We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Oswego - what more can you say?”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Oswego Hotel was our second stop on our honeymoon and we were so glad we chose this hotel. At booking, Michael at guest services was awesome and was very happy to answer any questions I had. Upon arrival, we were even upgraded to a one bedroom suite on the eighth floor with view over downtown and to the far right we were even able to see the ocean. We couldn't have asked for more. The bathroom was huge with a bathtub and shower and the kitchen was equipped with plenty of utensils, refrigerator, stove, microwave, oven (not sure),coffee maker etc. etc. Before arrival I was a little concerned about the distance to the center of town, but it really only is an easy 5-10 minute walk. We got there using public transportation so we didn't use the parking garage. As far as I know it is not free of charge, but at a reasonable rate. All the staff we met were always friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was not included in the rate but that didn't matter to us. If we ever get the chance to come back to beautiful Victoria, the Oswego is the place where we will stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeanTraveler508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2012

Firstly congratulations on your special day!

We are thrilled that you stayed at the Oswego on your honeymoon and that you enjoyed the staff and the hotel.

We have an amazing hard working team at the Oswego - thank you for your kind comments that I will definately pass onto the team.

Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,588 - 1,594 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

While I was only staying one night, the Oswego hotel provided excellent service and accommodations. They cater to travelers with longer stays, with well-appointed kitchens and spacious rooms. Be sure to pay attention to the room type you choose. I had a Murphy style bed, which was fine for one night, but I don't think I would be comfortable sleeping on it for a week. Also, both the shower and bathtub required 2 steps up, which would not make the room I had convenient for those with mobility issues. The kitchen area was quite nice, and I had plenty of room. The hotel was conveniently located, but not in the middle of the busier tourist area, so quieter at night. I would choose the hotel in the future.

Room Tip: If you need handicap accessible, be sure to call them directly. Some rooms have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lig24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

When you walk through the door it feels like home.
It is still a hotel and has all the feel of one as well.
A very clean spot and I very much value that a news paper is dropped out side the door in the morning. Few hotels offer that service any more.
A special little hotel.
The Bistro needs a bit of improvement with some of the items on the menu but over all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very enjoyable place to stay. Good location, great food at very reasonable rates & fantastic staff that treat you special. Would recommend. This is 2 time at this hotel & have had a great experience both times.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed at the Oswego for two months this past winter. Because the trip was so long I needed a facility that would be truly pet friendly. The Oswego totally fit that bill. The staff are friendly and helpful.The suites are lovely - beautifully decorated, comfortable and fully equipped. The food in the bistro is wonderful. In addition the hotel has a great location - lovely quiet neighbourhood within easy walking distance of the waterfront and downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I can honestly say this was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at. Not the most luxurious or the most elaborate, just the all around nicest. Clean and spacious suit, fully equipped kitchen (including a French Press coffee maker with great coffee), clean and modern with a private balcony. It is also perfectly located just a couple of blocks from the inner harbor and in walking distance to the sea side water front. The restaurant food was excellent even though a little limited on selection. I would not stay anywhere else when visiting Victoria.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kktraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great stay - we stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday (yes this is a late review!) as we were there to visit family. The pricing for a 1 bedroom suite around the holidays was very reasonable.

What we loved:
It felt like we were in our own condo in Victoria. Loved the french press that they had in the rooms as well as the coffee they provided us. Lots of space with nice modern furnishings. We even invited the bf's brother over to play board games in our hotel room one afternoon as most shops were closed on Christmas Day and our hotel room was nicer/more comfortable than the bf's grandma's house. The bathrooms were also very nice. Overall, loved the modern and clean feel of the place. Also, it was located in downtown Victoria on a quieter street but definitely walking distance to the harbour, shopping, restaurants, etc. It was great starting base for walking around to the other hotels to check out the Christmas decorations.

What could be improved:
The beds were not the most comfortable, but it was fine for our short stay. They weren't that bad, it's just that they are not as comfortable as some of the beds we've slept on in some better hotel chains. We can't really comment on housekeeping as they had limited service during the holidays... but as mentioned, we weren't there for a long stay so it didn't bother us.

Would we stay again? The answer is definitely yes!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cdnsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: 500 Oxwego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £89 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing