We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfy”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Modern, comfy”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We locked in a nice queen/king bed room for about $120. It's a very nice and modern place that's about one block from where the ferry arrives if you're coming from Port Angeles. It's an easy 10-minute walk from downtown Victoria... maybe a little less. They have underground parking, free apples and a nice-looking restaurant and bar (though we didn't dine there). Staff was friendly. Everything was clean. Our room had a nicely-equipped full kitchen, and a bottle of red and white wine for a fairly reasonable hotel price (I think $16 for smallish bottle).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay including our location and the hotel amenities.

We hope that you come and stay with us in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    385
    88
    37
    21
See reviews for
384
806
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Great location with a quick walk to the ferry terminal. We visited in April and I managed to book us (not on purpose) a larger than needed room with a living room, separate bedroom and a big kitchen. Although we didn't bring the dog, this is a pet friendly hotel...
Also, if you need a place for dinner, go to Ulla. Amazing food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarampope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel to stay at during your visit to Victoria - we know that there are many choices.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We booked two nights here as part of a Clipper Vacations trip from Seattle. The hotel is just two blocks from where the Clipper disembarks, and a short walk from the center of Victoria. The neighborhood is astonishingly quiet for being so close to the center. The hotel is not a cookie-cutter place, from the moment you step through the doors. Tiny check-in desk, lovely lounge/restaurant area. Our room was bigger than I expected with a huge kitchen that was surprisingly well stocked. Would be a great place for a week-long stay. There are no rooms in the hotel with two queen beds, but the sofa bed was very comfortable. I do wonder if the room might get super hot on those rare warm days--there didn't seem to be air conditioning, and the room was equipped with three fans. Despite that one hesitation, I look forward to staying here again one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 6th floor looking south--beautiful view and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your positive stay with us. We really appreciate all of our guests.

Your kind comments I will definitely pass onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We love the Oswego and this was our second visit. Wonderful location, AMAZING spa bathrooms and large modern suites make this a great hotel. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and professional. We were travelling with our 11 month old son and loved the convenience of the spacious room and kitchen.
However, we cannot fully recommend this hotel for families (the Oswego seems to provide more special amenities for dogs than for babies...). The playpen that was provided was too small and uncomfortable for our baby to sleep in and the hotel bistro does not have a change table in the bathroom (not a huge deal, but inconvenient). The carpet was quite stained and dirty and we didn't really feel great letting our little one crawl around, a downside.
In sum, if you're a childless couple looking for a romantic getaway, you won't find a better hotel in Victoria. If you're a family with babies in tow, there are probably more family friendly options out there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 39richter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate that you chose the Oswego hotel to stay at whilst visiting Victoria.

You had mentioned in your review that we do not have a change table in our public washrooms. We do have public washrooms on both the 1st and 2nd floors. The change table is located on the 2nd floor.

I have definitely passed on your comments regarding the carpets to our Executive Housekeeper. We clean the carpets throughout the year on an ongoing basis. Even now in our high season carpet cleaning continues as needed. We want out guests to have the best experience whilst staying with us - my apologies that the carpet detracted for your overall experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

It's rare that you have the opportunity to stay in a hotel that really feels connected to it's community, history and culture. The Oswego Hotel is one of those true experiences. I really feel like there was intentionality at every step of my experience. The property itself is well maintained, clean and appropriately decorated. Each and every staff member I encountered was friendly and going out of their way to give me a hand. They were also able to serve in a way that was very authentic and unpretentious. The location is also favorable if you're looking for great places to eat out while staying in Victoria. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imbatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Wow - thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

Each and every staff member works together as a team to provide a great guest experience. It is genuine and authentic! We love our loyal guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back again to stay with us next time you come to Victoria.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We booked the Oswego together with ferry tickets. It was directly across the d treet from the Victoria Clipper terminal and a short walk to the Parliament building and the Empress. The room was well appointed and a nice size. There was music playing when we walked in. It felt like home. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looming for place to stay in Victoria.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkkizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and your stay with us.

We work closely with the Victoria Clipper and many of their travelers choose to stay with us due to the great location.

Our guest experience is very important and we are glad that you enjoyed the little touches we provide our hotel guests.

Thank you for your positive comments which I will definitely pass onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Only spent one night. Service was prompt and courteous. Only downside on an otherwise great room was the carpeting. It was stained and ratty looking. Apparently, I have not reached my 200 word minimum! The location was nice, easy walking distance to the harbor area.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of our carpets are cleaned regularly! Even now in the busy summer months we have continual carpets being cleaned as required. I have discussed your comments to our Executive Housekeeper for further inspection. I apologize if your carpet was of a sub standard level of cleanliness but you have my assurance that this has now been addressed.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,571 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing