenette. The only negative was that there is no view of the harbour but it is only a short walk away so a small price to pay for such a peaceful room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrannySharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Oswego.

Please let us know directly when you will be returning and we will ensure that you are placed on a higher floor with beautiful views.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We recently stayed here while on a 3,000 mile round-trip that took us from the SF Bay Area up the coast to Seattle, then to Victoria (and back). During our previous visit to Victoria we stayed at the Empress. This time we decided to stay at the Oswego. My decision was based on what I saw on their website, and probably even more-so because of a phone call I made to the hotel LATE one night when i was planning the trip. The gentleman that I spoke to couldn't have been nicer, answering any and all the questions that I had about the hotel and the parking (important since we were traveling on the motorcycles you see in my profile picture). I later found that he and the younger gentleman out front would be the highlight of the staff (go figure....the nightwatchman and the parking attendant were the nicest people there). The hotel has a great location within walking distance of the harbor and has the aforementioned GREAT parking. Unfortunately this hotel has other issues that good parking can't cure.

We arrived and found the hotel to be as nice as it seemed in the pictures. Always a good sign. The young lady that checked us in was kind of stand-off-ish at first but seemed to warm up a bit after a few minutes. She might have realized this because she ended up upgrading our room. The room was great, although the hallway could use some work. Nothing wrong with the hallway, it just really doesn't stack-up to the rest of the hotel in appearance (lobby, restaurant, etc). But again, the room was great and it's size was more that of an apartment than a hotel room. It was clean and had the usual amenities (except AC). It also had a nice sized balcony. So ashtetically, the Oswego fit the bill.
My reasoning for giving the Oswego an average rating is based on how UN-friendly the staff was. I've stayed at everything from Ritz Carlton's to Springhill Suites (We stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Seattle the night prior to here) and never have I been to a hotel with such indifferent and borderline snobby employees. It was hard to explain. We were there for 2 nights and not once (other than the guy on night-shift whom I'm pretty sure was the same guy I spoke to that night on the phone) did someone say hello to us when we walked into the lobby and past the front desk. At one point we walked downstairs to the front desk and asked which way the gym was. The gentleman told us to walk thru the restaurant, etc. etc. We followed his instructions and as we approached the restaurant one of the waitresses practically stood in our way with a "where the hell are you going" look on her face. I asked again if that was the way to the gym and she directed us to a different door that led to the same hallway. I have no problem with her telling me about a different way, but it was blatantly obvious that she was frowning at us for even thinking of walking through the restaurant (and yes we were very decently dressed).
A hotel should be inviting. I didn't feel that here. It's a shame because it's a nice place. The restaurant, on the surface, looked very nice but we didn't bother going. After the experience with whom we saw would likely would be our server, why would I spend a penny in there. (We ate that night at "The Keg Steakhouse & Bar" which seems to be Canada's version of Ruth's Chris or Capital Grille. Our food and the service from our waitress was VERY good btw).

It takes a lot for me to take the time to write anything but a good review. As a matter of fact, of the THIRTEEN hotels we stayed at during this trip, THIS was the only one that gave us anything less than a great experience. And that includes a Best Western in John Day, OR where the lady at the front desk was one of the most capable front desk attendants I've ever come across (in JOHN DAY, OR!!!!). Or even the tech that came to fix the broken AC in our room in Crescent CIty. These people were NICE, friendly people that went out of their way to be hospitable no matter what (even the place with a broken AC will get a positive review....stuff happens. they were very accommodating about it). Makes sense since they work in the "hospitality business", right? Rarely will I bother with a bad review, but in this case I really think it's necessary. A hotel may not have a concierge, valet parking or a restaurant but it HAS to have good, friendly service.

One last thing I should mention: They really should have their laundry delivery service either come in via a back entrance or make less noise. They showed up at like 7 AM and couldn't have made more noise if they crashed the truck through the lobby doors. We were on I believe the 6th floor and with the windows open (no AC), it was impossible to sleep through it.

Anyway, we'll be back to Victoria very soon. We really like it there. The people are not all like the employees we found here. Everyone we came across was incredibly nice. Next time we'll just have to find another place to stay.

In summary, this is a nice hotel whose service and hospitality falls short of it's appearance. Kind of like the hallway vs. the lobby I guess. If friendliness isn't an issue for you then you'll have no problem here. It is a nice place after all.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank GM3_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Firstly, let me apologize on behalf of my team for any sub standard lack of friendly service levels that you encountered. The team are extremely perturbed by your comments - your comments are so different than the majority of other reviews that rave about the high level of customer service and warm staff at the Oswego.

We are glad that you did encounter some staff members that were very welcoming and friendly as noted on your review.

The entire team at the Oswego prides itself on its level of service and standards. We will discuss with all the teams to ensure that great customer service standards are maintained at all times for our guests.

It is hard if our guests leave and dissatisfaction was not brought to our attention earlier during your stay or that we were not given the opportunity to rectify these areas of concern. We will work with all staff members to ensure this dosen't occur again.

Please let me know if you would consider giving us another chance next time you visit Victoria and for you to experience the wonderful staff and service that so many of our guests write abour and keep returning back to the Oswego.

We hope to be able to change your view of the Oswego - please let me know directly if that is an option.

Thank you

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in a top floor penthouse suite a few weeks ago on our trip to Victoria, we were certainly not disappointed! The view from the very large patio were amazing! The inner harbour was an amazing sight to see at night. The room was beautifully furnished...the french press in the morning for our coffee was a thoughtful bonus. Great location, easy walk to many sights downtown, friendly staff, this will be the only hotel for us next time we're on Vancouver Island! Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooper b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £84 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing