We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oswego Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Delta Hotels Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
US$407
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arbutus Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$165
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,006)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveller rating
1,364
473
106
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,364
473
106
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench pressfull kitchenone bedroom suiteturn down serviceboutique hoteljames baytwo blocksquiet arealovely hotelwithin walking distanceunderground parkingvictoria clipperhotel roomlarge bathroomhome away from homeno air conditioningferry terminal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

First the location: close to the centre, close to ferries, and to good walks around the city. Underground secure parking. small enough to have the front desk and servers in the restaurant know you and large enough to provide the necessary services. All rooms have full kitchens or kitchenettes, coffee, fridges.
The bathrooms are well designed and fitted out, and are clean...and a good size.

the restaurant provided okay food, but very good service...all guests receive 20% discount on all meals, drinks in the restaurant.

We have stayed here four times in past, will stay again, and would highly recommend it

Room Tip: all rooms are good, not one type or location appears poor....also they are pet friendly!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay with us.

Thank you for keep coming back and we are so pleased you enjoy not only our wonderful location but the amenities and staff too.

Next time you are in Victoria we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Booked as part of the Victoria Clipper 1-night getaway package. Upgraded to this hotel for $25 per person. Was an excellent choice. LOCATION: 2 blocks from the Clipper ferry terminal. In fact, the exit of the terminal dumps right onto Oswego street. It was very easy and convenient to be able to check out on Sunday, store our luggage in the hotel, walk around town until 4pm, and swing by to pick up the luggage and head to the ferry. ROOMS: Very generously sized. Looking at the Emerg Exit map on the room door, the floor plan showed us as having the smallest room on the floor. And yet, we had a balcony, huge bathroom with separate Bath and shower, kitchen, and entryway. AMENITIES: Didn't really use any other than the fitness room. The fitness room was plenty adequate, Even had free weights which is often hard to find. SERVICE: Outstanding. They let us check in and get a room even with a 11AM arrival. When we got back to the room at night, they had already done the turndown service even complete with Water pitchers (w/mint) on each nightstand along with the blinds being closed and chocolate placed on the bed. Also appreciated the radio being turned on so that whenever you walk into your room, some soft rock is playing.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank aznrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Wow thank you for writing a review and noting all the things you enjoyed about the hotel.

We pride ourselves on the little things and attention to detail so that our guests enjoy the best experience they can whilst staying with us.

We are one of the closest hotels to the Clipper terminal and our guests do love the short walk once they arrive in Victoria to then relax and head out for the day sightseeing etc.

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I took a quick trip to Vancouver and Victoria for our pre-Christmas birthdays. My husband booked the Oswego based upon Tripadvisor reviews. You folks know what you're talking about. I think the Oswego would be described as a "boutique" hotel meaning it is small and intimate with a hands-on staff. Really classy without being pretentious. We arrived in the evening (which in Canada in the winter starts around 3 pm!). We were tired from our ferry trip and so ate in the very excellent hotel restaurant. We were able to purchase a nice bottle of wine from our server and had a few drinks in our room, which was gorgeous. We had a suite which included a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Perfect for 2 (or more, really). Our view was adorable Victoria, which while misty, was quite romantic.

The woman at the front desk pointed us toward Butchart Gardens, reassuring us that, even in the winter, it is beautifully decorated. We were able to catch a tour bus right next door and we weren't disappointed. The gardens are magical on a winter's night. We also walked over to the Royal BC Museum and were quite impressed with its offerings.

The Oswego is close to many restaurants, bars, attractions, and the downtown area which is a must-see for strolling. It is located on a side street so the feeling is one of peace and tranquility. We obviously went in the winter, so the crowds were minimal. I highly recommend it as long as you dress for the weather!

Room Tip: We sprung for a suite which was quite a good deal, but I have a feeling that any room here is well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel to stay at during the busy festive month of December.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Oswego in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our family of five (2 adults and 3 children aged 11, 17, and 20) had a great stay at the Oswego over Christmas. Our 2-bedroom suite on the 10th floor was fully furnished, clean, elegant, and comfortable, with a full kitchen (including dishwasher, refrigerator, stove, microwave, small appliances, and dishes) and a lovely large balcony with an inspiring view. At our request, the staff even set up a Christmas tree for us. They were also very helpful with food allergies when we ordered food from the restaurant and with a replacement iron when ours didn't work. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Its location is convenient walking distance to the Inner Harbour (Parliament buildings, Royal BC Museum, etc.), Beacon Hill Park, and plenty of shops, restaurants, and coffee shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Glad that the team went above and beyond to ensure you had a relaxing stay with your family.

The Two Bedrooms can be very spacious. All of our suites do have kitchens also.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oswego in 2014 so that we can continue to deliver on standards of service that you have come to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed at the Oswego over Christmas! visiting family in Victoria, and I couldn't have been happier with the hotel, starting with the very friendly and knowledgable front desk staff.My studio suite on the 8th floor was very well-appointed, with a very comfortable bed, a complete kitchenette that includes a fridge, stove-top, microwave, even a dishwasher, as well as all the dishes, cutlery, and cooking utensils (including pots, pans, a blender, tea kettle) you might need. The bathroom is very spacious, with a deep soaker tub and a separate shower. The O bistro is great, and Christmas dinner there was a real treat. The hotel is located just two blocks south of the inner harbour, and is just a short walk from downtown, and is close to all the amenities in the James Bay area of Victoria/ It's also a very short walk to the ocean. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, and will definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in Victoria!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRose128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities.

Our Studio suites have recently been converted from a Murphy bed to a regular queen bed. The feedback from our guests including yourself has been outstanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews