We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in the 1 bedroom for 2 nights for a combined business/pleasure trip. It was located close to the Government buildings for business and a nice 15 minute drive to UVIC where our son is attending university. The inner harbour and many good restaurants are within walking distance. The full kitchen was equipped with everything we needed for a quick breakfast. The unit was spacious, very clean, nicely furnished and decorated and had a lovely view of the mountains and top of the Government buildings from the balcony. Check in and out was smooth and staff was very helpful especially when I needed directions. The turn down service was a nice touch with the Belgium chocolates and mint water. Beds were very comfortable even the hide-a-bed that our big boys slept on. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the years for business and for our boys' sports and this is one of the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PGdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are really glad that you enjoyed the hotel, amenities and the little extra touches we do for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,033
    365
    88
    36
    19
See reviews for
359
754
70
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KamloopS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed two weeks in a one bedroom suite and enjoyed everything about this hotel!
From the time we made our reservation until check out the staff was friendly and helpful
The common areas and the rooms were very clean
The food from the restaurant was excellent
You could easily walk everywhere and see all the sights
We stayed with two little dogs and we were made to feel comfortable the whole time we were there
I look forward to our next visit
Carolyne Salkeld

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review and thank you for choosing the hotel to stay at during your visit in Victoria. We know that there is a lot of choice for our guests and we are pleased you chose the Oswego.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at The Oswego Hotel for a girls' weekend getaway! Short walk to the parliament buildings and anywhere in the Inner Harbour area. Located on a quiet, residential street. Professional and attentive staff. Modern decor with understated elegance. Well-stocked in-suite kitchen. Secure underground parking.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our spacious, bright suite with an oceanview on the 6th floor, southside. Only a few seagull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about your 'girls weekend'. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our surroundings.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This suite was comfortable, elegant and well equipped. We were on the south side on a higher floor and so had a view of the ocean and good light at a very reasonable rate. We had booked for 5 days but due to a medical situation we were not able to be there the first night of our booking. We didn't know this until past their cancellation policy time, but on explaining our situation, they didn't charge us for that night. It is located very near the Parliament buildings and we walked all over the downtown and Beacon Hill Park. It is a delightful place and we'll certainly be staying there again as well as recommending it to anyone who'll listen.

Room Tip: Suites on the south have good light and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sobe_love_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
The experience our guests have whilst staying with us is very important to the Oswego team. We are so pleased that we delivered on that experience.

We wish you a speedy recovery and hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked the hotel through their website and all was fabulous. Everything was planned and booked properly.We were excited to spend our time there. After a very long trip we got to the hotel, very tired, exhausted and a bit sick (as we took a bus). We got to the hotel and the front office opened the doors for us, that's where the good service stopped. We were informed that our payment was invalid after being already confirmed online and that we would not be able to stay there.

We then were given a map with the location of a hotel we would be able to stay at, and a cab called for us. We then took the cab to the location and found out that the hotel on the map was not there. After walking a few blocks with our luggage we found a hotel that had been closed for a few months and was being renovated. It was the hotel we were given the map to. We wasted precious time and money to find nothing. Next we had to find a place to charge our phones and call the hotel again. We spent around twenty minutes for our phones to charge as the cord was not long enough to use the phone properly and there was no seating near.

We called the hotel again and were transferred to the front desk yet again. Unfortunately. They gave us a name of another hotel (no apology or empathy given for the previous lack of respect and concentration). The hotel's name we were given was eventually found out to be completely wrong, and the address was wrong (the only thing right was it was beside a mall). We walked for quite a while to get to that hotel but on the way we stopped at another. We were very tired, exhausted and sick and the person at the front desk helped us, was courteous and got us a nice room.

The Oswego hotel cheated us out of money and time and made us very upset. Our first day in Victoria was almost a disaster thanks to them. We had considered going back home at one point. Please make sure to quadruple check your booking and never listen to their instruction or direction as it leads to nowhere but frustration.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gabrawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
With reference to your review that you have recently posted - The information you stated is incorrect. At the time of booking you were advised that a credit card would be required at check-in. Our reservation confirmation states it and our reservation agents state it. A credit card was provided to guarantee the booking and no money was taken off the card We didn't 'cheat' you out of any money!

Upon arrival at the hotel you started to go through the check in process with my team and you failed to provide a credit card when asked by my desk agent. The majority of hotels in Victoria including us have a no cash only policy. At that time the manager was contacted and you were advised that the policy to provide a credit card would stand. You couldn't provide this.

The desk agent went out of their way to call a lot of hotels to find one that would allow a reservation without a credit card - the hotel you are referring to on your review picked up the phone and advised that they would permit a booking with cash only. At that time you left our hotel.

We didn't charge your credit card for a cancellation and our team went out of their way to accommodate you.

It is very disconcerting to read such a negative and incorrect review about our hotel and the speculation on service when our team went above on service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Five months ago today, we were married at The Oswego Hotel and it still feels like we're “just married”!

From my first contact with Vanessa, I knew I had stumbled onto Victoria’s hidden gem of a wedding venue. We researched twelve other venues in the Greater Victoria area and while many had potential, none had the full vibe of what we were looking for, nor the flexibility in doing the things that we wanted. Many venues had restrictions and price tags that just didn’t work for us. We wanted something simple & chic - The Oswego Hotel was the perfect fit!

Our vision was to have our wedding ceremony and reception at the same location, as well as affordable accommodations for out-of-town family members and guests. We took over the penthouse floor from Friday till Monday, making for an extended celebration of not only our wedding but our families.

The décor of the O Bistro and the hotel itself speaks for itself: handsome, with a very West Coast feel of wood and stone ... casual elegance! And the wrought iron chandeliers are spectacular!

The Oswego delivered on what they promised! Vanessa became our personal wedding planner due to her knowledge and experience of what works in their venue, as well as the vendors that she has worked with. As a testament to how we feel about Vanessa, as a personal thank you, we presented her with the Integrity pendant by Pyrrha that reads “Toujours le Meme” in French, which means Always the Same; the jasmine branches represent devotion and constancy. She truly had our best interests at heart.

From start to finish, we were treated like we were the only ones at the hotel! Every contact with staff was warm & friendly! And the food was absolutely delicious!

We had a truly amazing time during our wedding weekend at The Oswego Hotel!

Carolyn & Victor Bell
September 14th, 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliebravo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review about your stay with us. Thank you also for choosing the Oswego for your special day.

The team work hard to provide the best experience they can. Vanessa truly wants our guests to be relaxed and yet have the best experience with us - we value this..

We hope to welcome you back again to stay with us again soon.

Congratulations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrangell, Alaska
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were originally going to stay at the Inn at Laurel Point but the Victoria Clipper Ship offered a package deal that included the Oswego Hotel. We got the hotel at a great price and couldn't have been more pleased. The bed was great, the room elegant and the staff were wonderful. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnkpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We recognize that there are a lot of choices of hotels in Victoria - we are so pleased that you chose us and we delivered in all areas!

Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria
The Oswego Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing