We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel has it all: it's modern yet comfy, very clean, it's within walking distance to many tourist attractions. The service was exceptional, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. There were plenty of modern amenities in our one-bedroom suite on the ninth floor, but we particularly loved using the French coffee press every morning to make a cup of organic coffee, which we enjoyed on our balcony with great views of Victoria.
One minor flaw tough: It got uncomfortably warm in our room during the day although the outside temperatures were only around 60 degrees Fahrenheit. There was no air conditioning, but opening the windows and the balcony doors brought down the temp a bit. At night, however, we had to keep the windows shut because it got pretty noisy at times.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaRN1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the service from the team.

During the summer months in Victoria the temperature can get warmer during the day but it cools down at night time. We have fans in the suites and upon request we can have an additional fans brought to your suite. Many of our guests do enjoy the breeze with the windows open.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    365
    88
    36
    19
See reviews for
359
754
70
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I chose the Oswego Hotel (The 'O') based primarily on price and location.
As the tour bus was depositing other tourists at the many other hotels they had chosen we were concerned a couple times about our choice. Once we arrived the worries were immediately dispelled. The 'O' is modern elegance from moment you view the facade throughout the entire hotel. The room (one bed suite) was very spacious with full kitchen and french press coffee maker. One block from Victoria's waterfront and walking distance to downtown the location was perfect. I wish we had more time to try out the Spa treatments. My expectations were exceeded and it's not often we get to say that!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego - we know that there are many choices of hotels to stay at in Victoria. Your positive comments I will pass onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us maybe for a longer period so that you can relax and enjoy the hotel amenities that you missed during this stay.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Oswego Hotel in Victoria is a great boutique hotel situated in a quiet neighbourhood a short walk from the downtown core. We stayed at the Oswego Hotel over the May long weekend and were very happy to not be situated in the downtown core which was swarming with busloads of tourists. Instead, we were staying only a few minutes’ walk away in a quiet, beautiful old neighbourhood.

The Oswego is also a very modern hotel and we were very pleased with our room. Our suite style room had a balcony looking out to the harbor/legislative buildings along with a large and clean bathroom and a full kitchen (complete with cookware!). Overall, we were very happy with the Oswego and will certainly stay there again next time we are in Victoria.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmmuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our location. Like yourselves many of our guests enjoy our location which is only a short walk to the inner harbor but, very close to the ocean and the quieter side of the harbor in the residential area of James Bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

It was a comfortable, clean room with kitchenette area, (organic coffee, ) good service, reasonable rate, great location. Unfortunately for us it was not good connection for Internet.
We really recommend this hotel if you need to visit Victoria.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us we appreciate you. We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

We have been working with our wireless internet provider to improve the service for our hotel guests with this complimentary service.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ucluelet, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Oswego Hotel for a small getaway to the big city for May 19 and 20. Now, I don't remember names but the staff I came in contact with during my stay were all exemplary. The lady at the front desk at our check in on May 19, 2013 was attentive and helpful. Understanding that we had travelled 4 hours from Ucluelet, she gave us the pertinent information we required and offered any additional information we required later. The room was clean and was an excellent room. We enjoyed the amenities of the room. Felt luxurious. We enjoyed that Starbucks and Thrifty's were just a few blocks away! The young many on the front desk on Sunday May 21 was polite and also attentive. He made sure that my small town self had an easy route to get out of Victoria during the parade. He was beyond patient and an excellent contact before departing. A nice room and exemplary staff. Thanks Oswego Hotel! Will be back again! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your wonderful experience at the Oswego hotel.

Our Guest satisfaction and experience is so important for the team and they work hard together to ensure all of our guests relax and are looked after, from the moment they arrive until they leave us.

I will definitely pass on your comments to the team, especially the Guest Services team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Diamond, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We went to Victoria over the Memorial Day weekend and stayed at the Oswego. The rooms were set up very nicely, with a fully stocked kitchenette area, a nice small stereo, flat screen tv and a table with chairs. The bed was a murphy bed and was the only disappointment. If you don't mind a very firm bed, then you won't mind it. It was to hard for my taste. The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was nice and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of the harbor and all the tourist things around the harbor. We didn't have a car and were fine walking all weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mageeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Thank you Oswego for a lovely stay. We have family who recently moved to Victoria so we came to visit with our two teenage children. We don't even have to hotel search for future visits. We are definitely coming back to The Oswego. What a refreshing change from all the old style Victorian buildings. Updated classic modern that feels like home. Great service, no roll away beds so recevied a free upgrade to a two bedroom suite. Wow! (Maybe just check the quality of your sofa bed mattresses - quite lumpy) Great views, extra touches like Qtips, organic coffee, windows that open. Easy to walk to everything. Water on both sides. Your service combined with a beautiful hotel and reasonable rates will please most anybody!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing