We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Victoria, BC”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We just returned yesterday from a three night stay at the Oswego Hotel in Victoria. We are so happy to have found this little gem of a hotel, and we will be returning whenever we can get back there. The room was a standard room, but had everything we needed and was a nice size. It was spotlessly clean and very quiet, the bed was extremely comfortable with lovely linens, the whole outside wall of the room was made up of windows with a good view, the staff were friendly, the location was convenient. The bistro on the ground level was warm and inviting and we enjoyed the breakfasts that we ate there. Couldn't ask for more, except maybe a spa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Wow, thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 1,885 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

While there are lots of good accommodations in Victoria, I'm always a little unsure of where to stay. So I was quite happy to find this little gem of a hotel, located fairly central and near the parliament buildings. This hotel has a wonderful lounge / restaurant, great suite-style rooms and an independent flair to it. If you want a quality stay, quiet setting with elements of home and luxury, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are so pleased you found us!

Thank you for your positive review and we look forward to welcome you back to stay with us again very soon

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

First the location: close to the centre, close to ferries, and to good walks around the city. Underground secure parking. small enough to have the front desk and servers in the restaurant know you and large enough to provide the necessary services. All rooms have full kitchens or kitchenettes, coffee, fridges.
The bathrooms are well designed and fitted out, and are clean...and a good size.

the restaurant provided okay food, but very good service...all guests receive 20% discount on all meals, drinks in the restaurant.

We have stayed here four times in past, will stay again, and would highly recommend it

Room Tip: all rooms are good, not one type or location appears poor....also they are pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay with us.

Thank you for keep coming back and we are so pleased you enjoy not only our wonderful location but the amenities and staff too.

Next time you are in Victoria we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Booked as part of the Victoria Clipper 1-night getaway package. Upgraded to this hotel for $25 per person. Was an excellent choice. LOCATION: 2 blocks from the Clipper ferry terminal. In fact, the exit of the terminal dumps right onto Oswego street. It was very easy and convenient to be able to check out on Sunday, store our luggage in the hotel, walk around town until 4pm, and swing by to pick up the luggage and head to the ferry. ROOMS: Very generously sized. Looking at the Emerg Exit map on the room door, the floor plan showed us as having the smallest room on the floor. And yet, we had a balcony, huge bathroom with separate Bath and shower, kitchen, and entryway. AMENITIES: Didn't really use any other than the fitness room. The fitness room was plenty adequate, Even had free weights which is often hard to find. SERVICE: Outstanding. They let us check in and get a room even with a 11AM arrival. When we got back to the room at night, they had already done the turndown service even complete with Water pitchers (w/mint) on each nightstand along with the blinds being closed and chocolate placed on the bed. Also appreciated the radio being turned on so that whenever you walk into your room, some soft rock is playing.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank aznrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Wow thank you for writing a review and noting all the things you enjoyed about the hotel.

We pride ourselves on the little things and attention to detail so that our guests enjoy the best experience they can whilst staying with us.

We are one of the closest hotels to the Clipper terminal and our guests do love the short walk once they arrive in Victoria to then relax and head out for the day sightseeing etc.

Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and I took a quick trip to Vancouver and Victoria for our pre-Christmas birthdays. My husband booked the Oswego based upon Tripadvisor reviews. You folks know what you're talking about. I think the Oswego would be described as a "boutique" hotel meaning it is small and intimate with a hands-on staff. Really classy without being pretentious. We arrived in the evening (which in Canada in the winter starts around 3 pm!). We were tired from our ferry trip and so ate in the very excellent hotel restaurant. We were able to purchase a nice bottle of wine from our server and had a few drinks in our room, which was gorgeous. We had a suite which included a full kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. Perfect for 2 (or more, really). Our view was adorable Victoria, which while misty, was quite romantic.

The woman at the front desk pointed us toward Butchart Gardens, reassuring us that, even in the winter, it is beautifully decorated. We were able to catch a tour bus right next door and we weren't disappointed. The gardens are magical on a winter's night. We also walked over to the Royal BC Museum and were quite impressed with its offerings.

The Oswego is close to many restaurants, bars, attractions, and the downtown area which is a must-see for strolling. It is located on a side street so the feeling is one of peace and tranquility. We obviously went in the winter, so the crowds were minimal. I highly recommend it as long as you dress for the weather!

Room Tip: We sprung for a suite which was quite a good deal, but I have a feeling that any room here is well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel to stay at during the busy festive month of December.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Oswego in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our family of five (2 adults and 3 children aged 11, 17, and 20) had a great stay at the Oswego over Christmas. Our 2-bedroom suite on the 10th floor was fully furnished, clean, elegant, and comfortable, with a full kitchen (including dishwasher, refrigerator, stove, microwave, small appliances, and dishes) and a lovely large balcony with an inspiring view. At our request, the staff even set up a Christmas tree for us. They were also very helpful with food allergies when we ordered food from the restaurant and with a replacement iron when ours didn't work. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Its location is convenient walking distance to the Inner Harbour (Parliament buildings, Royal BC Museum, etc.), Beacon Hill Park, and plenty of shops, restaurants, and coffee shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Glad that the team went above and beyond to ensure you had a relaxing stay with your family.

The Two Bedrooms can be very spacious. All of our suites do have kitchens also.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oswego in 2014 so that we can continue to deliver on standards of service that you have come to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed at the Oswego over Christmas! visiting family in Victoria, and I couldn't have been happier with the hotel, starting with the very friendly and knowledgable front desk staff.My studio suite on the 8th floor was very well-appointed, with a very comfortable bed, a complete kitchenette that includes a fridge, stove-top, microwave, even a dishwasher, as well as all the dishes, cutlery, and cooking utensils (including pots, pans, a blender, tea kettle) you might need. The bathroom is very spacious, with a deep soaker tub and a separate shower. The O bistro is great, and Christmas dinner there was a real treat. The hotel is located just two blocks south of the inner harbour, and is just a short walk from downtown, and is close to all the amenities in the James Bay area of Victoria/ It's also a very short walk to the ocean. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, and will definitely be staying here again the next time I'm in Victoria!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRose128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities.

Our Studio suites have recently been converted from a Murphy bed to a regular queen bed. The feedback from our guests including yourself has been outstanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £84 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing